1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

wiring up my trailor lights....

Discussion in 'Towing' started by s2kvtak, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. Jan 25, 2010 at 8:23 AM
    #1
    s2kvtak

    s2kvtak [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20598
    Messages:
    311
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Tulsa, OK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Tacoma 4x4 SR5
    Grillecraft grill w/ TRD badge, Bilstein 5100s on all 4 corners set at 2.5" and Toytec AAL in the rear. 285/75-17 Interco TRXUS M/T
    hey guys i was going to help some friends of mine move to their new apartment and borrowed a trailor from another friend to save on trips back and forth. it was just a little 8ft trailor and had the normal 4flat plug on it for the lights. well the one that was on the truck when i bought it had the ground plug broken off and was really short way up under the truck jammed against the spare. so i went and bought another from walmart and went to throw it on there. when i got under there i noticed that the plug that was on there actually had 5 wires coming from the truck into the plug. white, brown, yellow, red and green. on the plug they were labeled ground, tail/marker, left turn, brake, right turn. heres a picture of it:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    when i made my connections i connected the red(brake) and the brown(tail/marker) together because i would think they would have been the same. well this actually caused my cruise control to not set at a constant speed by cancelling when the lights were on. if the lights were off then it would work properly. you could set the cruise and drive down the road, turn the lights on and it was like hitting the brakes to cancel. so i snipped the red wire and all was back to normal. well when i did that the brake lights on the trailor did not work. the turn signals and the tail lights were good but no brakes lights.

    anyone else have this problem or know what i did wrong or how to solve it? sorry for the super long post but i wanted to make sure i was clear and not confusing anyone.
     
  2. Jan 25, 2010 at 3:38 PM
    #2
    s2kvtak

    s2kvtak [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20598
    Messages:
    311
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Tulsa, OK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Tacoma 4x4 SR5
    Grillecraft grill w/ TRD badge, Bilstein 5100s on all 4 corners set at 2.5" and Toytec AAL in the rear. 285/75-17 Interco TRXUS M/T
    bump to the the top. looking for any help
     
  3. Jan 25, 2010 at 4:26 PM
    #3
    TroutBum

    TroutBum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8871
    Messages:
    218
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    06 SR5 Access Cab 4x4
    Leer 100R
    Did it come with a wiring diagram? What year is your truck - more importantly do you have separate break and turn signal lights? Maybe you just have the wrong wiring kit...

    Mike
     
  4. Jan 25, 2010 at 8:06 PM
    #4
    s2kvtak

    s2kvtak [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20598
    Messages:
    311
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Tulsa, OK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Tacoma 4x4 SR5
    Grillecraft grill w/ TRD badge, Bilstein 5100s on all 4 corners set at 2.5" and Toytec AAL in the rear. 285/75-17 Interco TRXUS M/T
    i just got a generic 4 flat trailor kit. as for a diagram it just said connect them accordingly and i just transfered them over to the new plug. and i had the brake one left over
     
  5. Jan 31, 2010 at 8:52 PM
    #5
    saltbranch

    saltbranch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Member:
    #16183
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Tx
    Vehicle:
    1996 2.4,2wd,5spd, stock, 250k
    Toyota,Nissan and the other import trucks use a 5 wire setup, American trucks have the 4 wire setup. You need to use the converter in the pic, scratch the walmart unit. The ground wire should not be all that important as the trailer will ground through the ball at the hitch. On the truck side you do not want to tie in the brake with the running lights...this is where the converter is needed for the flat 4 connector
     
  6. Jan 31, 2010 at 9:03 PM
    #6
    saltbranch

    saltbranch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Member:
    #16183
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Tx
    Vehicle:
    1996 2.4,2wd,5spd, stock, 250k
    The flat 4 from walmart will not work going from your truck to the trailer, you need the converter.
     
  7. Feb 1, 2010 at 1:32 PM
    #7
    s2kvtak

    s2kvtak [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20598
    Messages:
    311
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Tulsa, OK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Tacoma 4x4 SR5
    Grillecraft grill w/ TRD badge, Bilstein 5100s on all 4 corners set at 2.5" and Toytec AAL in the rear. 285/75-17 Interco TRXUS M/T
    okay so ill need to get another converter like i took off? perfect. thank you for the help. i knew someone would be able to answer this!
     
  8. Feb 7, 2010 at 6:21 AM
    #8
    mcgiiver

    mcgiiver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Member:
    #9329
    Messages:
    168
    Gender:
    Male
    Princeton, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2009 Access cab 4x4, 4 cyl, stick
    Aftermarket Driving Lights, Hidden Hitch, Removed rear headrests, Side protective moldings, vacuum gauge, Scan Gauge, Leer cap.
    What year is your truck and does it have LED brake lights? My '09 has LEDs and I have been through two convertors already which did not work. Same problems your having with cruise. One was a Valley convertor and the other was T-One from eTrailer.com, both units backfed current from the turn signals to the brake light circuit causing the problem. I spoke with Valley before ordering their convertor and they assured me it would not be a problem, well it was. I was looking at Hopkins and Curt convertors next. Both factories assured me they would work, You say the Hopkins does not so that leaves me to try Curt. I see now that Etrailer.com has a special covertor for LEDs but it is not the snap in type, it needs to hard wired in. This backfeed problem also played havoc with my ABS and Slip control systems.
     
  9. Feb 12, 2010 at 4:40 PM
    #9
    Isthatahemi

    Isthatahemi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Member:
    #16582
    Messages:
    1,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD OFF ROAD
    BFG AT's, Weathertechs, Hoppy's brake controller.
    Why not just use the Toyota stuff and be done with it? Wasted time, money and possible electrical troubles are the true cost of cheapness....
     
  10. Mar 10, 2010 at 2:36 PM
    #10
    Coolidge

    Coolidge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Member:
    #32873
    Messages:
    332
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Guy
    Lancaster, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2003 Pre Runner
    King coilovers frt +3". Bilstein 5100 shocks rear w/AAL, K&N FIPK, Magnablow exhaust, Billet grill, clear corner lights, Sony stereo, JBL, Sub etc.
    Im using a Toyota converter on my 04. Works fine BUT...I believe they are disc. from Toyota?
     
  11. Dec 26, 2010 at 12:05 PM
    #11
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,010
    Gender:
    Male
    The Hopkins converter/harness works perfectly well on my '09.
     
  12. Dec 26, 2010 at 12:39 PM
    #12
    mcgiiver

    mcgiiver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Member:
    #9329
    Messages:
    168
    Gender:
    Male
    Princeton, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2009 Access cab 4x4, 4 cyl, stick
    Aftermarket Driving Lights, Hidden Hitch, Removed rear headrests, Side protective moldings, vacuum gauge, Scan Gauge, Leer cap.
    As noted in my previous post. I did not personally try the Hopkins convertor, I depended on someone else telling me it would not work, so I went with the Curt unit. You might want to check the operation with your cruise control and turn signals at the same time. I hope you have truly found your solution.
     
  13. Apr 7, 2011 at 8:37 PM
    #13
    webb323

    webb323 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38804
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    97 4x4 Regular Cab
    Where can i get one of these converters????? Ive even looked on their website and can not find it. My trailer wires are useless because no decent minded person wires their trailer with a 5 wire set up lol. Thanks
     
  14. Apr 8, 2011 at 6:17 AM
    #14
    webb323

    webb323 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38804
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    97 4x4 Regular Cab
    I've been to 3 local wal marts, all of the local auto parts stores and tractor supply and home depot, and no one has a 5 wire flat to 4 wire flat adapter. All i can find is 4 wire flat to 5 wire flat.
     
  15. Apr 8, 2011 at 6:38 AM
    #15
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,606
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    Flip it around...;)
     
  16. Apr 8, 2011 at 8:27 AM
    #16
    webb323

    webb323 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38804
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    97 4x4 Regular Cab
    Then i would have to male sides trying to go together.... that doesnt work
     
  17. Apr 8, 2011 at 8:27 AM
    #17
    webb323

    webb323 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38804
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    97 4x4 Regular Cab
  18. Apr 8, 2011 at 3:17 PM
    #18
    SLO Taco

    SLO Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Member:
    #54577
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Clovis, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 Pre Runner SR5
  19. Apr 8, 2011 at 4:18 PM
    #19
    Jerry Bear

    Jerry Bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Member:
    #51743
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    If I understand you correctly, you have a 5 wire flat socket on the truck and a 4 wire flat plug on the trailer.

    You shouldn't need a converter.

    Plug the 4-wire trailer plug into the 5-wire truck socket, leaving the hole on the far end of the truck socket disconnected. If the 5-wire socket is wired normally, that's all you need to do.
     
  20. Apr 10, 2011 at 6:38 PM
    #20
    webb323

    webb323 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38804
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    97 4x4 Regular Cab
    Tractor supply and home depot both have trailer wiring stuff and none of the auto parts stores show they can get it. but if someone who isnt a smart ass would like to send me a link to one id be very appreciative. And tried just plugging it up, and it didnt work

    Thanks
     
To Top