1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

wiring a fog light switch

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by naterj, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. Dec 12, 2008 at 12:13 PM
    #1
    naterj

    naterj [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11415
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nathan
    oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4
    3" pro comp lift
    1. To wire an aftermarket fog light switch to your stock wiring do you have to cut off the connector with the four wires that go to the stock switch.
    I was wondering because i called the dealer today and the stock switch is 54 bucks and the fog light relay is 74 bucks, cant I just use any old relay?

    2. To wire aftermarket fogs do you have to cut the stock connector thet would connect to the factory fog lights?
     
  2. Dec 13, 2008 at 1:16 AM
    #2
    FoxySandChick

    FoxySandChick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Member:
    #9505
    Messages:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Kristin
    Henderson, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4x4 Base model V6 Impulse Red Pearl
    De-badged, limo tint, black wet okole's, weathertechs, extra d-rings, TSB bilsteins
    Did you install a plug & play kit using the factory harness for the lights and now just trying to get the new switch installed/working?

    I don't have an answer, but I am wondering the same thing. Thanks.
     
  3. Dec 13, 2008 at 2:47 AM
    #3
    naterj

    naterj [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11415
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nathan
    oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4
    3" pro comp lift
    no i was trying to do it cheaper than 380 dollers
     
  4. Dec 13, 2008 at 2:58 AM
    #4
    FoxySandChick

    FoxySandChick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Member:
    #9505
    Messages:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Kristin
    Henderson, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4x4 Base model V6 Impulse Red Pearl
    De-badged, limo tint, black wet okole's, weathertechs, extra d-rings, TSB bilsteins
    Did you already get the lights or anything? Your truck has the factory wiring correct?
    We were talking about fogs in a base model w/factory harness in another thread, forgot to ask about the switch at the time.

    But here is what one guys found
    I haven't done it or looking into it much yet cause I don't want to put the $$ out yet since I don't need fogs.

    Here is the tread it's from http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacomas/20568-black-fender-flares-bumpers-2.html
     
  5. Dec 13, 2008 at 3:09 AM
    #5
    naterj

    naterj [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11415
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nathan
    oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4
    3" pro comp lift
    yes my truck has the factory wires already, the lights that i have are aftermarket they dont just plug in to the leads at the front of the truck.

    The dealer told me to day that the lights are $138.00 each
     
  6. Dec 13, 2008 at 3:11 AM
    #6
    FoxySandChick

    FoxySandChick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Member:
    #9505
    Messages:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Kristin
    Henderson, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4x4 Base model V6 Impulse Red Pearl
    De-badged, limo tint, black wet okole's, weathertechs, extra d-rings, TSB bilsteins
    I'd say skip the dealer and find them somewhere else.


    I'm sure someone will be along with an answer to your questions :D.
     
  7. Dec 13, 2008 at 3:23 AM
    #7
    naterj

    naterj [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11415
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nathan
    oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4
    3" pro comp lift
    ya the dealer is way to high. I was just wondering if my lights could be wired straight to my harness, cause i realy didnt want to cut the end connecters off and they not work.
     
  8. Dec 13, 2008 at 3:26 AM
    #8
    naterj

    naterj [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11415
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nathan
    oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4
    3" pro comp lift
    well im out of here I just got off a 14 hour shift and im going to bed.
     
  9. Dec 13, 2008 at 10:48 PM
    #9
    br217398

    br217398 Crazy Person.....

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Member:
    #7920
    Messages:
    478
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Tundra Crew Cab 4WD
    Hornblasters horns,Strobe lights,Police Undercover Vehicle, Volent Ram air system, pro comp POS AAL, biltein all around, step bars.
    well, i didnt have a wireharness, in my base model, but mine was quite east to hardwire to the blue wire that connects to the fuse box (no idea what its for, but i noticed its HOT all of the time)
     
  10. Dec 14, 2008 at 2:56 AM
    #10
    naterj

    naterj [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11415
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    nathan
    oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4
    3" pro comp lift
    See i could just say forget it and run a whole new set of wires to the front of the truck and then just wire it in the fuse box but i dont want two sets of wires running to the exact same place. I would like to try to keep it nice and clean under there.
     
  11. Dec 17, 2008 at 9:40 AM
    #11
    Teufel Hunden

    Teufel Hunden No Better Friend, No Worse Enemy

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Member:
    #8415
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09 MGray DC SB TRD-OR 4x4 V6 Auto SR5
    Undercover tonneau, OEM tow package with hitch, OEM retractable roof rack, Front window tint (legal), WeatherTech FloorLiners, Door sill protectors, Tacoma bed mat, Rear leaf spring TSB, OEM DRL mod, Door edge guards, AFE Pro-Dry S Air Filter, Removed secondary air filter, Smoked LED 3rd brake light, Romik running boards, Go Rhino hitch step, Extra set of D-rings mod, Bed cargo net, TRD wheel locks, OBX sport pedal covers.
    Does anyone have an answer to this question? I already have the factory installed OEM fog lights, I just don't like the push button fog light switch, so I am replacing it with this switch: P/N 00550-3597. Does anyone know how to wire the four wires to a three pin switch? Thanks in advance for any help!
     
  12. Feb 8, 2011 at 6:05 AM
    #12
    drmadron

    drmadron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Member:
    #26396
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    don
    md
    Vehicle:
    2010 toyota tacoma
    you can buy a kit from jc whitney for less than 100 bucks with switch and relay and wiring harnes, I did it last year in my 2010 tacoma, peace of cake. took two peaces of 4 and a half in pvc round ,cut it two in thick beveled the edges drilled holes and screwed the lights in it push them in the holes and put two screws in each side looks like from the factory.
     
To Top