1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wiring a Switch panel

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by SilverSeven, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. Jan 11, 2009 at 5:59 PM
    #1
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    So I have these rocker switches, and a 6 slot switch panel. I am going to hook up all of my lights, compressor, winch, etc to this panel. The idea is to run it completely seperate from the main electrical system because I dont want to fry it or even mess with it. I was just thinking about it and thought maybe I could reroute the power from the plug in my bed to this switch panel. That way when I turn on the bed outlet I would really be turing on the switch panel.

    This is the basic I idea of what I am trying to do, so if there is a easier, and or better way, I am all ears, I dont know CRAP about this just learning

    Thanks
     
  2. Jan 11, 2009 at 6:03 PM
    #2
    JimBeam

    JimBeam BECAUSE INTERNETS!! Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Member:
    #5966
    Messages:
    41,806
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JB
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB TRD 4x4
    in theory...that sounds like a cool idea...but like you...i dont know jack shit about things like this...i've shorted my truck out twice :eek: (just call me Chris4x4)
     
  3. Jan 11, 2009 at 6:35 PM
    #3
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    ha thats what im afraid of.

    On a side note: How many things NEED power for the engine to start run?

    Ignition, starter, alternator... ? power only the necesary mechainics for start up and basic driving functionality, then have ALL accesories on a seperate circuit powered by some sort of power cell in the bed.

    I googled "power cell" and came up with nothing
     
  4. Jan 11, 2009 at 7:09 PM
    #4
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    Thats exactly what I was looking for thanks!


    I dont understand how batteries in the bed stay charged. Run in line with the main??

    I'd like to keep it seperate somehow.
     
  5. Jan 11, 2009 at 7:20 PM
    #5
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    exactly, thats awesome. Im looking on this blue sea site, they have all kinds of stuff for a whole console.
     
  6. Jan 12, 2009 at 5:37 AM
    #6
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
  7. Jan 12, 2009 at 5:49 AM
    #7
    SilverSeven

    SilverSeven [OP] Rock Solid Toy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Member:
    #10849
    Messages:
    2,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordon
    South Jurzee
    Vehicle:
    6" 35s mud and scratched to shit
    ok, err.. why is that? seems like I would want it grounded
     
To Top