1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Xbox won't connect!!

Discussion in 'Entertainment' started by ST3VE, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. Jan 13, 2013 at 7:55 AM
    #1
    ST3VE

    ST3VE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    I am having trouble connecting my Xbox to the internet. I reset the internet password. My iPhone hooks up to the internet and even the laptop that I am typing this on used the same password. The xbox says that:

    "There is a problem with your connection. Select more info for a description of the problem and how you can fix it."

    I then click more info and it says:

    "Incorrect Wireless Password
    Either the password entered for this wireless network is incorrect, or you are not connected to the intended network."

    WTF?! My internet network is correct and the password is damn right too!

    I have reset the modem and unplugged the xbox for a few minutes. Still not working. Then I reset the password and hooked my iPhone and laptop back up to the internet.

    This is a new house that I am living in and at my old house I never had a problem using the wireless internet on the xbox.

    HELP!!
     
  2. Jan 13, 2013 at 10:38 AM
    #2
    ST3VE

    ST3VE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    The password is good. When I type it in to the Xbox it won't accept it. If I make my Internet unsecured then I can hook up.

    WTF?!
     
  3. Jan 13, 2013 at 10:43 AM
    #3
    kirkofwimbo

    kirkofwimbo Say no to Bro

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Member:
    #40338
    Messages:
    1,778
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clayton
    Wimberley, TX
    Vehicle:
    '07 DCSB SR5 4x4
    It's got LSD man.....
    Have you tried a different wireless security type?
     
  4. Jan 13, 2013 at 2:14 PM
    #4
    ST3VE

    ST3VE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    I am on the security type that has (recommended) next to it.
     
  5. Jan 13, 2013 at 2:20 PM
    #5
    Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Member:
    #4570
    Messages:
    6,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryant
    Tallahassee FL
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prerunner TRD Off Road
    265/75/16 BFG A/T, 18" Magnaflow, K&N Intake Filter, Ultra-Gauge, Kobalt Toolbox, Metal Tail Light Guards, Cobra 19 and 4ft fiberglass antenna, Plasti dipped Badges/lower valance/rear bumper/grill/bullbar/ac controls, black DIN kit, JVC KD-X40, Wet Suit Seat Covers
    Reboot the router while the Xbox is powered on, wait 15mins and then try again.

    If your router enables a secondary guest network, enable that and see if the Xbox connects. If it does then its a password/encryption issue with your home network, if not then its your Xbox.

    Wired networks are better for gaming if its possible in your home.
     
  6. Jan 13, 2013 at 3:04 PM
    #6
    theTupper

    theTupper White and Nerdy

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Member:
    #70224
    Messages:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jacob
    Raeford, NC
    Vehicle:
    '10 DCSB Off Road PreRunner
    Xbox needs WPA-2 enabled for security...check your security type. :)
     
  7. Jan 13, 2013 at 3:20 PM
    #7
    ST3VE

    ST3VE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    My security is set on WPA/WPA2-PSK (TKIP/AES)(recommended)
     
  8. Jan 13, 2013 at 3:22 PM
    #8
    ST3VE

    ST3VE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    There is also WPA2-PSK(aes) and another but with (TKIP). No clue what with one are
     
  9. Jan 13, 2013 at 3:29 PM
    #9
    07regtacoman

    07regtacoman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Member:
    #11565
    Messages:
    512
    Gender:
    Male
    Davis Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Silver REG Cab
    Painted arm rests, 2011 front grille,Readylift for 5lug.
    Erase your network connection through the xbox and re install.
     
  10. Jan 13, 2013 at 3:32 PM
    #10
    ST3VE

    ST3VE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    I am using the Ethernet cable now. And I have reset my connection 5 times. I just can't run wireless. Everything else hooks up to the Internet witeless no problem.
     
  11. Jan 13, 2013 at 3:52 PM
    #11
    ST3VE

    ST3VE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    Not too sure. I turn the Xbox on and it picks up wireless Internet.
     
  12. Jan 13, 2013 at 3:56 PM
    #12
    middiedefense

    middiedefense like a boss

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Member:
    #16813
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    GA, MD
    Vehicle:
    09 Access Cab. V6, 6spd, sr5, 4x4, OME 3" kit
    OME 3" Complete kit, TRD O/R Wheels (rattle can flat black), Black Badges, Ultra Gauge
    call customer support. I had problem a few years back, walked me through it pretty easily
     
  13. Jan 13, 2013 at 3:57 PM
    #13
    07regtacoman

    07regtacoman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Member:
    #11565
    Messages:
    512
    Gender:
    Male
    Davis Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Silver REG Cab
    Painted arm rests, 2011 front grille,Readylift for 5lug.
    That happened to me all of a sudden and I used an Ethernet cable for a while.Later it fixed itself,microsoft didn't know what happened either.
     
  14. Jan 13, 2013 at 4:00 PM
    #14
    ST3VE

    ST3VE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    This is the same thing I have read from a few other places too. What the hell is that?!
     
  15. Jan 13, 2013 at 4:04 PM
    #15
    07regtacoman

    07regtacoman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Member:
    #11565
    Messages:
    512
    Gender:
    Male
    Davis Ca
    Vehicle:
    07 Silver REG Cab
    Painted arm rests, 2011 front grille,Readylift for 5lug.
    Ticked me off,had to run a 25ft Ethernet cable and messed with it for a week before I gave up and just used a cable.
     
  16. Jan 13, 2013 at 4:07 PM
    #16
    Phil5393

    Phil5393 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Member:
    #92123
    Messages:
    355
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    Long Island, New York
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport
    You can call 1-800-4MY-XBOX
     
  17. Jan 13, 2013 at 4:11 PM
    #17
    ST3VE

    ST3VE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    I am going to call 1-800-throw this bastard in a fire!!
     
  18. Jan 13, 2013 at 4:11 PM
    #18
    TeamSarcasm

    TeamSarcasm Mr. President

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Member:
    #51510
    Messages:
    10,120
    Gender:
    Male
    I havent read the posts yet...but have you unplugged your internet and waited a few miniutes and replugged it?

    Also your title leads me to believe you had a temper tantrum :p I have a roommate who gets pretty pissed it his internet connection goes out and he can't read his comics/play games.
     
  19. Jan 13, 2013 at 4:13 PM
    #19
    Krewblink

    Krewblink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Member:
    #39233
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    05 toyo Prerunner
    Exhaust,Seat Covers, Intake
    Sounds Like your Firewall is preventing the xbox to connect to your network. Configure your firewall and youll be set. Or allow xbox connection on the router.
     
  20. Jan 13, 2013 at 5:42 PM
    #20
    BuckNakedBooda

    BuckNakedBooda There's no place like 127.0.0.1

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Member:
    #36937
    Messages:
    1,487
    Woodbridge, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Limited 4x4
    Are you using an ACL (access control list) on your router ? If so you will need to add the MAC address of your Xbox....
     
To Top