Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

'14 Entune Audio Plus in '09 - no weather or traffic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-16-2014, 06:38 PM   #1
abfackeln [OP] abfackeln is offline
Junior Member
abfackeln is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2013, #97154
Location: Rul Hawl, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
abfackeln's Tacoma Gallery
'14 Entune Audio Plus in '09 - no weather or traffic

For those of you that have retrofitted a 2014 Entune stereo (non nav) into an earlier truck, have you been able to access weather and traffic info?
I installed a 2014 Entune Audio Plus (non nav, non JBL) into an '09 Sport, thanks to the many threads on the forum. Everything works great, including bluetooth, but I am unable to get any weather or traffic info on the unit. I've Googled a bunch, and searched the forum, according the the Entune documentation, weather and traffic info is available on these units via HD radio (I'm picking up plenty of HD stations). When I select either traffic or weather from the apps screen, the unit displays "Downloading data" for a moment, and then does nothing. Am I missing something? Do I need a GPS or Sat antenna for this function to work?
This isn't a deal breaker for me, but would like to get it to work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 05:31 PM   #2
Member
warriors_03 is on a distinguished road
Name: Mark
Joined: Apr 2009, #16125
Location: San Marcos
Gender: Male
Posts: 41
warriors_03's Tacoma Gallery
Did you have any luck with this? I am having the same problem in my '12
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 10:25 AM   #3
Junior Member
mjs12 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2014, #124753
Location: N.E. Ohio
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
mjs12's Tacoma Gallery
You need the Navigation antenna installed for the weather and traffic to work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 11:16 AM   #4
Member
warriors_03 is on a distinguished road
Name: Mark
Joined: Apr 2009, #16125
Location: San Marcos
Gender: Male
Posts: 41
warriors_03's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjs12 View Post
You need the Navigation antenna installed for the weather and traffic to work.
That's what I was discovering with better search hits. Any chance you know where to source one cheap? ~220 is the best I have found which is a bit rich for my blood.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 03:25 PM   #5
abfackeln [OP] abfackeln is offline
Junior Member
abfackeln is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2013, #97154
Location: Rul Hawl, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
abfackeln's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by warriors_03 View Post
Did you have any luck with this? I am having the same problem in my '12
Nope, haven't figured it out yet. I've received conflicting responses, some have said I need to use the satellite radio antenna, and some have said I need the GPS antenna. Hesitant to buy one and get the wrong thing without knowing for sure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 06:01 PM   #6
Junior Member
mjs12 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2014, #124753
Location: N.E. Ohio
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
mjs12's Tacoma Gallery
Search for the member FLTrucks on the forum. I believe you can get a Navi antenna there. I'm not sure of the price but have heard they are a much better value
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 06:03 PM   #7
Junior Member
mjs12 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2014, #124753
Location: N.E. Ohio
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
mjs12's Tacoma Gallery
FYI...I installed a 2014 Entune Plus in a 2011. Traffic/Weather did not work until I installed the GPS antenna. Now all works fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 09:41 AM   #8
Member
warriors_03 is on a distinguished road
Name: Mark
Joined: Apr 2009, #16125
Location: San Marcos
Gender: Male
Posts: 41
warriors_03's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjs12 View Post
FYI...I installed a 2014 Entune Plus in a 2011. Traffic/Weather did not work until I installed the GPS antenna. Now all works fine.
Where did you get your antenna, or did it come with the unit?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:05 PM   #9
Junior Member
mjs12 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2014, #124753
Location: N.E. Ohio
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
mjs12's Tacoma Gallery
I bought it from the same person where I got the unit. I contacted him when I found out I needed it and he happened to have one. Before that I looked everywhere trying to find one. Just got lucky he had it. Did you try a private message to FLTrucks?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:09 PM   #10
Junior Member
mjs12 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2014, #124753
Location: N.E. Ohio
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
mjs12's Tacoma Gallery
Check out the install thread by steveo27. He has a lot of good info.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 01:24 PM   #11
Member
warriors_03 is on a distinguished road
Name: Mark
Joined: Apr 2009, #16125
Location: San Marcos
Gender: Male
Posts: 41
warriors_03's Tacoma Gallery
Just wanted to update that simply adding the GPS unit got the traffic and weather working almost immediately. Took maybe 10 minutes to update to my current location.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 02:33 PM   #12
Junior Member
Ed4741 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2014, #127740
Location: Baltimore
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
Ed4741's Tacoma Gallery
Picked up my new 2014 Tacoma with Entune Audio Plus (no navi) last week and I am wondering if there is a way to adjust the traffic map. My map seems to be "stuck" centered over the Chesapeake Bay bridge, and I live about 50 miles west of there. I'd love to learn more about this traffic app if anyone has more info about it. Thanks much.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 03:58 PM   #13
Member
weendoggy is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2014, #121868
Location: Aptos, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 96
weendoggy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed4741 View Post
Picked up my new 2014 Tacoma with Entune Audio Plus (no navi) last week and I am wondering if there is a way to adjust the traffic map. My map seems to be "stuck" centered over the Chesapeake Bay bridge, and I live about 50 miles west of there. I'd love to learn more about this traffic app if anyone has more info about it. Thanks much.
I don't think you can adjust that. It works off the HD signal. Mine shows a little blue dot (sort of) showing where I am on the map, but to tell you the truth, that thing is useless when driving. You can't make it bigger, can't move it to another area, goes blank when I cross the Sierra Nevada (no HD signal)...so, I use and intend on using my Garmin which is TONS better. The same goes for the weather app...no HD signal, no weather, solution was to add the auto mirror setup.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 05:55 PM   #14
Junior Member
Ed4741 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2014, #127740
Location: Baltimore
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
Ed4741's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks. What is the "auto mirror setup"?

Ed
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 06:53 AM   #15
Member
weendoggy is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2014, #121868
Location: Aptos, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 96
weendoggy's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed4741 View Post
Thanks. What is the "auto mirror setup"?

Ed
This is adding a Gentex Autodim mirror to your truck. I installed the autodim, homelink, temp and compass mirror. HUGE improvement!

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd...-pictures.html

Robert is a great guy to deal with (RJP869 on the forum). PM him.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 06:03 AM   #16
Member
PMDclassics is on a distinguished road
 
PMDclassics's Avatar
Name: Todd
Joined: May 2014, #128961
Location: Bismarck
Gender: Male
Posts: 59
PMDclassics's Tacoma Gallery
Just bought a 2014 and have the Entunes premium and I cannot get the weather to work. I have HD Radio selected but it will not connect. I am thinking at this point that there are no HD Radio stations near me and that is why I get nothing.

Also I simply want an external temp display and am disappointed there is none on my 2014 TRD Sport.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 04:07 AM   #17
abfackeln [OP] abfackeln is offline
Junior Member
abfackeln is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2013, #97154
Location: Rul Hawl, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
abfackeln's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by PMDclassics View Post
I am thinking at this point that there are no HD Radio stations near me and that is why I get nothing.

Also I simply want an external temp display and am disappointed there is none on my 2014 TRD Sport.
I used this map to see if there were any HD stations near me that we're transmitting weather and traffic... I didn't see ND listed though:

http://www.totaltraffic.com/index.ph.../coverageareas
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Error" When Sending Quick Msg (text) with '14 Entune Audio Plus via BT pgtr 2nd Gen. Tacomas 17 09-09-2014 03:39 PM
2014 [Code ED] "Entune Audio Plus" is not 'Entune'? pgtr 2nd Gen. Tacomas 47 09-04-2014 10:08 PM
WTB: '14 Entune Factory Nav Head Unit larboleda 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 1 12-24-2013 04:11 PM
Entune Radio Plus Weather Problems ultravista 2nd Gen. Tacomas 6 12-23-2013 07:27 PM
need some info on GPS with traffic reports /weather aaronatl Audio & Video 4 11-06-2008 09:48 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.