1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2013 tacoma radio problems

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by RUSSELLTACO, Dec 5, 2019.

  1. Dec 5, 2019 at 7:20 AM
    #1
    RUSSELLTACO

    RUSSELLTACO [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Member:
    #210323
    Messages:
    669
    Gender:
    Male
    Blacksburg Va
    Vehicle:
    silver shitbox
    bolt ons and autozone decals
    I recently lost all sound to my speakers in my 2013 stock radio setup. Im assuming that the amp is blown in the headunit itself. I have checked the fuses I have also disconnected ground drained the power from the system and reconnected to try and reset the system. The radio was working fine yesterday morning but when i got back into my truck to drive it home i had no sound at all. The radio still functions fine it can find radio stations it shows that its playing songs off my phone.

    My main question is would i be able to directly swap out my 2013 tacoma head unit (non JBL) to a 2012 jbl unit? Or would there be more work involved with that?

    My funds are fairly limited. I could purchase the oem replacement online for 400 but not only would that be a stretch, but i feel like i could find something possibly a little better for the money possibly something with nav.

    Any additional information on the swap to the JBL or maybe a different head unit that might be better than what the oem one would be would be highly apreciated.

    Edit: if i buy an aftermarket head unit would i also need to buy an amp?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2019
  2. Dec 5, 2019 at 7:28 AM
    #2
    12TRDTacoma

    12TRDTacoma Powered by Ford, GM, VW, and Mercedes

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85133
    Messages:
    14,384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Concordia
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4 Supercharged
    Boosted
    If you have non JBL you cannot swap over to JBL as there is a lot more circuitry and wiring in order to make the JBL setup what it is, including the external amp and subwoofer setup which goes in the back.

    If you have a non JBL setup that actually makes life easier and I suggest swapping to an aftermarket. It would be much cheaper and this is the perfect opportunity for you to capitalize on obtaining better sound clarity and quality.
     
    RUSSELLTACO [OP] likes this.
  3. Dec 5, 2019 at 7:31 AM
    #3
    RUSSELLTACO

    RUSSELLTACO [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Member:
    #210323
    Messages:
    669
    Gender:
    Male
    Blacksburg Va
    Vehicle:
    silver shitbox
    bolt ons and autozone decals
    https://www.crutchfield.com/p_104BVCP968/Boss-BVCP9685A.html

    I was looking at this one. I know its not a big name brand, but I do like the apple phone mirroring option which means i could use my apps like waze and what not on them. Then i would just need to buy the bezel and adapting harnesses for the steering wheel controls correct? I just bought skids over black friday so my play funds are pretty low, ebay wants 400 for a stock radio so if i can find something better for under or maybe slightly over in total id be happy with it.
     
  4. Dec 5, 2019 at 7:52 AM
    #4
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,864
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    BOSS gives me nothing but problems in my shop. The radios are cheap for a reason. Stick with pioneer/Kenwood/Sony/alpine

    don’t be completely convinced it’s the radio just yet.
    Swing by your local Bestbuy or audio shop and grab a 70-1761 harness (if you swap the radio, you’ll need it anyway)
    Pull out the factory radio, grab a 9v battery, plug in the harness you bought (while ensuring the yellow wire is capped off or taped up) and tap your 4 speaker wire pairs to the battery to see if they all pop.

    I’ve learned from experience that as strange as it sounds, all the speakers absolutely can go out at once. No use buying a new radio and parts if it’s not actually the radio. Been there done that and it’s a pain to explain to clients that they just spent a chunk of change for no reason.
     
    12TRDTacoma and RUSSELLTACO [OP] like this.
  5. Dec 5, 2019 at 7:59 AM
    #5
    RUSSELLTACO

    RUSSELLTACO [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Member:
    #210323
    Messages:
    669
    Gender:
    Male
    Blacksburg Va
    Vehicle:
    silver shitbox
    bolt ons and autozone decals

    I will try that before i pull the trigger on a head unit

    I found this one
    https://www.crutchfield.com/p_130DM1500/Pioneer-DMH-1500NEX.html

    I think that will be what i go with if i do, will i need to buy an amp?
     
  6. Dec 5, 2019 at 9:55 AM
    #6
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,864
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Not at all. Most aftermarket radios (at least the good ones) will put out quite a bit more power than the factory radio, so you should notice a good bit more volume and clarity, as well as more EQ settings than the factory radio
     
  7. Dec 5, 2019 at 10:26 AM
    #7
    12TRDTacoma

    12TRDTacoma Powered by Ford, GM, VW, and Mercedes

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85133
    Messages:
    14,384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Concordia
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4 Supercharged
    Boosted
    Pioneer is always a good choice. I would do that before BOSS. I have never personally liked BOSS and that's because I feel that their product is untrustworthy as far as reliability goes.
     
  8. Dec 5, 2019 at 11:52 AM
    #8
    RUSSELLTACO

    RUSSELLTACO [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Member:
    #210323
    Messages:
    669
    Gender:
    Male
    Blacksburg Va
    Vehicle:
    silver shitbox
    bolt ons and autozone decals
    So I’ve talked to crutchfield today, and they say that with my symptoms it could be a bad output on the head unit or my amp is bad. They said I’d be able to directly bypass the amp and hard wire to my speakers. Does this sound correct? What would the point of the amp be if it can just be bypassed.
     
  9. Dec 5, 2019 at 12:19 PM
    #9
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,864
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Well if you don’t have the JBL system, there’s not an amp that can be bypassed

    JBL - powered by amp mounted by the sub against back wall
    Non-JBL - powered by radio itself

    for the JBL system, the radio doesn’t even output power on its own so you wouldn’t be able to bypass the amp because the radio isn’t outputting speaker power

    hopefully that makes sense
     
    RUSSELLTACO [OP] likes this.
  10. Dec 5, 2019 at 12:22 PM
    #10
    RUSSELLTACO

    RUSSELLTACO [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Member:
    #210323
    Messages:
    669
    Gender:
    Male
    Blacksburg Va
    Vehicle:
    silver shitbox
    bolt ons and autozone decals
    Okay i was under the impression i had no amp in the first place. The guy said he looked up the system and an amp was showing up. So I’ll go ahead and test the speakers and then move forward with the pioneer head unit if needed.Thanks for all the help!
     

Products Discussed in

To Top