1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wiring off road lights ((Relay Help))

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by JLee, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. Sep 20, 2010 at 10:31 AM
    #1
    JLee

    JLee [OP] The Man! Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40461
    Messages:
    16,764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Bay Area NorCal
    Vehicle:
    02 Extra cab SAS Linked front and rear
    I lost track thousands of dollars ago.
    I'm going to be fabing up some custom off road lights soon with OEM headlights off a 89 Toyota pickup and I'm looking for a Relay for the highs & lows.

    Here is what I'm getting.

    2 7" 89 Toyota headlights
    1 H4 plug
    1 set of ByXenon HID lights
    1 On/Off/On rocker switch

    The thing I'm stuck on is the Relay I want the the low on one end of the switch and highs on the other. Should i run 2 relays or is there 1 that will work with the On/Off/On switch.


    Any input would be great.
     
  2. Sep 20, 2010 at 10:52 AM
    #2
    JLee

    JLee [OP] The Man! Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40461
    Messages:
    16,764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Bay Area NorCal
    Vehicle:
    02 Extra cab SAS Linked front and rear
    I lost track thousands of dollars ago.
    I might of just answered my own question

    How does this look if I run 85 & 86 to one end of the switch and 30 to the other end it should work right?
    And just run 12v power to the switch.
    With the HID's you only need one socket the right is just caped off so I don't think I need to do this for both.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Sep 20, 2010 at 11:21 AM
    #3
    JLee

    JLee [OP] The Man! Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40461
    Messages:
    16,764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Bay Area NorCal
    Vehicle:
    02 Extra cab SAS Linked front and rear
    I lost track thousands of dollars ago.
    Bump anyone?
     
  4. Sep 20, 2010 at 12:03 PM
    #4
    JLee

    JLee [OP] The Man! Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40461
    Messages:
    16,764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Bay Area NorCal
    Vehicle:
    02 Extra cab SAS Linked front and rear
    I lost track thousands of dollars ago.
    Bump
     
  5. Sep 20, 2010 at 12:11 PM
    #5
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,837
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    How does this look if I run 85 & 86 to one end of the switch and 30 to the other end it should work right?
    And just run 12v power to the switch.
    With the HID's you only need one socket the right is just caped off so I don't think I need to do this for both.
    [​IMG]
    Something seems missing or out of place... Here's what I found on the relay you're looking to use, maybe it's just how I'm reading it.
    -30 = constant [positive (+)] power (usually wired directly to car battery)
    -85 = coil ground (wired to the negative (-) battery terminal or any grounded metal panel in the car)
    -86 = coil power (wired to the control source. could be a switch, or it could be the car's IGN or ACC circuit.)
    -87 = switched [positive (+)] power output. (when the relay coil is powered, lead/pin 87 is connected to lead/pin 30)
    -87a = this lead/pin is connected to lead/pin 30 when the coil is NOT powered.
     
  6. Sep 20, 2010 at 12:17 PM
    #6
    JLee

    JLee [OP] The Man! Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40461
    Messages:
    16,764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Bay Area NorCal
    Vehicle:
    02 Extra cab SAS Linked front and rear
    I lost track thousands of dollars ago.
    i just found that image on Google i just need to know if i need 2 relays for the On/Off/On switch or could 1 relay do it.

    I'm kinda green when it comes to relays.
     
  7. Sep 20, 2010 at 12:28 PM
    #7
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,837
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Gotcha, that 5 pin relay looks like its specifically built for your application. I was confused with the multiple high beam and low beam wires in your diagram. I think you've got it correct and it's just how I'm reading it. If you're new to relays, this link might help.

    http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/faq-emporium/117895-faq-relays-how-they-work-how-wire-up.html
     
  8. Sep 20, 2010 at 12:35 PM
    #8
    JLee

    JLee [OP] The Man! Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40461
    Messages:
    16,764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Bay Area NorCal
    Vehicle:
    02 Extra cab SAS Linked front and rear
    I lost track thousands of dollars ago.
    Yeah It was kinda confusing i just found this Diagram with 2 relays.
    and if I wire it to the switch this should work at least if I'm reading it right.
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Sep 20, 2010 at 12:38 PM
    #9
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,837
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    http://www.bcae1.com/relays.htm
    Got it!! Scroll about 1/2 way down the page, there is a diagram of your exact setup with 2 lights. Hook it up like that and you're golden!!
     
  10. Sep 20, 2010 at 12:57 PM
    #10
    JLee

    JLee [OP] The Man! Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40461
    Messages:
    16,764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Bay Area NorCal
    Vehicle:
    02 Extra cab SAS Linked front and rear
    I lost track thousands of dollars ago.
    Cool thanks for everything Rep sent.
     
  11. Sep 20, 2010 at 5:04 PM
    #11
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,837
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Thanks man! I got some good information about relays myself and saved me a few hours of actually doing work at the office!
     
  12. Sep 20, 2010 at 9:19 PM
    #12
    Manlaan

    Manlaan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Member:
    #30054
    Messages:
    1,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Riverton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2002 XtraCab SR5 V6 4x4 Black
    See Signature
    Did you get it all figured out?

    I'm sure you could end up getting the relays to work how you want with the first diagram, but the second way really is much easier.

    Officially, the black off your relays should be going to ground, not necessarily to the black lead off the lights (which is ground, but why run extra wire for no reason). Same with the black wire coming off your new lights. Just to the chassis is fine. No need to make a run to the battery for grounds.

    I did something somewhat similar (but had two separate lights - fog/driving) and wired each one into a on/off/on switch so I could have it manually on/always off/automatic on for each set (I have two switches - one for fog and one for driving). Honestly, the auto on ended up being on the useless side, as any time I'd want to run the lights, I'd just manually turn them on anyway and found it not always appropriate to run the lights all the time.

    So, what I'd really recommend you do is add a switch in there for a master control of when the off road lights are on/off. If you want to keep the automatic, I'd just add in a on/off switch after the fuse and before the split (although you should add in a relay for the switch since running that much power to the cab isn't necessarily a great idea).

    If you'd rather do a low/off/high switch, you'd basically replace your "original light wiring" with a switch. Of course you'll have to run power to the switch and wouldn't have a ground (unless you wanted led switches). This is probably how I'd end up doing it myself, just to have the most control over when and what is on.
     
  13. Sep 20, 2010 at 9:26 PM
    #13
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    That's the right diagram. Terminal 87 is miss labeled as 37 though. You are going to need two relays for sure.

    If you're going to the trouble of fabbing enclosures for headlights, do yourself a favor and pick up some Hella h4 housings that are designed to replace the factory toyota headlights that you are talking about. Then you can put any h4 bulb you want in them. I had hella h4s with 80/100 watt bulbs on my 86 toyota. They were awesome. I no longer needed my 130 watt off road lights when I put those on. I am sad that I can't do that on my tacoma.
     
  14. Sep 22, 2010 at 6:23 PM
    #14
    lilgerber

    lilgerber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Member:
    #10974
    Messages:
    453
    Gender:
    Male
    fresno ca
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 speedway blue
    flowmaster40,vloant intake,king coilovers,TC UCA's,3inch lift,billet grill,chrome handles,stero system.motometals 951 285/17/70
    quick question i have, i have 4 6inch hid front lights but not hooked up to a relay. what size should i get? and i wire it before the switch correct.?
     
  15. Sep 22, 2010 at 7:44 PM
    #15
    Manlaan

    Manlaan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Member:
    #30054
    Messages:
    1,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Riverton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2002 XtraCab SR5 V6 4x4 Black
    See Signature
    Size of relay? They're pretty standard at around 50 amps for a Bosch/Tyco type. Even 30 amps should be fine though. I think you'd be pretty hard pressed to find one under 30 amps, as even some mini ones I bought for another project were rated that high.

    Size of fuse? Not sure. how powerful are the lights? 55 watts * 4 lights / 12 volts = 18 amps, so a 20 amp should be good if youre lights are rated at 55 watts. For 20 amps of current, I'd go no smaller than 12 gauge wire as per http://www.rallylights.com/hella/SensibleWiring.aspx

    As for how to wire it, the switch powers the relay and the relay powers the lights. Its actually two completely different circuits that help each other.

    For the switch, you run power to the switch then to the relay on 86. Run a ground from 85 on the relay. For the lights, run from the battery to the relay (30). Then run from the relay (87) to the lights. Lights should be grounded. Make sure you fuse the battery connections, of course. Here's a pic google brought up: http://www.clubprotege.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=41920&d=1270182280

    What happens is when the switch is turned on, it powers an electromagnet in the relay, connecting 30 and 87, which then completes the circuit to send power to the lights.
     
  16. Sep 22, 2010 at 9:57 PM
    #16
    JLee

    JLee [OP] The Man! Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Member:
    #40461
    Messages:
    16,764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Bay Area NorCal
    Vehicle:
    02 Extra cab SAS Linked front and rear
    I lost track thousands of dollars ago.
    That what I'm doing I bought a On/Off/On switch for low/off/high I just orders my relays and I will be ordering the light's next week. I'll be doing a write up on the install after I'm finished.
     
To Top