1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2012 Stereo Upgrade

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by deanot, Aug 19, 2018.

  1. Aug 19, 2018 at 12:43 PM
    #1
    deanot

    deanot [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Member:
    #263349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    So, my wife got a 2012 base model Tacoma given to her. She wants me to upgrade the stereo in it to something better with a rear camera.

    Long story short, I bought a Kenwood head unit and a Kenwood camera, dash surround and a cable connector for it that is meant to fit.... MEANT TO being the key word.

    The connector does not fit, it is a Harmony HA-701761 cable, one connector fits and the other does not.

    I have read some of these may have a JBL type system and an Amp? I looked everywhere for the AMP and can only find a small black box no bigger than a SSD under the passenger seat within close proximity to the Airbag cables. I don't think this is the Amp, seems very small if it is.

    The vehicle is only a 2 door base model as stated.

    Can anyone advise on something I need to get this working please?
     
  2. Aug 20, 2018 at 3:53 PM
    #2
    deanot

    deanot [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Member:
    #263349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Anyone?
     
  3. Aug 20, 2018 at 8:33 PM
    #3
    Purpleman

    Purpleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136093
    Messages:
    515
    Gender:
    Male
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    15 PreRunner
  4. Aug 21, 2018 at 2:54 PM
    #4
    deanot

    deanot [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Member:
    #263349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the reply...

    That cable is exactly like the one I bought, it is a non-fitter. I have looked everywhere for a possible amp, but can't find one. I presume the connector is pre-setup for one, I don't know...

    I will post a picture of the plugs I have in the truck
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2018
  5. Aug 21, 2018 at 3:09 PM
    #5
    deanot

    deanot [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Member:
    #263349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Some more info I just discovered, even though this is a two door base model, it has tweeters at the top of the door which are functional. So either there is a cross over in the door panels, or the headunit outputs to either an illusive amp or direct to the tweeters and 6x9s... Never seen a headunit do this before, well not in the days of my install times.. lol
     
  6. Aug 21, 2018 at 4:15 PM
    #6
    deanot

    deanot [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Member:
    #263349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
  7. Aug 21, 2018 at 6:14 PM
    #7
    Purpleman

    Purpleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136093
    Messages:
    515
    Gender:
    Male
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    15 PreRunner
    The plug to the far right might be steering wheel controls.

    The plug in the middle of your pic should work with the larger harness in the pack you purchased(smaller one is for rear speakers which you don't have).
     
  8. Aug 25, 2018 at 3:51 PM
    #8
    deanot

    deanot [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Member:
    #263349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Well, I just got around to trying the install again, connector is a no go, it does not fit! ARRRRGGGGGG.

    So I am going to share more pictures in hopes someone can at least get me a pin out, I will remove the connectors leaving enough length to reinstall when I sell the vehicle many years from now.

    IMG_3617[1].jpg IMG_3618[1].jpg IMG_3621[1].jpg IMG_3609[1].jpg
     
  9. Aug 25, 2018 at 11:14 PM
    #9
    Purpleman

    Purpleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136093
    Messages:
    515
    Gender:
    Male
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    15 PreRunner
    Post a pic of the harmony harness.

    Does your truck have steering wheel controls?
     
  10. Aug 26, 2018 at 4:28 AM
    #10
    deanot

    deanot [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Member:
    #263349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    No, it has no controls on the steering, I will get you a pic of the harness shortly. The 20 pin plug is way too big, I will hold them side by side so you can see. Here is a default stock image from the manufacturer for now..amazon.jpg
     
  11. Aug 26, 2018 at 5:02 AM
    #11
    deanot

    deanot [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Member:
    #263349
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Here are the connectors both together..

    From what I can see, the power is on the smaller connector to the left of this connector. I have seen 12v and ign side by side and do not meet up with the new connector.
    IMG_3624[1].jpg IMG_3625[1].jpg
     
  12. Aug 26, 2018 at 3:30 PM
    #12
    Purpleman

    Purpleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136093
    Messages:
    515
    Gender:
    Male
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    15 PreRunner
    The Harness in the middle (of the pic with the 3 vehicle harness's), is the one that you should be plugging the harmony harness into. That harness gives you ground, constant power, accessory power and front speakers.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top