1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wiring radar detector

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by silvertacoman, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. Jun 29, 2010 at 10:02 AM
    #1
    silvertacoman

    silvertacoman [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Member:
    #39567
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    V6 4X4 Sport Pkg
    I was wondering if anyone has hard wired a radar detector to their Tacoma. I have a 2010 Taco Sport Edition 4X4. I want to wire it through the head liner top console were the overhead lights/clock/thermometer are located.

    BTW, I am new to TacomaWorld and I love this site. Great info with great members.

    Thank you,
    Sean :)
     
  2. Jun 29, 2010 at 10:12 AM
    #2
    MontanaTaco

    MontanaTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Member:
    #33941
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colter
    Bozeman,MT
    Vehicle:
    4x4 08 Trd Sport
    OME lift
    There is a post somewhere around here with all the different mounts...I'm trying to find it
     
  3. Jun 29, 2010 at 10:14 AM
    #3
    MontanaTaco

    MontanaTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Member:
    #33941
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colter
    Bozeman,MT
    Vehicle:
    4x4 08 Trd Sport
    OME lift
  4. Jun 29, 2010 at 10:16 AM
    #4
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,607
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    I hard wired mine to the 12V Acc wire behind my headunit. The wire drops down right in the middle between the dash and the headunit dash kit. I cut a tiny notch out of the dash kit so it wouldn't rub the wire raw.
     
  5. Jun 29, 2010 at 10:17 AM
    #5
    Oskie_78

    Oskie_78 Everything's BIGGER in TX!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Member:
    #31131
    Messages:
    812
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Oscar
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC TRD Sport 4x4
    ^^^ that didn't work
     
  6. Jun 29, 2010 at 10:21 AM
    #6
    MontanaTaco

    MontanaTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Member:
    #33941
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colter
    Bozeman,MT
    Vehicle:
    4x4 08 Trd Sport
    OME lift
    Ok you are right it didnt, sorry. Just type in radar detector and you will find it
     
  7. Jun 29, 2010 at 10:24 AM
    #7
    bakerla

    bakerla Man, Myth, Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Member:
    #25348
    Messages:
    4,394
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lyndall
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    '10 4wd OR
    CBI Moab front and CBI Trailrider rear, Budbuilt skids, Shrockworks sliders, OME Dakars w/ OME Nitros, OME 886x w/ OME Nitros, Light Racing UCAs, stainless steel brakelines F/R, Cobra 75 w/ Firestik antenna, 255/85/16 Cooper ST Maxx on 1st gen alloys, Weathertech liners, Engo 9000S winch, stickars and other shit.
  8. Jun 29, 2010 at 3:45 PM
    #8
    silvertacoman

    silvertacoman [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Member:
    #39567
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    V6 4X4 Sport Pkg
    Thanks guys.... I used the post from jefferson: How to: Wire a Stock Auto-Dimming Mirror
    He is right on the money.... I tapped right into the live and ground from the temp/compass plug. My radar detector sets right underneath the rearview mirror... looks sharp. Thanks again for all your input.
     
To Top