1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

wire help

Discussion in 'Motorcycles' started by wildjerseyfirefighter, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. Oct 27, 2011 at 6:33 PM
    #1
    wildjerseyfirefighter

    wildjerseyfirefighter [OP] I sell fishing and fishing accessories

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Member:
    #11677
    Messages:
    7,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma TRD Sport
    stock, for now
    Im going to extend the handlebar wires on my bike this weekend, I put 12" mini apes on it in the spring time.. Been putting off extending the wires:rolleyes:

    Did a little research and on other forums they reccommend 18 gauge for turn signals and running lights, and 16 guage for everything else since it draws more current.

    Would it hurt anything to run 16 guage for everything? I dont want to buy two different spools of wire:(
     
  2. Oct 27, 2011 at 6:37 PM
    #2
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Nope, you can always oversize, just don't undersize when it comes to wire. No reason to run 2 different sizes other than phsyical size when trying to hide wires on a motorcycle.
     
  3. Oct 27, 2011 at 6:40 PM
    #3
    wildjerseyfirefighter

    wildjerseyfirefighter [OP] I sell fishing and fishing accessories

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Member:
    #11677
    Messages:
    7,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma TRD Sport
    stock, for now
    Every thing will be external, but I ordered a spool of the mesh loom stuff to run it in so it looks nice. So your saying I will be fine with 16 guage?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Oct 31, 2011 at 9:36 AM
    #4
    buck

    buck TheEh-Team.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Member:
    #18291
    Messages:
    296
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    05 Access-cab V6 4x4 SR5 Speedway Blue
    High-flow coconut smiley-face air freshener.
    Running same size gauge or larger is fine.
     
  5. Oct 31, 2011 at 9:43 AM
    #5
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Yes, you will be fine running 16 gauge.
     
To Top