1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

1st gen o2 sensor

Discussion in 'Buy / Sell / Trade' started by HerNameIsLucy, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:05 PM
    #1
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy [OP] I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,047
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Anyone know of a 1st gen with a 3.4 being parted out? I need a upstream O2 sensor, don't wanna pay 145 bucks for one and for some reason junkyards won't sell them.

    Tnx in advance
     
  2. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:08 PM
    #2
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    I have one for a Cali spec truck, but we moved and I need to find the damn thing. Gimme a few days to look for it.
     
  3. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:14 PM
    #3
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy [OP] I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,047
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Hmmm...none of the parts catalogs I've looked at say there's any different part for Cal vehicles...so it should work perfect.

    I just found one on ebay for 78 bucks...sold by rockauto! I've been buying from their webpage for years (www.rockauto.com) and never had a problem.

    But if you got a used one...I'm a buyer!
     
  4. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:21 PM
    #4
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    It's actually a new one, but I never got around to replacing it before I sold the truck. Rockauto is a great place to buy stuff BTW!
     
  5. Feb 27, 2009 at 9:23 PM
    #5
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy [OP] I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,047
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Even better! Well, depending on price of course ;)
     
  6. Mar 2, 2009 at 1:46 PM
    #6
    gonzo6up

    gonzo6up Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Member:
    #12240
    Messages:
    432
    Gender:
    Male
    Middle Tn
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma SR5 4x4 sport
    tint/ vent visors/ seatbelt chime mod/ DTRL Mod
    i have a useed one but i can't remember if it's upstream or downstream. I'll look at it tonight.
     
  7. Mar 2, 2009 at 2:02 PM
    #7
    dually

    dually Low and slow

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8205
    Messages:
    3,132
    Gender:
    Male
    Interstate underpass
    Vehicle:
    05 Indigo 4wd Longbed
    Not as many as the 98..
    If the o2 sensors are the same on the 4cyl, im sure i can spare one for you! haha
     
  8. Mar 2, 2009 at 3:25 PM
    #8
    HerNameIsLucy

    HerNameIsLucy [OP] I miss Lucy. :-(

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8256
    Messages:
    3,047
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Equador. Don't know why.
    Vehicle:
    RIP Lucy.
    She's gone but not forgotten.
    Much appreciated!

    Nope. In Toyota's infinite wisdom, upstream and downstream, 4 banger and 6 banger, automatic and manual tranny...all matter! And now I'm reading sometimes they used a true O2 sensor, sometimes they used a "Wide band sensor". O2 sensor is voltage driven, wide-band is current, and they don't interchange!

    It's almost like you gotta send Toyota the VIN off your vehicle and ask them which one you need!
     
To Top