1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

1st gen o2 sensor

Discussion in 'Buy / Sell / Trade' started by HerNameIsLucy, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:05 PM
    #1
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy [OP] I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,041
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Anyone know of a 1st gen with a 3.4 being parted out? I need a upstream O2 sensor, don't wanna pay 145 bucks for one and for some reason junkyards won't sell them.

    Tnx in advance
     
  2. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:08 PM
    #2
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    I have one for a Cali spec truck, but we moved and I need to find the damn thing. Gimme a few days to look for it.
     
  3. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:14 PM
    #3
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy [OP] I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,041
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Hmmm...none of the parts catalogs I've looked at say there's any different part for Cal vehicles...so it should work perfect.

    I just found one on ebay for 78 bucks...sold by rockauto! I've been buying from their webpage for years (www.rockauto.com) and never had a problem.

    But if you got a used one...I'm a buyer!
     
  4. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:21 PM
    #4
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    It's actually a new one, but I never got around to replacing it before I sold the truck. Rockauto is a great place to buy stuff BTW!
     
  5. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:23 PM
    #5
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy [OP] I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,041
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Even better! Well, depending on price of course ;)
     
  6. Mar 2, 2009 at 1:46 PM
    #6
    gonzo6up

    gonzo6up Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Member:
    #12240
    Messages:
    428
    Gender:
    Male
    Middle Tn
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma SR5 4x4 sport
    tint/ vent visors/ seatbelt chime mod/ DTRL Mod
    i have a useed one but i can't remember if it's upstream or downstream. I'll look at it tonight.
     
  7. Mar 2, 2009 at 2:02 PM
    #7
    dually

    dually Low and slow

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8205
    Messages:
    3,161
    Gender:
    Male
    Interstate underpass
    Vehicle:
    '16 Inferno SR5 DCLB
    265/75R16 Falken Wildpeak AT3 LED Bulbs Access Lorado
    If the o2 sensors are the same on the 4cyl, im sure i can spare one for you! haha
     
  8. Mar 2, 2009 at 3:25 PM
    #8
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy [OP] I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,041
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Much appreciated!

    Nope. In Toyota's infinite wisdom, upstream and downstream, 4 banger and 6 banger, automatic and manual tranny...all matter! And now I'm reading sometimes they used a true O2 sensor, sometimes they used a "Wide band sensor". O2 sensor is voltage driven, wide-band is current, and they don't interchange!

    It's almost like you gotta send Toyota the VIN off your vehicle and ask them which one you need!
     

Products Discussed in

To Top