1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wireless internet help

Discussion in 'Technology' started by cbcs1987, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. Feb 15, 2010 at 11:27 PM
    #1
    cbcs1987

    cbcs1987 [OP] Redneck from the hills

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Member:
    #5670
    Messages:
    1,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    East Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4wd access cab
    6" Fabtech coilover lift. 35/12.50/17 Mickey Thompson MTZ, 17x9 ProComp 1089 wheels painted black, UWS black lowprofile toolbox, husky liners, tacoma bed mat, bed lights, Premier stereo, Cobra 19 cb, firestik 3' antenna.
    I just reinstalled windows xp on my computer and now my wireless internet doesn't work. It worked before I reinstalled windows. I do not need to create a new network. I simply need to connect to the network at my house that already exist. If anybody has a suggestion let me know. I can't figure out how to connect to the internet at all with it.
     
  2. Feb 15, 2010 at 11:41 PM
    #2
    LoHoNas

    LoHoNas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Member:
    #15153
    Messages:
    300
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Lake Jackson TX.
    Vehicle:
    09 4x4 DC TRDSPORT MGM
    Debadged, Fog light mod,Grillcraft, Icons,TC UCA's, OME dakar leaf pack,Procomp 7089,BFG KM2 285/70/17 JVC NAV
    ???1-800-GEEKSQUAD???

    My router took a dump and I jacked up all my settings on my computer before I figured it out:smash::smash::smash::smash::smash::smash::smash::smash::smash:
     
  3. Feb 16, 2010 at 12:13 AM
    #3
    jdkeller

    jdkeller How many words can be fit in this s

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Member:
    #11040
    Messages:
    12,983
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Inland Empire, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma Prerunner TRD Offroad
    Dome light LED, 6000k HID Headlights and fogs, Grillcraft black mesh, rear 5100's, Total Chaos UCA's, 285/75/16 BFG KM2's, Spidertrax spacers, Blacked out emblems, cb,kenwood tm270 ham radio, All Pro 3" leaf pack, Fox 2.0 coilovers, Revenge Fab Sliders, u bolt flip kit, Pioneer avh4200, bed bar with light and antenna, Wet Okoles, Weathertech Mats, Wet Okole Armrests, Rear KR Fab bumper, bed mat, N-Fab spare tire carrier with full size spare on 16" TRD rim, Bedlinered flares and grille. Camburg Spindles, All Pro front fenders.
    Call your internet service provider and they will walk you through the steps. Same thing happened to me.
     
  4. Feb 16, 2010 at 12:16 AM
    #4
    rvcahawaii808

    rvcahawaii808 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22493
    Messages:
    829
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    cameron
    beaverton
    Vehicle:
    04 limited T4R 4x4
    you might need to reinstall the router software. there should have been a disc that came with your router
     
  5. Feb 16, 2010 at 11:46 AM
    #5
    PreRunnerSeth

    PreRunnerSeth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Member:
    #21110
    Messages:
    4,274
    Gender:
    Male
    Apex, NC
    Vehicle:
    15 Black DC OR Prerunner
    more than likely you just need to install the driver for your network card.
     
  6. Feb 16, 2010 at 11:59 AM
    #6
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    That would be the first thing I'd look at.

    Can you see the network and just not connect to it or does it not even show up as an available network?
     
  7. Feb 16, 2010 at 12:09 PM
    #7
    Khaos

    Khaos Big Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Member:
    #4570
    Messages:
    6,495
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryant
    Tallahassee FL
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prerunner TRD Off Road
    265/75/16 BFG A/T, 18" Magnaflow, K&N Intake Filter, Ultra-Gauge, Kobalt Toolbox, Metal Tail Light Guards, Cobra 19 and 4ft fiberglass antenna, Plasti dipped Badges/lower valance/rear bumper/grill/bullbar/ac controls, black DIN kit, JVC KD-X40, Wet Suit Seat Covers
    If you want to get charged like crazy, go for it.

    Firstly, is the computer your trying to hook up directly plugged into the router?

    Also, is it not finding your WIFI, not getting an internet signal, or refusing to connect?
     
  8. Feb 16, 2010 at 12:23 PM
    #8
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,744
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    x2. If you reinstalled windows and you don't have the right software driver installed for the network card then Windows won't know what to do with it. If that's the case you'll need to find out what kind of network card it is download the drivers from the manufacturer website. Once you install the drivers you should see the wireless connection in the taskbar (bottom right corner by the clock). If you have security set on your router you'll need to supply the key to connect.
     
  9. Feb 16, 2010 at 12:36 PM
    #9
    ColdZeroBSP

    ColdZeroBSP Yo homie, that my briefcase?

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Member:
    #24421
    Messages:
    354
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Geoff
    Tewksbury MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport DC
    console vault, viper remote start, weathertech front and rears
    Are you seeing any network icons in the system tray? XP has built in network device drivers but for wireless you may need to reinstall them. What kind of NIC is it? Try plugging directly into the router via Ethernet and see what you get. If you can connect wired then your internet settings are fine, the wireless card just isn't picking up the network. Installing the drivers should fix that. Once you can see the network just make sure to enter the security key if it's encrypted. If that doesn't work then your ISP doesn't use dynamic IP addresses and you need to call them and have them walk you through the configuration step for static IP.
     
  10. Feb 16, 2010 at 12:48 PM
    #10
    steviestyles

    steviestyles The "Search" tab is your friend!!

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Member:
    #430
    Messages:
    1,273
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4x4 TRD Off Road
    Bone Stock
    Did you put your WEP code and password back into the computer after you reloaded XP?
     
  11. Feb 17, 2010 at 11:59 AM
    #11
    cbcs1987

    cbcs1987 [OP] Redneck from the hills

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Member:
    #5670
    Messages:
    1,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    East Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4wd access cab
    6" Fabtech coilover lift. 35/12.50/17 Mickey Thompson MTZ, 17x9 ProComp 1089 wheels painted black, UWS black lowprofile toolbox, husky liners, tacoma bed mat, bed lights, Premier stereo, Cobra 19 cb, firestik 3' antenna.
    I cant see any network period. The main computer in our house has internet. It is what the router is connected to.
    Not getting a signal I dont think.

    Not sure what the system tray is. Not sure about what a NIC is either. I unplugged the internet cord that is currently working on our main computer into my laptop and still couldnt get internet.

    I dont think so. Not sure what a WEP code is.



    Im trying to answer best as I can, but I'm really bad with computers.
     
  12. Feb 17, 2010 at 12:00 PM
    #12
    cbcs1987

    cbcs1987 [OP] Redneck from the hills

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Member:
    #5670
    Messages:
    1,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    East Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4wd access cab
    6" Fabtech coilover lift. 35/12.50/17 Mickey Thompson MTZ, 17x9 ProComp 1089 wheels painted black, UWS black lowprofile toolbox, husky liners, tacoma bed mat, bed lights, Premier stereo, Cobra 19 cb, firestik 3' antenna.
    Where can I find the Device Manager?
     
  13. Feb 17, 2010 at 12:03 PM
    #13
    cbcs1987

    cbcs1987 [OP] Redneck from the hills

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Member:
    #5670
    Messages:
    1,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    East Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4wd access cab
    6" Fabtech coilover lift. 35/12.50/17 Mickey Thompson MTZ, 17x9 ProComp 1089 wheels painted black, UWS black lowprofile toolbox, husky liners, tacoma bed mat, bed lights, Premier stereo, Cobra 19 cb, firestik 3' antenna.
    For the record, the computer is a Dell Inspiron E1705 laptop
     
  14. Feb 17, 2010 at 12:14 PM
    #14
    taco084gb

    taco084gb No matter where you go there you are.

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Member:
    #11225
    Messages:
    1,357
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Galen
    NorCal
    This is one thing that happened to me is that when I had a windows update my wirless was shut off. I have a DELL Studio and I have a button that has picture of a tower on it. I hit this button and it turns my wireless off and on. Try that.
     
  15. Feb 17, 2010 at 12:16 PM
    #15
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,744
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    Right click on my computer and click manage. Then click on device manager. You'll probably see some exclamation points. Those items do not have proper drivers installed. Windows knows they're there, but doesn't know how to use them without the drivers.
    You need to go to Dell's support site http://support.dell.com/support/dow...ID=INS_PNT_P4_9400&os=WW1&osl=en&catid=&impid= and download and install the drivers for the Wireless Network card. That link is for your model laptop. If it doesn't work go to dell.com and click support on the top right screen, then home user support. Select by model and find your model. It will take you to the same page.
    You'll then need to download the drivers that you are missing and save them to CD or flash drive or something that you can attach and save the driver software to. Then just install it on the Inspiron laptop and after the driver is installed you should be able to get onto your wireless network.
     
  16. Feb 17, 2010 at 12:17 PM
    #16
    tacobell007

    tacobell007 Does that have the v6?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Member:
    #18327
    Messages:
    2,580
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Westfield, MA
    Vehicle:
    06 Regular Cab Lifted
    Eibach springs, OME Dakars, adjustable Bilstien 5100's up front, Icon ext travel rear shocks, Kenwood in-dash nav receiver, Kicker 10 inch sub in a ported truck box, Kenwood 350 watt amp, stickers, Better Built toolbox, LED tool box lights, 35% tint, Flowmaster Super 44 muffler, 33x12.5x17 General Grabber AT2, Fuel Off-Road Trophy d551 in 17x8.5, BHLM, white corner marker bulbs, color matched front grille, custom satoshi grille mod with matching Toyota badge, aFe Pro Dry-S drop in filter, diff breather mod, new frame from recall, SOS concepts front plate, SOS concepts rear plate with swing out and full size spare, SOS bolt-on sliders with kickout, 20" LED bar on main hoop, flush mount pods in rear plate bumper for aux reverse lights
    need the drivers. I had to do the same thing with my parents comp
     
  17. Feb 17, 2010 at 12:19 PM
    #17
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,744
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    Looking through the drivers there are several possibilities for which one is installed on your laptop. I would guess either the Dell wireless 1500 mini card or the Dell 1490 mini card.
     
  18. Feb 17, 2010 at 12:28 PM
    #18
    cbcs1987

    cbcs1987 [OP] Redneck from the hills

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Member:
    #5670
    Messages:
    1,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    East Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4wd access cab
    6" Fabtech coilover lift. 35/12.50/17 Mickey Thompson MTZ, 17x9 ProComp 1089 wheels painted black, UWS black lowprofile toolbox, husky liners, tacoma bed mat, bed lights, Premier stereo, Cobra 19 cb, firestik 3' antenna.
    Fixing to try downloading that now.


    The only exclamation point was under Performance Logs and Alerts >Alerts
     
  19. Feb 17, 2010 at 12:37 PM
    #19
    cbcs1987

    cbcs1987 [OP] Redneck from the hills

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Member:
    #5670
    Messages:
    1,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    East Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4wd access cab
    6" Fabtech coilover lift. 35/12.50/17 Mickey Thompson MTZ, 17x9 ProComp 1089 wheels painted black, UWS black lowprofile toolbox, husky liners, tacoma bed mat, bed lights, Premier stereo, Cobra 19 cb, firestik 3' antenna.
    when i try to click those drivers to start downloading them to an SD card it tries to automatically install them on the computer im using right now?
     
  20. Feb 17, 2010 at 1:06 PM
    #20
    cbcs1987

    cbcs1987 [OP] Redneck from the hills

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Member:
    #5670
    Messages:
    1,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cody
    East Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4wd access cab
    6" Fabtech coilover lift. 35/12.50/17 Mickey Thompson MTZ, 17x9 ProComp 1089 wheels painted black, UWS black lowprofile toolbox, husky liners, tacoma bed mat, bed lights, Premier stereo, Cobra 19 cb, firestik 3' antenna.
    I did it! Feel like I really accomplished something lol.
     
To Top