1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2000 check engine codes

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Dave, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. Jan 31, 2007 at 6:05 AM
    #1
    Dave

    Dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #3
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    RI/Vt
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 Xtra Cab
    Truck has been running well until today. it is reasonably cold, may 20 degrees but I doubt this has anything to do with it.

    Check engine light came on, went to Auto Zone to have it checked.

    Came up with two codes, PO125 AND PO135.

    The 125 code says Insufficient coolant temperature for closed loop fuel control.

    The 135 code is something like a problem with the coolant sensor. He couldn't print it out cause he broke the printer on that one.

    Are the two related?

    What does each do? I think I an pretty sure what a coolant sensor is in a older car, probably the same here but what about the 125 code. He said something about a TPS, I think he called it a Temperature Pressure switch or like that.

    What could happen if I dont get it fixed right away.

    Added INFO: Here's some more info, I checked my Haynes Manual and it says that the PO125 code is : O2 sensor heater circuit fault and for PO135 : Upstream heated 02 sensor heater circuit (high voltage Bank 1, Sensor 1.

    It appears that he gave me the wrong info? And is it just the 02 sensor?
     
  2. Jan 31, 2007 at 9:05 AM
    #2
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2015 4Runner Trail Edition Premium
    Cloaking Device
    Experience with a Subaru that had the same "kind" of codes/errors...

    Check your sensors on the block (and if the intake manifold has one) for temperature. Make sure the pick-ups are clean and not moist. This can cause a closed circuit while other sensors are open circuit - this is kinda like your ECU getting two temperatures that are exactly the opposite when they should be close to each other in range...

    Also, for good measure, I would flush your coolant if it hasn't been flushed in the past year...

    Hope these help!
     
  3. Jan 31, 2007 at 5:33 PM
    #3
    Dave

    Dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #3
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    RI/Vt
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 Xtra Cab
    But I'm confused as to the different explanation of the codes from Auto Zone and the manual.
     
  4. Jan 31, 2007 at 5:44 PM
    #4
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2015 4Runner Trail Edition Premium
    Cloaking Device
    If they had input incorrect ECU/year/model/engine that would explain it...
     
  5. Jan 31, 2007 at 5:48 PM
    #5
    Dave

    Dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #3
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    RI/Vt
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 Xtra Cab

    Probably best to get a 2nd opinion.
     
  6. Feb 1, 2007 at 4:11 AM
    #6
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2015 4Runner Trail Edition Premium
    Cloaking Device
    Good call. You could just go to another AutoZone...

    That would save you a dime, but you may get miss diagnosed again. Personally, I would take it to a trusted mechanic, or ask if anyone has an OBD Reader.
     
  7. Feb 1, 2007 at 2:08 PM
    #7
    Dave

    Dave [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #3
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    RI/Vt
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 Xtra Cab
    Got a 2nd opinion, basically said the same thing.

    Tried to remove the temp sensor to test it but was unable to get a socket on it. It's in such a bad place and the socket wouldn't clear the block.

    Might have to actually pay someone to do it.
     
To Top