1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

You guy's with aftermarket backup cameras.....

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by 86ceeten, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. Apr 1, 2010 at 5:14 PM
    #1
    86ceeten

    86ceeten [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Member:
    #21621
    Messages:
    223
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    NW Florida
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Off Road PreRunner
    Limo tint, 18x10 Diamo Karat, Toyo 285-60's, Rear TSB, 5100's all around, front at 2.5", Debadged, Sound System (evolving)
    Mounted mine today and have plans to pull wire to the head unit tomorrow. My question is, where did you pick up 12v power for the camera? Was thinking about tagging onto the trailer wiring.
     
  2. Apr 1, 2010 at 5:23 PM
    #2
    bookmonke

    bookmonke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Member:
    #26662
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC PreRunner Rugged Trail
    I pulled a solid, 4 conductor wire all the way to the head unit and taped power and ground there, just made a disconnect up near the spare tire for taking the tail gate off.
     
  3. Apr 1, 2010 at 5:26 PM
    #3
    polox40

    polox40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Member:
    #6574
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    ONTARIO
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT 4X4
    TOYOTA ALUMINUM STEP BAR, 3M HOOD FILM, WEATHERTECH FLOOR MATS, 7" DD WITH BACKUP CAMERA, TRD SEAT COVERS
    I put my disconnect behind drivers side rear tailight, nice and dry there.
     
  4. May 3, 2010 at 4:44 PM
    #4
    10.21

    10.21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Member:
    #28311
    Messages:
    192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dillon
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    Black V6 Sport
    BHLM, Satoshi, Remove Mud Flaps, Debadge.
    86ceeten, you know if any after market back-up camera will wire up to pre-existing wires from a back up camera? Plan on buying a tiregate and just wiring an after market backup camera to the bumper or something...
     
  5. May 3, 2010 at 4:49 PM
    #5
    Taco-NB

    Taco-NB MMMMM Taco's

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16662
    Messages:
    1,744
    Gender:
    Male
    New Brunswick
    Vehicle:
    '09 4X4 SR5 Access Cab V6 - Black Sand Pearl
    Run a wire from the battery with the proper fuse.

    Cheers.
     
  6. May 3, 2010 at 4:52 PM
    #6
    10.21

    10.21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Member:
    #28311
    Messages:
    192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dillon
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    Black V6 Sport
    BHLM, Satoshi, Remove Mud Flaps, Debadge.
    I suck with the wiring aspect of things...I know the stock tailgate with camera has a plug and play...just wondering if it was possible to unplug the stock camera and remove the tailgate and just simply drill an after market camera onto the bumper (taking suggestions for a different location) and plug into pre-existing "outlet".
     
  7. Oct 1, 2010 at 3:40 AM
    #7
    brians05taco

    brians05taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Member:
    #30128
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Lafayette,La.
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner white debadged 4.0
    lifted, bedcover,BHLM, grill, etc...
    i have a seven inch double din screen with backup camera capabilities anyone have pics of there aftermarket camera installs
     
  8. Oct 1, 2010 at 8:54 AM
    #8
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    I used the liscense plate lights
     
  9. Oct 1, 2010 at 9:45 AM
    #9
    SilverTacoZack

    SilverTacoZack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Member:
    #42788
    Messages:
    567
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Elgin, SC
    Vehicle:
    2011 FJ trail teams
    My dad has an AVIC D3 in his 2008 Access Cab, and a BOYO camera we mounted to the license plate. We ran the wiring along factory loom for the rear brake lamp wires all the way to the headunit (including the 12v power), but unfortunately, his camera unexpectedly quit working after a year or so. I think maybe the wire got severed by road debris, as we did not loom it. I would highly suggest if you do this that you protect the wire with loom.

    My '10 luckily came with the factory cam in the tailgate. It does have a plug and play connector, but I'm pretty sure if you cut the wires going to the cam from the connector, you could wire up your stuff into it. It looks like its maybe 3 or 4 wires. I'm guessing its signal, power, and ground. I don't see why an aftermarket cam wouldn't work.
     
To Top