1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Catalytic Converter expertise appreciated

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by raw5785, Mar 21, 2012.

1. Mar 21, 2012 at 7:41 PM
    raw5785

raw5785 [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hello All,

This is my first time posting and joining and this forum looks like an awesome resource. First of all, I have a 2002 Ext Cab Tacoma 4wd, with the 2.7L, 5spd and I love it. It's awesome. So here is my question.

Unfortunately, my catalytic converter is bad. I believe my truck has 2 catalytic converters one right after the headers and one further down the line. The one that is bad, judging from the codes and the what the guys at the shop, is the latter one. I don't want to straight pipe it, or punch through the plates in the existing catalytic converter. I may be selling it in 2.5 - 3.5 years to move abroad (hopefully will end up having a Hilux!) and would like it to be in legal working order. The rear catalytic converter from the Toyota dealer is $1100 for just the part, that is ridiculous. I have looked at after market ones on the internet that are anywhere from $80-$330.