Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Light Switch for 2010OR Under AC Controls

Reply
 
Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2012, 05:07 PM   #1
Shaggy [OP] Shaggy is offline
Senior Member
Shaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to behold
 
Shaggy's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #28416
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 192
Shaggy's Tacoma Gallery
Light Switch for 2010OR Under AC Controls

I just spent the last hour or two reading thread after thread trying to find out if there are any factory style switches that can be installed between the power outlets (under AC). I have no empty slots to the left of the steering wheel available or this would be a no brainer.

I know from having the heated mirror mod done that there is a depth issue with the Highlander heated mirror switch that was installed. I plan to move the Highlander switch to the left of my steering wheel replacing the existing fog light switch. I will need to get a different switch that will work in the area under the AC controls for the fog lights and I am adding a light bar in my grill and will need a second switch for that.

I have seen plenty of alternative locations that required lots of extra work. I am not opposed to having to trim a little but would like a switch that is black and looks similar to this one:
http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/buy...ht-switch.html

I am also not adverse to the Ozinum ones that also fit into the Scions:
http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd...le-switch.html

I also found this one (which I think is the same as the ones above:
http://www.rallylights.com/detail.aspx?ID=4975

But I just don't know if the three above will fit without major issues.

Has anyone successfully put a decent looking light switch in the area I am asking about? If so can you help me - even if it is the measurements including accessible depth behind the panel for wire clearance I would appreciate it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
Alloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to behold
 
Alloutdrs1's Avatar
Name: Andrew
Joined: Feb 2012, #73780
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 523
Alloutdrs1's Tacoma Gallery
I searched for about an hour today for the same thing and so far i have only found one solution,

http://tundrapart.com/lights/auxilia...itch-with-led/


It is pricey though but looks like this is the only option for a switch in that area that will fit without hacking up the panel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
That switch is crap.
That's the same switch that came with my eBay fogs and I couldn't get the plug to go in. The pins looked straight and looked like they lined up, but it wouldn't go in.

And you can definitely do better than that $55 "bend you over without Vaseline" price.

I paid $69 for two Tacoma fog light housings, relay harness, and that switch and harness.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 05:42 AM   #4
Member
MBTacoma12 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2012, #82129
Gender: Male
Posts: 56
MBTacoma12's Tacoma Gallery
I used this switch for my eBay fog lights and mounted under the AC controls, works great.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 01:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBTacoma12 View Post
I used this switch for my eBay fog lights and mounted under the AC controls, works great.
Ya, but at $55, it's a complete rip when it is included with a set of housings, harness, and relay for $70.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 01:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
Alloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to behold
 
Alloutdrs1's Avatar
Name: Andrew
Joined: Feb 2012, #73780
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 523
Alloutdrs1's Tacoma Gallery
I agree its expensive, but what other switch will fits that area?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 01:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Buy the eBay kit and sell the housings?

The high price isn't the switch... it's Tundrapart.com that's the ripoff.
They don't make the switch, it's imported, and likely available elsewhere for $20. It's just a matter of finding it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 05:13 PM   #8
Shaggy [OP] Shaggy is offline
Senior Member
Shaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to behold
 
Shaggy's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #28416
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 192
Shaggy's Tacoma Gallery
I have both the blank and the auxport that I removed a while back and here are their dimensions (close approximations):

blank (outside dimension) 1 1/4" tall tall x 7/8" wide

The aux port is about 2 1/8" deep so as long as you get a normal switch that is not crazy deep and the outside dimensions of the stop for the new switch are slightly bigger than the outside dimensions I think you will be ok. The parts I have do not overlap or have a lip the opening like the tundra switch does. The outside dimension is also the same size as the opening for the switch.

The reason why depth is an important measurement is there is duct work behind that area and if the switch will not sit flush if it is too deep.

I hope this helps. If anyone has the Tundra switch and can give me the dimensions it will save me a ton of time. I am also going to search and if I find the dimensions I will post them here.

  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 05:34 PM   #9
Shaggy [OP] Shaggy is offline
Senior Member
Shaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to behold
 
Shaggy's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #28416
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 192
Shaggy's Tacoma Gallery
I have noticed that some manufacturers list dimensions in mm as well as in decimal. This is for the existing parts I mentioned above

about 32mm tall by 21mm wide by 54 deep

or

1.250 tall by .875 wide by 2.125 deep
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 05:44 PM   #10
Senior Member
bjasper is a splendid one to beholdbjasper is a splendid one to beholdbjasper is a splendid one to beholdbjasper is a splendid one to beholdbjasper is a splendid one to beholdbjasper is a splendid one to beholdbjasper is a splendid one to behold
 
bjasper's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Jan 2012, #70798
Location: Carmel, CA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 314
bjasper's Tacoma Gallery
This is a good thread, but you could just make a switch panel like am. Im am going to be able to fit up to 10 SPST switches.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 07:11 PM   #11
Member
CADGod 4x4 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2012, #84188
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 50
CADGod 4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Will these work?

http://www.toyotapart.com/84160-04010.html

http://www.toyotapart.com/00550-35976.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 07:15 PM   #12
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by CADGod 4x4 View Post
Not under the AC controls.
Those will fit the space on the left.

The 2nd one, I don't know why these sites list it for Tacoma. It is not.
It is a Scion switch, and it's actually identical to a switch you can get from Autozone without the graphic.
It won't plug into any Toyota harness, and it doesn't match the stock Tacoma switches.

The first one is the one you want if you are putting fogs into a pre-wired SR5 or are doing it yourself and want it to look factory with the switch on the left of the wheel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 07:16 PM   #13
Member
CADGod 4x4 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2012, #84188
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 50
CADGod 4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
Not under the AC controls.
Those will fit the space on the left.

The 2nd one, I don't know why these sites list it for Tacoma. It is not.
It is a Scion switch, and it's actually identical to a switch you can get from Autozone without the graphic.
It won't plug into any Toyota harness, and it doesn't match the stock Tacoma switches.

The first one is the one you want if you are putting fogs into a pre-wired SR5 or are doing it yourself and want it to look factory with the switch on the left of the wheel.
Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:31 PM   #14
Shaggy [OP] Shaggy is offline
Senior Member
Shaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to behold
 
Shaggy's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #28416
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 192
Shaggy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by CADGod 4x4 View Post
The second switch in the links above does not match the stock switch in looks but the size listed seems to be just about perfect.

I have sent the following email to trdparts4u for answers. I have ordered a bunch of stuff from them and they have always been very helpful so we will see...

Quote:
Hello:

I have purchased several parts from you guys in the past and I now am looking for a switch for lights that can fit under the AC controls switch area in my 2010 Tacoma TRD OR. As you may be able to tell from the attached picture I have installed a mirror defrost switch and it sticks out (due to clearance issues). I am planning to move it to the left of my steering wheel in the bank of switches there but that area is filled with factory switches and there are no blanks left. I want to move the existing fog light switch to the area in the attached picture but those blanks are a bit smaller than the ones to the left. It seems that the width of the switches are pretty close but the biggest difference is the height - 1.25" under AC to about 1.5" to left. Also the factory switches at both areas do not have a lip - the outside profile of the switch sits flush in the opening.

Based on some research I have found the following two parts to be pretty close but I need some questions answered before I purchase and/or need your recommendation if I am way off base.

---00550-35976 this is an illuminated fog light switch as listed on your site http://www.trdparts4u.com/scripts/pr...dproduct=-8765 and I found on another site the dimensions of .75in. Wide by 1.25in. Long. Can you tell me if those dimensions are for the part of the switch that goes inside of the cutout and the lip is a little bit bigger?

---PT297-89013-SW http://www.trdparts4u.com/scripts/pr...dproduct=-9014 Is this the same switch as above but without the orange light? If I am wrong is there one that does not have a illumination that is same size as the one above?
I know the switches look a little different than stock but they are closest to stock that I think we will be able to get without a lot of trimming. I want the one without the illumination for my the replacement fog light switch - esp since it is always on anyway. Although not that I think about it that switch being always on will give me a small nightlight that will shine down on the cup holders and small storage area....hmmmm.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:34 PM   #15
Shaggy [OP] Shaggy is offline
Senior Member
Shaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to behold
 
Shaggy's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #28416
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 192
Shaggy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alloutdrs1 View Post
I searched for about an hour today for the same thing and so far i have only found one solution,

http://tundrapart.com/lights/auxilia...itch-with-led/


It is pricey though but looks like this is the only option for a switch in that area that will fit without hacking up the panel.
did you find an actual size for this switch? I could not find one (but I also did not kill myself looking)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:39 PM   #16
Senior Member
Alloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to behold
 
Alloutdrs1's Avatar
Name: Andrew
Joined: Feb 2012, #73780
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 523
Alloutdrs1's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaggy View Post
The second switch in the links above does not match the stock switch in looks but the size listed seems to be just about perfect.

I have sent the following email to trdparts4u for answers. I have ordered a bunch of stuff from them and they have always been very helpful so we will see...

I know the switches look a little different than stock but they are closest to stock that I think we will be able to get without a lot of trimming. I want the one without the illumination for my the replacement fog light switch - esp since it is always on anyway. Although not that I think about it that switch being always on will give me a small nightlight that will shine down on the cup holders and small storage area....hmmmm.
Let us know what they say on those switches, if that switch fits it looks like the perfect solution and its pretty cheap.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:57 PM   #17
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaggy View Post
The second switch in the links above does not match the stock switch in looks but the size listed seems to be just about perfect.
A lot of guys have been installing that one in the higher positions.

It very well might be that it will fit, given the image you posted of the "regular" switch in the lower position.

The switch with the green plug on the harness....

Button:
13/16" wide
1-3/16 high
"Off" depth 9/16 from face to front of mounting surface (back of flange)
"On" depth 7/16 from face to front of mounting surface (back of flange)

Body:
11/16 wide
1-1/16 high

Here's the kicker....
Depth behind the flange (from the face of the truck's hole) to the back of the switch is 1-5/8"... PLUS the length of the connector.
The PC board goes all the way back, it can't be trimmed, so you're going to need 2" or more behind the panel... not the face of the panel, but from the back of the mounting area, which is almost 1/2" behind the finished surface.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:20 PM   #18
Shaggy [OP] Shaggy is offline
Senior Member
Shaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to beholdShaggy is a splendid one to behold
 
Shaggy's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #28416
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 192
Shaggy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
It very well might be that it will fit, given the image you posted of the "regular" switch in the lower position.
The switch in the image is a 2003 Highlander mirror defrost switch. I have no clue the dimensions of that. The numbers I posted are the dimensions of the switch blank I took out. The depth measurement I listed is from the Aux port I also removed since I remove all of the stock radio stuff and went aftermarket. I think the blank was in the spot of the defrost switch and the aux port was next to the atrac button.

The stock blank is closer to 1 5/16 then 1 3/16 and the width is 3/4" almost dead on. So the tundra switch is actually a tad smaller if your numbers are correct. Depending on the answers I get about the other switches I may have to go with this and see.

Thank you for your input!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:30 PM   #19
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Looks like it'll work if you have over 2" of depth.

I just hope you guys can find a more reasonable source.
At $55 for the switch, may as well buy a set of eBay fog lights for $70 and sell the housings.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:32 PM   #20
Senior Member
Alloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to beholdAlloutdrs1 is a splendid one to behold
 
Alloutdrs1's Avatar
Name: Andrew
Joined: Feb 2012, #73780
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 523
Alloutdrs1's Tacoma Gallery
Found this on another forum, seems like this is the manufacturer of that particular switch http://www.colehersee.com/home/products/r/index.htm
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Products Discussed in this Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My AC Controls Light Mod - How To m3zy6 Lighting 64 05-13-2014 02:26 AM
Help with heat/ac controls lights Sideways Lighting 3 11-08-2011 04:43 AM
AC controls taco19 2nd Gen. Tacomas 10 06-30-2010 03:51 PM
Clock, AC controls not lighting up shuttledriver 1st Gen. Tacomas 0 08-29-2009 02:04 AM
AC controls backlight!? Oh_Six_Taco_4x4 Technical Chat 6 01-05-2009 12:12 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.