1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

XM Ready radio w/antenna?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by manofmanycars, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. Apr 2, 2010 at 8:17 AM
    #1
    manofmanycars

    manofmanycars [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Member:
    #34445
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    Red Truck
    Off Road Package, Tow Package
    New 2010 Tacoma with stock Radio (AM/FM/CD w/4 Spkrs + 2 in ceiling, Aux Audio Input, MP3-CD & Sat Radio Capable). Roof (top) of cab near back, appears to be a satellite radio antenna. Third party satellite vendor and installer says he's not sure if that is just an empty cap or if a satellite antenna is already there, in which case the antenna wire should already be fed from roof to radio? Anyone know anything about the antenna "cap"?
     
  2. Apr 2, 2010 at 1:37 PM
    #2
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Yep the antenna is there, and the headunit is xm capable. All you need is the XM tuner. You can go aftermarket, or buy the toyota one.

    I went the toyota route, and bought the xm tuner and the xm "fit kit". It's all plug and play. Took me less than a half hour, and you don't even need to remove the dash. All of the wiring is under the drivers side kick panel.

    I can post the directions if you like.
     
  3. Apr 2, 2010 at 2:38 PM
    #3
    pauldotcom

    pauldotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Member:
    #7148
    Messages:
    259
    First Name:
    Paul
    MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 TRD Sport Quad Cab
    OEM Roof Rack
    I used the factory Sirius kit. If you use the sirius kit you will also need a shark fin adaptor cable which runs about $60. Installation is the same. Very quick and easy install, even if you do it right.
     
  4. Apr 2, 2010 at 2:41 PM
    #4
    JeffRock

    JeffRock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Member:
    #14910
    Messages:
    1,198
    Gender:
    Male
    Capital region, NY
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma accesscab 4x4 SR5 2.7L
    Toyota all weather floor mats. Mag light that clunks around in the jack compartment. Dog hair. Dog drool on the windows.
    but cost on the stock install is steep. There are a few threads about installing the xm/sirius stock kits here. use the search function.
     
  5. Apr 2, 2010 at 3:40 PM
    #5
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Yeah the dealer wanted around $600 for it :eek:.

    I bought the parts for $300 (I think you can get them for less these days), and installed myself in 30 mins.
     
  6. Apr 2, 2010 at 6:36 PM
    #6
    manofmanycars

    manofmanycars [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Member:
    #34445
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    Red Truck
    Off Road Package, Tow Package
    Getting Vais SL2XMT installed tomorrow.
     
  7. Apr 2, 2010 at 6:38 PM
    #7
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,499
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    I have the Toyota one.
     
  8. Apr 6, 2010 at 4:38 PM
    #8
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Here are the install instructions with toyota part numbers if anyone wants them. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Apr 7, 2010 at 5:44 PM
    #9
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    It's two part numbers. One is the actual tuner, and one is a "fit kit" with all the plug and play wiring.
     
  10. Jun 23, 2010 at 9:48 AM
    #10
    solidcopy

    solidcopy High Speed, Low Drag

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39019
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    WV
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    Those install instructions look pretty involved. When you say it took less than 30 minutes to complete, was that following the Toyota install guide?
     
  11. Jun 23, 2010 at 11:55 AM
    #11
    amati5

    amati5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Member:
    #24610
    Messages:
    187
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prerunner TRD
    While on this subject, Mine was purchased in 10/09 and the sat radio (I assume is free for certain amount of time before it went away) is still working. Anyone know how long it's free for? Actually, let me confirm to make sure I have sat radio (I don't even listen to them) When I hit the mode button, I get sat1, sat2 and sat3 and the rest, AM, FM, etc...Does this mean I have sat radio in my system (JBL)?
     
  12. Jun 23, 2010 at 12:01 PM
    #12
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Yep all you do is remove the kick plate on the driver side , run the wries back to underneath the rear seat, and plug them into the receiver. All the wires are plug and play.
     
To Top