1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2 amps.....1 battery?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by 93civEJ1, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. Mar 10, 2012 at 9:34 AM
    #1
    93civEJ1

    93civEJ1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Member:
    #8411
    Messages:
    583
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD OR
    Procomp 6" Stage 1, Bilstein 5100's in front, flowmaster 40 series
    Ok....how do you guys have your trucks wired up with 2 amps?

    I went to start the truck this morning and it did not have enough juice to turn the truck over...only click the starter a few times.

    I have the main amp wire fused, going directly to a dist block...there it splits off to 2 amps. Each amp has its own ground under the driver / passenger seats using a bolt that bolts the seat down. The remote wire comes directly from the HU to the door speaker amp....and the 2nd amp (for subs)remote is tapped off the first amp remote. The sub amp also has its own fuse that came with the amp between the power wire coming from the distrib block.

    When turning off and on the HU ....both amp lights power off. This is the first time i had a low battery. I didnt drive the truck for 1 day is all. Ive had all this for a few weeks with no issue.

    What could be pulling a draw on the battery?
     
  2. Mar 11, 2012 at 8:31 AM
    #2
    93civEJ1

    93civEJ1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Member:
    #8411
    Messages:
    583
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD OR
    Procomp 6" Stage 1, Bilstein 5100's in front, flowmaster 40 series
    also for you guys who have amps under seats...where did you ground?

    I woke up this morning and went to start the truck...again, weak...only starter solenoid would click. I jumped it off, took it to autozone to get the alt and battery tested. Battery showed it had plenty of volts to start...13 something...but had bad cells..so was not even amps to crank it up. I purchased a new battery with more cold cranking amps.

    Now if it wasnt just the battery , and something is drawing current while off, where would I look? Radio is off...remote wire is on a relay that I know clicks off....amps turn off when truck is off etc...ideas? I just wanna be sure i wont kill this battery as well.

    The problem just started suddenly, and had no problems for weeks.
     
  3. Mar 11, 2012 at 9:49 AM
    #3
    jeremy_283

    jeremy_283 Super Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Member:
    #11569
    Messages:
    1,435
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad Access Cab 4x4 Auto 4.0L
    Hella Rallye 4000 Cornering Lights PIAA 510 Fog Lights All Pro Front Bumper All Pro Rear Bumper All Pro Transfer Case Skid All Pro IFS Skid All Pro Rock Sliders All Pro High Clearance Hitch OME Dakar Leaf Springs OME Rear Shocks OME Front Shocks OME 885 Front Coils Wet Okole Seat Covers WeatherTech Floor Liners Sony Head Unit JL XD600/1 Amp 2 JL Audio 10” Subwoofers Custom Subwoofer Enclosure Kenwood Front Speakers Sony Rear Speakers Sound Deadening Mats LED Interior Lighting Pop N’ Lock Tailgate Lock Viper Alarm System Extra D-Rings In Truck Bed Maglite Seat Mount Disable Seatbelt Chime Rear Differential Breather Relocation Hi-Lift Bed Mount Flexible Front Mud Flaps 110v Inverter Always At 400w ABS Kill Switch Locking Center Console Removed Sway Bar
    I grounded mine where the seat mount bolt attaches to the body....
     
  4. Mar 11, 2012 at 9:56 AM
    #4
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,036
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    The battery in my 09 had to be replaced last fall. Would not assume its your amps.
     
  5. Mar 11, 2012 at 10:17 AM
    #5
    Dibblit

    Dibblit Eh?

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Member:
    #43616
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Stony Plain
    Vehicle:
    Truck
    Icon Suspension ARB OBA
    You might want to consider installing a capacitor depending on the size of your amps, 1 or 2 Farard should be good. They help save the battery.

    If you have acess to an amp clamp and multi meter, check main power and ground to the amps for draw just to be on the safe side. Wouldnt hurt to check you battery connection at the starter, and your grounds as well. ohm out from battery to starter to check for high resistance in the battery cables. Maby a voltage drop test while your at it.
     
  6. Mar 11, 2012 at 2:15 PM
    #6
    93civEJ1

    93civEJ1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Member:
    #8411
    Messages:
    583
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD OR
    Procomp 6" Stage 1, Bilstein 5100's in front, flowmaster 40 series
    thats where mine are grounded as well.
    I have a DMM but not a clamp.
     
  7. Mar 11, 2012 at 3:01 PM
    #7
    Adam Baum

    Adam Baum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Member:
    #58194
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    PCS
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner SR5 debadged
    How?
     
  8. Mar 12, 2012 at 5:52 AM
    #8
    93civEJ1

    93civEJ1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Member:
    #8411
    Messages:
    583
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD OR
    Procomp 6" Stage 1, Bilstein 5100's in front, flowmaster 40 series
    does a parasitic drain on a battery kill the cells? or does just a battery going bad cause that? because my old battery had plenty of volts, so the alt was working and charging it...just no amps.
     
  9. Mar 12, 2012 at 6:07 AM
    #9
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,036
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Still be willing to bet it was just a bad battery and no further action on your part is needed. The only way that I can see any parasitic drain causing battery problems is if the it caused the battery to drain down to next to nothing, then it sat there for weeks/months on end. That can damage a battery.
     
  10. Mar 12, 2012 at 7:07 AM
    #10
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,866
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    This would be my guess as well. I don't know how mine has lasted as long as it has.
    I'm going to have to disagree here. It would help not at all.


    What amps are you running and what speakers/ohm loads? How loud do you listen?
     
  11. Mar 12, 2012 at 8:00 AM
    #11
    93civEJ1

    93civEJ1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Member:
    #8411
    Messages:
    583
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD OR
    Procomp 6" Stage 1, Bilstein 5100's in front, flowmaster 40 series
    running a concept-1252 2 channel....and a audiopipe 1 channel AP1500.1
    All speakers are 4 ohm....doors on 2 channel run at 100 watts set on max 3/4 on HU (which I doubt ever see)...and rears are ran to a 1.33 ohm load running 200 rms each at 3/4 HU at 50hz...which also I doubt ever see.

    listen to around 22 on HU....with max set at 30 out of 40.
     
  12. Mar 12, 2012 at 10:48 PM
    #12
    Adam Baum

    Adam Baum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Member:
    #58194
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    PCS
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner SR5 debadged
    You probably just had a bad battery. I replaced my third one last month... Since 01. Autozone took care of me on replacements. It is just one of those things that get changes out every few years.
     
To Top