Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Easiest Way to disable DRL on 2009 Taco?

Old 01-14-2010, 06:22 PM   #1
Edmund BateTruck is on a distinguished road
Edmund BateTruck's Tacoma Gallery
Easiest Way to disable DRL on 2009 Taco?

Hi everyone, I have 2009 standard Taco, no extras. Daytime running lights are driving me nuts, what's the easiest way to disable them? Is it possible to disconnect/disable them without losing my front turn signals (mechanic said it was impossible since DRL connected to front turn signal lights). I'd appreciate easy instructions/schematics I could show to my mechanic. I have some shop experience, but haven't done much with electrical stuff in a while. Any help appreciated. Thanks!

EDIT: Yes, I did search this topic under the search function and there was no info I could find for a 2009 taco. thanks.
Old 01-15-2010, 01:19 PM   #2
Shine bright like a hymen
DDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Derek
DDD's Tacoma Gallery
Edit: Read warpwr's post below. This is a much better way. Just add a switch.

Plus if you remove the DTRL relay and jumper you have to buy a different relay (from the dealer) without DTRL. If you just add a switch to the red/green wire it will only cost you $2 at radio shack.
Old 01-15-2010, 01:36 PM   #3
Roll Tide