1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

14MPG? 2.7 single cab. I think somethings wrong

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by sslongmuir, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. Dec 22, 2007 at 3:42 PM
    #1
    sslongmuir

    sslongmuir [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Member:
    #2880
    Messages:
    115
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    95 single cab 2.7 on 33's
    Custom rock sliders
    If you read my other posts u know my mileage went from 18 to 16 and now its hit 14mpg. idk what it is but any help would be appreciated. new MAf sensor, wires,engine temp sensor. i just dont know
     
  2. Dec 22, 2007 at 3:46 PM
    #2
    concrete jedi

    concrete jedi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Member:
    #3142
    Messages:
    2,741
    Rochester N.Y
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma 4 door indigo blue
    Broken and scratched tailgate, cracked rear tail light lens, coffee stain in driver seat.
    I would check for a leak, if it's not running poorly, fuel is pouring somewhere, maybe on the ground ? :eek:
     
  3. Dec 22, 2007 at 5:44 PM
    #3
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    Have you kept your truck maintained at regular intervals? I changed new plugs and wires recently and it jumped 2MPG. It would be also smart to change over to synth fluids too.
     
  4. Dec 22, 2007 at 6:21 PM
    #4
    Toy4Life

    Toy4Life 668: The Neighbor of the Beast

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Member:
    #2566
    Messages:
    4,970
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Slippery Rock, PA
    Vehicle:
    96 Subaru Outback 2.2 5mt
    92 4Runner SR5 3.0v6 4x4(sold) 02 Tacoma SR5 TRD Offroad 4x4 (sold)
    No check engine light?
     
  5. Dec 22, 2007 at 9:19 PM
    #5
    350TacoZilla

    350TacoZilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Member:
    #2767
    Messages:
    1,115
    Gender:
    Male
    Hancock MD
    Vehicle:
    1997 3RZ 5spd 4x4 Reg Cab
    2.7L 3RZ,K&N filter, 4" deck plate mod,flowmaster 40 series,3" suspension lift, hybrid 52"chevy/toyota rear springs.
    O2 sensor could be stuck in closed loop where its just dumping fuel in... no light would come on as long as it thinks the sensor is working
     
  6. Dec 23, 2007 at 3:16 AM
    #6
    TSUNAMI*22

    TSUNAMI*22 Obama can suck-it

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Member:
    #3193
    Messages:
    209
    Gender:
    Male
    Stockton, CA
    Vehicle:
    '07 Standard Cab / White / 2.7 I4
    ScanGuage 2 equipped. Toyota DIY aftermarket Cruise Control mod
    Don't you mean it is stuck in Open Loop (rich)? Closed Loop (leaner) is where it runs after it's warmed up. Open loop only happens when it's first started.

    My ScanGauge runs in "CLSD LP" during normal operation.

    To answer the original question: Yes, something isn't right. I have the same motor and I'm getting 26.1 mpg average for highway driving. I just did a 715 mile round trip (all highway) @ 70 mph with cruise control. Filled tank to brim visually both times I refueled. Total was 27 gallons, even. 715mi / 27gals = 26.1 mpg

    If I set cruise to 65 mph I get 29.8 mpg average.
     
  7. Dec 23, 2007 at 6:18 AM
    #7
    maverick491

    maverick491 Towing Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1462
    Messages:
    1,108
    Gender:
    Male
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 Access Cab, TRD off road, 6 cyl, 6 spd
    Activator III brake controller, Extang Fulltilt toneau, Factory bed mat, Extra D-rings in the bed, 2ndary air filter removed, Garmin Ique GPS, Eco-2, AFE Pro Dry-s filter, USASPEC PA12-toy, Pioneer 3-way speakers, SG II on Blendmount, Gulf States Alarm added.
    I see you have a K&N drop in. Perhaps a fouling of the MAF sensor from the oiled filter?

    Try cleaning the MAF sensor?
     
  8. Dec 23, 2007 at 9:24 AM
    #8
    350TacoZilla

    350TacoZilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Member:
    #2767
    Messages:
    1,115
    Gender:
    Male
    Hancock MD
    Vehicle:
    1997 3RZ 5spd 4x4 Reg Cab
    2.7L 3RZ,K&N filter, 4" deck plate mod,flowmaster 40 series,3" suspension lift, hybrid 52"chevy/toyota rear springs.
    yeah ha ha sorry closed it chesks itself.... open it just guesses everything is ok lol
     
  9. Dec 24, 2007 at 11:56 AM
    #9
    sslongmuir

    sslongmuir [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Member:
    #2880
    Messages:
    115
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    95 single cab 2.7 on 33's
    Custom rock sliders
    i put the scantool on and it says insufficent engine temp for closed loop operation. i changed the engine temp sensor and it still says it. there is the one on the back of the block which i changed and there is one up front right on top of the coolant hose. i figured it was the one on the back because the other one is kinda small which makes me thing its for a light or something. It has a new MAF sensor and new plugs ,wires. it gets better mileage when its warmer so i dint know if that has something to do with tit
     
  10. Dec 24, 2007 at 12:37 PM
    #10
    350TacoZilla

    350TacoZilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Member:
    #2767
    Messages:
    1,115
    Gender:
    Male
    Hancock MD
    Vehicle:
    1997 3RZ 5spd 4x4 Reg Cab
    2.7L 3RZ,K&N filter, 4" deck plate mod,flowmaster 40 series,3" suspension lift, hybrid 52"chevy/toyota rear springs.
    yeah thats the problem its not reading that the engine is warmed up so its keeping the truck in open loop and just dumping fuel in... I'd say try the other temp sensor or i know its a long shot but maybe the engine management computer? hate to think its that but possible
     
  11. Dec 25, 2007 at 5:15 PM
    #11
    sslongmuir

    sslongmuir [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Member:
    #2880
    Messages:
    115
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    95 single cab 2.7 on 33's
    Custom rock sliders
    would that make it ilde rough? It does that too
     
  12. Dec 25, 2007 at 8:21 PM
    #12
    Taco95

    Taco95 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1166
    Messages:
    36
    this may have been asked before but... do you have your hubs locked in?

    i left mine locked for just one day and got on the highway running about 75-80 i could notice the fuel gauge going down. even with them unlocked i still dont get that good of mileage on the highway unless you run 65.
     
  13. Dec 26, 2007 at 5:40 PM
    #13
    sslongmuir

    sslongmuir [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Member:
    #2880
    Messages:
    115
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    95 single cab 2.7 on 33's
    Custom rock sliders
    they have been since we have been getting 2-3ft storms once a week. I turn them off when it clear though
     
  14. Dec 26, 2007 at 6:30 PM
    #14
    350TacoZilla

    350TacoZilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Member:
    #2767
    Messages:
    1,115
    Gender:
    Male
    Hancock MD
    Vehicle:
    1997 3RZ 5spd 4x4 Reg Cab
    2.7L 3RZ,K&N filter, 4" deck plate mod,flowmaster 40 series,3" suspension lift, hybrid 52"chevy/toyota rear springs.
    yeah sounds like the 02 sensors or computer... cause they would cause it to dump in too much fuel causing rough idle
     
  15. Dec 31, 2007 at 1:53 PM
    #15
    solo0033

    solo0033 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Member:
    #3758
    Messages:
    13
    Vehicle:
    sr5 prerunner trd
    HEY GUYS IM NEW.....how do you lock and unlock hubs? i just wanna make sure mine arent locked. thanks
     
  16. Jan 1, 2008 at 5:29 AM
    #16
    concrete jedi

    concrete jedi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Member:
    #3142
    Messages:
    2,741
    Rochester N.Y
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma 4 door indigo blue
    Broken and scratched tailgate, cracked rear tail light lens, coffee stain in driver seat.
    Locking hubs are on the front, both wheels, and will have a small handle/grip to turn the hubs in either the locked position or the unlocked position, unless your presently in deep snow or mud you should be in the unlocked position. If you live in a part of the country where you are in and out of 4wd some folks lock the hubs in basically for the winter, engaging the transfer case to engage the 4wd system, but with rising fuel cost I wouldn't. :)
     
  17. Jan 1, 2008 at 6:46 AM
    #17
    maverick491

    maverick491 Towing Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1462
    Messages:
    1,108
    Gender:
    Male
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 Access Cab, TRD off road, 6 cyl, 6 spd
    Activator III brake controller, Extang Fulltilt toneau, Factory bed mat, Extra D-rings in the bed, 2ndary air filter removed, Garmin Ique GPS, Eco-2, AFE Pro Dry-s filter, USASPEC PA12-toy, Pioneer 3-way speakers, SG II on Blendmount, Gulf States Alarm added.
    Seeing that you have a pre-runner, your hubs are not locked as you do not have a front drive-line, so you don't need to worry about it. But Jedi's post above does cover the operation of the hubs if you were just looking for information for the sake of having it.
     
  18. Jan 1, 2008 at 8:33 AM
    #18
    tacotoe

    tacotoe Pastry Chef

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Member:
    #3593
    Messages:
    442
    Nebraska
    Vehicle:
    `01 DBL Cab TRD
    Gibson Cat-Back Exhaust
    A long shot here but just a few things my friends old `86 w/22RE,5 manual,only got 16mpg w/31-10.5s..Winter blend fuel aint worth a stink..In winter we (except my wife) let our vehicles idle longer..A vehicles gonna work harder in the snow..just wanted to make a few comments maybe 16mpg aint that far off.Should not idle rough though, is the truck actually warming up? Stuck thermostat?
     
To Top