1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

05 4cyl serpantine belt replacement

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by yomama, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. Mar 3, 2009 at 10:22 AM
    #1
    yomama

    yomama [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Member:
    #13857
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    ohio
    Vehicle:
    2005 reg cab, 4cyl w man
    Has anyone performed this to their 4 cyl truck? Where is the tensioner, is it spring or ? How do you know how tight/ how much give? Any tips would be much appreciated!
    THANKS!
     
  2. Mar 3, 2009 at 10:38 AM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
  3. Mar 3, 2009 at 10:39 AM
    #3
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    The tensioner keeps the belt at the propper tension. Hold the wrench on the tensioner, and move it so the belt is loosened. Remove the belt, and replace.
     
  4. Mar 3, 2009 at 4:21 PM
    #4
    yomama

    yomama [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Member:
    #13857
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    ohio
    Vehicle:
    2005 reg cab, 4cyl w man
    THANK-YOU! That's great help, just what I needed. I will replace on Sat,it's like 10 deg out now here in Ohio. I used to live in Tempe, 10 years ago, boy do I miss it right now.
    You have pre-runner? Would one be able to put baby seat in back or no room?
    THANKS AGAIN!
     
  5. Mar 3, 2009 at 7:34 PM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Glad to help! :)
    It was just over 80* today, and Im loving it!!!

    I have a Quad cab, and it fits adults in the back just fine, so I imagine a baby seat would be no problem.
     
  6. Mar 4, 2009 at 10:51 PM
    #6
    br217398

    br217398 Crazy Person.....

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Member:
    #7920
    Messages:
    478
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Tundra Crew Cab 4WD
    Hornblasters horns,Strobe lights,Police Undercover Vehicle, Volent Ram air system, pro comp POS AAL, biltein all around, step bars.
    nice.... thanks for asking and thanks for the answer!
     
To Top