1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2007 Tacoma Rust / Frame Replacement Help

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Brentthevolunteer, Jul 2, 2020.

1. Jul 2, 2020 at 8:45 AM
    Brentthevolunteer

Brentthevolunteer [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Brent
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    2002 DCSB SR5 4x4
    Hey y'all, I'm brand new to Tacoma World as I'm looking to purchase my first Tacoma and looking to build my knowledge on what to look for when shopping, especially in the frame replacement/refurb department. I'm looking at a 2007 Tacoma 4x4 with 230k miles and the dealer sent me some picks of the undercarriage and stated the frame had been replaced. I know this falls in the 2nd gen frame recall window but the dealer has not specified if the repair was done through the Toyota factory recall process. The CarFax does not report any accidents, but the vehicle was purchased by the dealership at auction a year and a half after the second owner purchased it. Is something fishy here?

However, it looks like there's some suspect welds that don't appear on original OEM frames at the crossmembers behind the front axle; this is based on very quick research I did looking at pictures of 2007 OEM frames that don't seem to have welds where this frame dones. It also appears that the frame has some replacement/ID stickering that is different than the rest of the frame.

Photos are attached, please help me, what do I need to train my eye to see when inspecting Taco undercarriages.

Thanks!

image0.jpg
    image1.jpg
    image2.jpg
    image3.jpg
    image4.jpg

Last edited: Jul 2, 2020