1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2006 Mustang Electrical Drain Issue - Assistance Appreciated

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by tirediron, Sep 4, 2019.

1. Sep 4, 2019 at 5:52 PM
    tirediron

tirediron [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    John
    Victoria, BC< Canada
    Vehicle:
    2022 4x4 Sport, Auto, BCM
    Odd (to me; full disclosure: I'm a pretty fair shade-tree mechanic, but modern, computer-controlled electronics are NOT my strong suit!) issue with my wife's 2006 V6 4l mustang. It doesn't get used a lot in the summer and can sit for 2-3 weeks without even being started... The other day, went to use it, dead.... checked the battery, 2 volts, charged it, load-banked it and it failed... it was five years old, not a huge surprise. Replaced with a brand-new good quality battery... sat for two weeks while out of town, and.... dead; down to 3.5 volts.

Charged it and it started fine. Put the ammeter on it, and there's an initial draw of around 1.25 amps, which after 30 seconds or so reduces to a continuous draw of .1 amp. That seems high for a car "at rest, even a modern one.

I've physically disconnected all after-market accessories (only two) and the draw is still present. So... any thoughts? I know how to localize the issue, but time is short for the next few weeks, and I'm hoping that someone out here is TW land could give me some suggestions (on the electrical problem.... I get all of the other kind I need already!).

Thanks!

bigmw likes this.
  2. Sep 4, 2019 at 6:56 PM
    rtzx9r

rtzx9r Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Bueller
    Vehicle: