1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

WTB: 05+ TRD Overhead Console

Discussion in 'Buy / Sell / Trade' started by SLOdrive, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. SLOdrive

    SLOdrive [OP] SLOdrive

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Member:
    #11383
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    MO
    Vehicle:
    sr5 4x4 V6
    K&N, Borla
    Wanted: Working overhead consul for a 2005 Tacoma SR5 extended cab. This unit provides a glasses holder, a L&R dome light and a compass and thermometer display.

    Nevermind. Got it working again . . .
     
  2. MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    Did your display stop working?
     
  3. 007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,705
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    Gave your thread a bit better title so you can get some more attention...
     
  4. SLOdrive

    SLOdrive [OP] SLOdrive

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Member:
    #11383
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    MO
    Vehicle:
    sr5 4x4 V6
    K&N, Borla
    Hi Nick, It worked when I tested it before re-installing it. But during the trips to the dealer to identify, find, order, buy and return to obtain the clip that I lost, the resistor was lost. My bad for not soldering it properly. I've obtained a substitute from radio shack but that piece is not working (even tough my soldering has improved) or helping the system perform. Somehow, I've been able to stumble through life without an overhead mounted compass and outside thermometer but now, NOW, that I've been spoiled - not to mentioned the ego being trampled, I am on a mission to make this MF work again. Thanks for asking!
     
  5. Sideways

    Sideways Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Member:
    #9057
    Messages:
    561
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD dbl cab
    PM sent!
     
  6. MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    Dang how did you loose the resistor? even if it came loose it should have stayed in the black box.. unless you were carting it around dis-assembled..? Good luck to ya.
     
  7. SLOdrive

    SLOdrive [OP] SLOdrive

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Member:
    #11383
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    MO
    Vehicle:
    sr5 4x4 V6
    K&N, Borla
    Last night I took it apart, for about the 37th time, and plugged in just the temp/compass module. I think I told you Radio Shack sold me an adjustable resistor for $1.66. So, as it was plugged in with the ignition on, I was able to adjust the Ohm setting until the display lit up. So, the thing works again. Thanks again for all your help.
     
  8. MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    Good job :thumbsup:
     
  9. SLOdrive

    SLOdrive [OP] SLOdrive

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Member:
    #11383
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    MO
    Vehicle:
    sr5 4x4 V6
    K&N, Borla
    Thanks again for your help . . . I would not have taken the assembly apart had you not posted how to do so. Dude: Thnx!
     
To Top