1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

12v constant on???

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by thebigk, Apr 26, 2009.

  1. Apr 26, 2009 at 3:20 PM
    #1
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    I installed a 12v outlet in my console & used an add a circuit in the fuse panel behind the cubby. Now I want to have constant power to it. Does anyone know if any of the fuses behind the cubby have 12v constant? I was looking for the map light/dome light fuse but I didn't see it under there....I'm guessing it's under the hood and I don't really want to run wire that far.
     
  2. Apr 26, 2009 at 3:34 PM
    #2
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,557
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    2008 F-350 Powerstroke
    I'll research it now... I'd play it safe and run from the battery though if I were you. Any circuit you're drawing off of will probably blow due to the extra load. Its not a safe practice for large draw systems.
     
  3. Apr 26, 2009 at 3:39 PM
    #3
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,557
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    2008 F-350 Powerstroke
    Alright, I just did a brief look through the diagrams... all the systems you could pull from are either switched, or low draw. You're putting a 12V outlet your truck. That outlet could draw alot of amperage depending on what you plug into it. Splicing into existing wires could over power them, and cause them to smoke and burn up, if it doesn't blow the fuse. Run a seperate wire from your battery. Its the only safe way to do it, and is highly recommended for any additional circuits.
     
  4. Apr 26, 2009 at 4:18 PM
    #4
    thebigk

    thebigk [OP] 6 Double 5 3 2 1

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8770
    Messages:
    3,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken....
    Odessa, TX
    Gracias! I'm glad someone can make sense of those diagrams!

    I think I'll leave it like I have it now.
     
To Top