1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Yet Another TPMS Question

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Lexirob, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. Jan 17, 2010 at 7:02 AM
    #1
    Lexirob

    Lexirob [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28552
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4 Double Cab
    Step Bars
    My TPMS is non-functional since I upgraded to factory alloys from the steel wheels. Since I have a 2008, I will have a problem if I sell or trade unless I reactivate the system. My local service tech told me that my state requires the truck be failed on state inspection for any warning light, including TPMS even though TPMS warnings do not show up as engine codes on computer diagnostics. This is also a problem on trade because 2008's and newer must have functional TPMS to be incompliance with Federal law. I've been doing a search and found that several companies including Oro make aftermarket OE replacement sensors for many vehicles including Toyotas. However, whenever I go to their websites to do a vehicle make and model search, I can never find one for the Tacoma but they have sensors listed for Tundras, Sequoias, Camrys, etc. The same tech I've been talking to told me that by requirement (maybe the law) all sensors must have the capability to communicate with the factory TPMS system regardless of brand. Does this mean that I should be able to install any Toyota compatible sensor into the wheel and have the computer reprogrammed sucessfully? Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. Jan 17, 2010 at 10:55 AM
    #2
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    Pretty sure they cannot fail the truck for a TPMS light- We've had some discussion about that....and the law says that it needs to be there when built...but aftermarket rims aren't required to have them.

    No clue about the sensors....My guess is that is if it works on a Tundy it'll work on a Taco...but Call the company??

    There are also several ideas about the boards for ways to store the sensors and make the system see them but not have to worry about them in the tires...
     
  3. Jan 17, 2010 at 11:22 AM
    #3
    kilgoja

    kilgoja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Member:
    #18685
    Messages:
    592
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2009 regular cab 4x4 2.7L (silver)
    :mudding:
    yeah there's alot of different ways...i actually just bought new sensors to work with my alloy wheels...about $400...i did it since my truck was brand new....didn't wanna tear it up right away...lol....but some people have taken the bulb out from behind the instrument panel so the warning light doesn't come on.....others have drilled holes in the spare tire wheel and put all the sensors in that one wheel...things like that...lol
     
  4. Jan 17, 2010 at 11:24 AM
    #4
    AK27

    AK27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Member:
    #11005
    Messages:
    39,509
    there was a thread on here a lil while back were someone had the tpms mounted directly to the rim by a metal band
     
  5. Jan 29, 2010 at 12:00 PM
    #5
    TacoSupreme

    TacoSupreme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Member:
    #3864
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Cuatro Por Cuatro
    Can you use the sensors off the steelies and put them on the factory alloys?
     
  6. Jan 29, 2010 at 12:08 PM
    #6
    jeremiekc

    jeremiekc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16031
    Messages:
    800
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremie
    Vilseck, Germany
    Vehicle:
    07 Regular Cab Base Model
    Secondary Air Filter removed, Painted Brake Calipers, AFN Drop in air cleaner, OEM Chrome Bumper, OEM Chrome grilll, OEM Cruise Control, OEM Interval Wipers, Hard Wired Garmin Nuvi 670, X-Runner Rims, Devil Horns, 6000w HID's, Bling Light Fogs with Blue Halo, OEM Bilstein Rear Shocks, 12V Plug in Truck Bed pocket. Debagged, 13" Antennax, Color Matched Satoshi Grill, URD Short Shifter, WeatherTech Floor Mats, PainLess Wiring Switched Fuse Box, Black Sand Pearl X-Runner Badges
    Here is the website where I got them. They work really well and after I had them balanced I had no problems. Essentially what they are is a large hose clamp with a metal bracket that you mount the sensor on. I have had the truck up to 120mph with them on and no problems. Just make sure you get them real tight.

    It is a whole lot cheaper then buying new ones. There is a post on here that I saw the other day where a guy was selling his for $60.00. I was going to buy them to put on my winter tires but decided not to since I would have to have the computer reset. At 100 Euro an hour for services it was not worth it.


    http://www.tpmssource.com/strapkit.aspx

    I hope this helps you out..
     
  7. Jan 29, 2010 at 12:27 PM
    #7
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
  8. Jan 29, 2010 at 12:29 PM
    #8
    TacoSupreme

    TacoSupreme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Member:
    #3864
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Cuatro Por Cuatro
    Looks like that will work. Any idea where the sensors are on '09 factory alloys? I just got some with the tires and the valve stem is not like the metal valve on the factory steelies. Just curious so I can order the correct fitment for the sensors. Thanks in advance.
     
  9. Jan 29, 2010 at 12:35 PM
    #9
    jeremiekc

    jeremiekc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16031
    Messages:
    800
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremie
    Vilseck, Germany
    Vehicle:
    07 Regular Cab Base Model
    Secondary Air Filter removed, Painted Brake Calipers, AFN Drop in air cleaner, OEM Chrome Bumper, OEM Chrome grilll, OEM Cruise Control, OEM Interval Wipers, Hard Wired Garmin Nuvi 670, X-Runner Rims, Devil Horns, 6000w HID's, Bling Light Fogs with Blue Halo, OEM Bilstein Rear Shocks, 12V Plug in Truck Bed pocket. Debagged, 13" Antennax, Color Matched Satoshi Grill, URD Short Shifter, WeatherTech Floor Mats, PainLess Wiring Switched Fuse Box, Black Sand Pearl X-Runner Badges
    All of them should be the valve stem. The difference from the Aluminum to the Steelies is the angle and the length of the thread on the sensor and the angle of the valve stem seat on the wheel.
     
  10. Jan 29, 2010 at 12:40 PM
    #10
    TacoSupreme

    TacoSupreme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Member:
    #3864
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Cuatro Por Cuatro
    My factory steelies valve stem is metal, but the factory alloys I got has the rubber valve stems. Do the factory alloy sensors have rubber valve stems?
     
  11. Jan 29, 2010 at 1:34 PM
    #11
    TBAGRR

    TBAGRR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Member:
    #15689
    Messages:
    148
    Gender:
    Male
    Md
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 sport
    Trd intake Doug Thorley long tubes URD short shifter Eibach front springs Tsb rear leafs
    You can transfer the valve stems for steelies to factory alloys to aftermarket rims!!! they will fit, some times they wont rest on the rim in the aftermarket wheels, they will kind of just hang there but they shouldnt cause a prob, i have put these sensors in many cars that changed rims and i havent ran into a prob yet
     
  12. Jan 29, 2010 at 8:00 PM
    #12
    TacoSupreme

    TacoSupreme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Member:
    #3864
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Cuatro Por Cuatro
    I appreciate the quick feedback. This Forum is the best!!
     
  13. Jan 30, 2010 at 4:48 AM
    #13
    Lexirob

    Lexirob [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28552
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4 Double Cab
    Step Bars
    Did a more thorough search and found www.tpmssource.com. They stock oro-tek direct replacements for my 2008 Tacoma at just under $60 each. At $240 plus the reprogramming charge it may be worth it to reactivate the system when I put new tires on the vehicle. IMO you need to be aware regarding used sensors. One of my mechanics told me that the batteries last only about 5 years. You don't want to spend good money on used sensors to find that they stop transmitting 6 months down the road. Also I don't agree with strapping the old sensors to the rims. There is a huge liability issue here. Let's suppose you had a tire failure unrelated to the sensor and clamp, but there was an accident. If investigators found the clamp and sensor they could try and blame the tire failure on this and you would be screwed. Not worth a lawsuit to save a few hundred bucks. I also saw a thread in this forum where one guy put his sensors into a tubeless hand truck tire and mounted the little tire under the truck. Smartest idea I've seen so far.
     
  14. Jan 30, 2010 at 6:55 AM
    #14
    Flyinhigh

    Flyinhigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Member:
    #25123
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    GA
    Vehicle:
    07 reg. cab 4x4
    do not waste your money buying new, used, or any other diffrent sensors
    use the ones that came with your truck, you still install them normally just rotate them to the inside of the wheel this will work on aftermarket wheels too. Ive had them like this on my truck for two years now the system still works perfect. Just find a tire store that know what they are doing it makes it a little harder to install the tire, just have to be a little more carefull. Again people quit wasting your money on sensors!
     
  15. Jan 30, 2010 at 7:00 AM
    #15
    08TRD Sport

    08TRD Sport ROOTIN AROUND

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28441
    Messages:
    679
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joshua
    Augusta, Georgia
    Vehicle:
    10 5th Gen 4Runner
    I know when I moverd my tpms from my alloys to my new rims they worked perfect. the dealership said it depends on the angle. the steelies have defferent tpms from the alloys. This is sjust what I was told. But you can cruise ebay for some tpms
     
  16. Jan 30, 2010 at 7:01 AM
    #16
    Flyinhigh

    Flyinhigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Member:
    #25123
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    GA
    Vehicle:
    07 reg. cab 4x4
    The steel wheels and alloys are diffrent angles thats why you rotate them
    to the inside.
     
  17. Jan 30, 2010 at 7:32 AM
    #17
    ElectronMan

    ElectronMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16455
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
To Top