1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

10mm lift enhancer doesn't line up on Stock Spline - WTF

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by 1expensiveTaco, May 11, 2012.

  1. May 11, 2012 at 6:06 PM
    #1
    1expensiveTaco

    1expensiveTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Member:
    #61426
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4 V6
    In the middle of lifting my truck;

    1)OME 90000 Nitro Charger Shocks
    2)OME 885 Coils
    3)10mm Lift Enhancer

    In The Rear (ha)
    4)OME Dakar Leaf Spring (CSO47R)
    5)OME 182 shocks
    6)Toyotec 3 Degree Axel Shims
    7)OME Drive shaft Packer Kit (FK29)
    8)New U-Bolts, New Toyota Bushings

    [​IMG]

    Got the rear done, working on the front, put new bolts in stock spline to compensate for 10mm lift enhancer went to put the damn thing on and it didn't line up:

    [​IMG]

    The old

    [​IMG]

    What happens when you try to use a vice and an extended socket to press bolts into a spline

    [​IMG]

    Old spline new bolts

    [​IMG]

    Doesn't line up

    [​IMG]

    Anything might help please shoot your expertise at me. I have axle shims and a drive shaft spacer kit installed will excluding the 10mm enhancer f anything up? I don't mind buying new spindles - suggestions? It seems the lift enhancer is the problem ti me though. Thanks for any and all advise.
     
  2. May 11, 2012 at 6:16 PM
    #2
    Sublime

    Sublime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Member:
    #25918
    Messages:
    3,456
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD 4x4
    Icon/All Pro.....chopped for 35's
    Looks to be the wrong one?

    That sucks man!
     
  3. May 11, 2012 at 6:22 PM
    #3
    SManZ

    SManZ el tráfico más lento se queda derecha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Member:
    #22817
    Messages:
    1,354
    Gender:
    Male
    Haymarket, VA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Supercharged 4x4 Sport 6-spd
    TRD Supercharger, King 2.5" extended travel remote-resi coilovers, OME Dakar leaf packs, King 2.5" extended travel rear shocks, Total Chaos UCAs, MBRP turndown exhaust, TRD intake, TRD Quickshifter, Goodridge SS brake lines, EBC Sport Rotors, Hawk HPS pads, TRD FJ Cruiser Special Edition 16" Anthracite Rims, Spidertrax wheel spacers, 265/75R16 A/T, Autometer oil pressure, oil temp gauges, TRD boost gauge, PLX DM-100 OBD II scanner, flexpod mounts, A-pillar gauge pods
    Did you try installing the spacer on the stock bolts before you removed them? Or to put it another way, are you sure the installation process didn't get the new bolts out of whack?
     
  4. May 11, 2012 at 6:23 PM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I would drill out the holes to size/fit.
     
  5. May 11, 2012 at 6:29 PM
    #5
    1expensiveTaco

    1expensiveTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Member:
    #61426
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4 V6

    I unfortunately did not try to put on with stock bolts, but i can, in process of removing second coil/shock - bolts are sound thankfully despite the process in which they were put on; i ended up using a screw to pull the bolts threw so there wasn't adverse pressure to cause damage.

    just tried and the spacer does not fit on original bolts
     
  6. May 11, 2012 at 6:30 PM
    #6
    1expensiveTaco

    1expensiveTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Member:
    #61426
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4 V6

    I thought about this... i feel like the holes would rupture the circumference of the spacer. and then id be fd
     
  7. May 11, 2012 at 6:33 PM
    #7
    1expensiveTaco

    1expensiveTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Member:
    #61426
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4 V6
  8. May 11, 2012 at 7:15 PM
    #8
    BillJC

    BillJC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Member:
    #56265
    Messages:
    180
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Novato, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 White SR5 DCLB 4x4
    So?

    [​IMG]

    These are the Toytec ones I installed. [​IMG]
     
  9. May 11, 2012 at 7:19 PM
    #9
    1expensiveTaco

    1expensiveTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Member:
    #61426
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4 V6
    lol well then maybe i should get on it.
     
  10. May 11, 2012 at 9:08 PM
    #10
    JustinL

    JustinL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Member:
    #50299
    Messages:
    3,563
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Newington, CT
    Vehicle:
    2009 TRD OffRoad DCSB Pyrite Mica
    2012 Conversion
    Before you assemble everything, see if the spline matches up to the bracket on the truck as well. If the new bolts have been bent too much they might need some "massaging" to get in there as well.
     
  11. May 11, 2012 at 9:13 PM
    #11
    Twistedfreedom

    Twistedfreedom welcome to the incredibuild

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Member:
    #63386
    Messages:
    8,785
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    incredibuild in progress
    modded the F*ck out
    looks like you got first gen spacer instead of 2nd gen. I'd grab a grinder and a cut off wheel and make them fit. Once it's all bolted down and the weight of the truck is on it you'll be fine.
     
  12. May 12, 2012 at 6:29 AM
    #12
    SManZ

    SManZ el tráfico más lento se queda derecha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Member:
    #22817
    Messages:
    1,354
    Gender:
    Male
    Haymarket, VA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Supercharged 4x4 Sport 6-spd
    TRD Supercharger, King 2.5" extended travel remote-resi coilovers, OME Dakar leaf packs, King 2.5" extended travel rear shocks, Total Chaos UCAs, MBRP turndown exhaust, TRD intake, TRD Quickshifter, Goodridge SS brake lines, EBC Sport Rotors, Hawk HPS pads, TRD FJ Cruiser Special Edition 16" Anthracite Rims, Spidertrax wheel spacers, 265/75R16 A/T, Autometer oil pressure, oil temp gauges, TRD boost gauge, PLX DM-100 OBD II scanner, flexpod mounts, A-pillar gauge pods
    Next time, try tapping the backside in with a hammer instead of squashing it in with a vise. Constant increasing force is a lot harder on parts than multiple sharp impacts. You might be suprised how easy they are to install with a mallet. I've swapped these studs out before too :)
     
  13. May 12, 2012 at 8:05 AM
    #13
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    They look like the right ones, just the longer bolts might be cocked a bit.

    Or run some washers, and nuts down the threads, and tighten the nuts, allowing them to pull the studs into place.
     
  14. May 12, 2012 at 9:06 PM
    #14
    1expensiveTaco

    1expensiveTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Member:
    #61426
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4 V6
    Thanks everyone I ended up cutting them to fit, lift fully installed pictures asap.
     
  15. May 12, 2012 at 9:10 PM
    #15
    maxamillion2345

    maxamillion2345 Go home if you don't like guns liquor and whores.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Member:
    #31761
    Messages:
    7,880
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Max
    Nevada
    Vehicle:
    80 series LC
    Too many
    IIRC the bolt pattern between first and 2nd gens is different, ever so slightly. Looks like you might have gotten a first gen top spacer.

    Or at least thats what I came up with when I measured mine and Eric's 1st gen before he cut my top plates.
     
  16. May 12, 2012 at 9:17 PM
    #16
    1expensiveTaco

    1expensiveTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Member:
    #61426
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4 V6
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Not the best cuts but it got the job done
     
To Top