1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2013 Tacoma w/jbl&entune turns off then on by itself!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by tacomalimited, Apr 26, 2013.

  1. Apr 26, 2013 at 3:54 PM
    #1
    tacomalimited

    tacomalimited [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Member:
    #94500
    Messages:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2013 tacoma limited double cab long bed 4x4.
    Anyone else have a problem with their stock stereo /nav with entune turning off by itself, then back on again??!!??
     
  2. Apr 26, 2013 at 4:45 PM
    #2
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    11,637
    Gender:
    Male
    This issues is getting more and more common. I think you are the 3rd or 4th person I've seen with this issue. Wonder if there is a firmware update or something that can be applied. I've also heard of people saying it just changes radio stations at random as well.
     
  3. Apr 27, 2013 at 1:33 PM
    #3
    VoyageTacoma

    VoyageTacoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Member:
    #94173
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4x4 TRS Sport
    Same exact problem here with my stereo.

    I will be driving down the road listening to a song when the unit suddenly kicks off. The screen goes black, and then you see the Toyota logo from it booting up again.

    I got a major run around from the dealer today saying they had to "know" what the problem was.

    I had a feeling that replacing the radio would render the same issue.

    It could be a line of code, or a bluetooth problem, or a power problem, I don't know. I know that they kinda shrug their shoulders like "sorry, we can't really help you."

    I am glad to see there's this thread. My car is brand new (6 months) and I think that this is unacceptable.

    It doesn't appear that replacing the radio with a new one is going to fix this problem.

    Hmmm... really unfortunate. I can imagine getting a new stereo at some point in the future because it doesn't seem like Toyota is gonna be able to get this thing fixed.

    I am hoping the dealer follows through like they said they would and sees if there's a firmware upgrade or something.

    It is not acceptable. I was comparing my experience with Apple for the products I have under warranty. Apple in comparison for me has moved mountains to make things right no matter what. Toyota makes great products and they should stand behind them too.

    I will keep an eye here for updates.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2013
  4. Apr 27, 2013 at 1:38 PM
    #4
    VoyageTacoma

    VoyageTacoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Member:
    #94173
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4x4 TRS Sport
    (I would like to know if and how you got this problem resolved)
     
  5. Apr 28, 2013 at 3:34 PM
    #5
    VoyageTacoma

    VoyageTacoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Member:
    #94173
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4x4 TRS Sport
    One more thing, when you get back to this, cool...

    Can you describe when this happens?

    For me, I think so far it has been when I am using bluetooth. Can you corroborate this experience?

    Does your radio shut off under any other circumstances? Using regular radio? Or Satellite? Or while playing a cd?
     
  6. Apr 28, 2013 at 3:49 PM
    #6
    Guerrilla

    Guerrilla Smurf it.

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Member:
    #102807
    Messages:
    2,967
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    00
    Coast to Coast
    Vehicle:
    El' Black 13 DCSB 4x4
    Yosemite Sam "Back Off" Mud Flaps, Flint Sparkle Curb Protectors , Persian Rug floor liners, Salt water crocodile skin seat covers "with head on head rest, that's battery operated and shakes side to side when you sit down (Like it's tearing your head off) Also piece of the tail on passenger side seat that flops back n forth controled via an old Atari joystick mounted on the console (for the ladies) " All four Flipper claw feet remain on skin (one set at your shoulders other at waist and cradle hug you into the seat buckets, Three Diamond stitched Silk Snow Leopard print throw pillows from Bangladesh , Chameleon Glitter tint and more to come, so check back for updates.
    Sounds like a poltergeist riding around with you guys, try burning some sagebrush in your cab for a thorough cleansing.
     
  7. May 3, 2013 at 6:34 AM
    #7
    VoyageTacoma

    VoyageTacoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Member:
    #94173
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4x4 TRS Sport
    The dealership has said they will put a new radio in my car. I will keep you guys informed/posted.
     
  8. May 4, 2013 at 11:04 PM
    #8
    tacomalimited

    tacomalimited [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Member:
    #94500
    Messages:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2013 tacoma limited double cab long bed 4x4.
    It's mostly during blue tooth, but, if has happened during navigation once.
     
  9. May 22, 2013 at 12:26 PM
    #9
    wolfgang

    wolfgang Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Member:
    #32173
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    south USA
    Vehicle:
    12 4 door prerunner
    Air Intake system
    Yes, changes stations by itself also. The nav. system is a subject all by itself, it's just awful on all levels, entry of dest. manually or with voice input is a joke.
     
  10. May 23, 2013 at 4:51 AM
    #10
    VoyageTacoma

    VoyageTacoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Member:
    #94173
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4x4 TRS Sport
    Toyota replaced my entire radio deck last week and so far I haven't had any problems.

    Still, it took a while for the first problem to occur with the first radio. I'll keep you posted over the summer and winter if I have a reoccurrence.

    If your radio is still under warranty, I suggest you try to get Toyota to replace it.
     
  11. May 25, 2013 at 4:31 PM
    #11
    casahac

    casahac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Member:
    #102612
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Tollhouse, CA
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD PreRunner Double Cab w/JBL
    I've been having similar problems with my 2013 Double Cab w/JBL. About the only thing I use on the system is the iPod.

    The day I drove it off the lot it started by "skipping" once in a while where the music would stop and then restart. That degenerated to where the system would freeze up completely and the only way to get it back on line was to stop the vehicle, turn off the ignition, wait a few seconds, then restart. Sometimes I also had to reboot the iPod. At first I thought my iPod was dying, but then I realized that I never have that problem when the iPod is in my Ford F-150.

    I checked it out by using more than one iPod and more than one power cable and am certain that the problem is in the Tacoma. I presented this to the dealer when I took it in for the first service. They reformatted the hard drive and installed the latest software but the problem was not resolved. Now the dealer is trying to get Toyota to send them a new unit to install. It's been in the shop for over a week now.

    I'm not optimistic that this will fix the problem because I've noticed that the Camry they loaned me has an even worse problem with the iPod skipping A LOT. Still no problems when I play the iPod through the cheap Sony unit in my F-150.

    I'm at the point now that whenever I have a problem, I note the mileage and exact nature of the issue and present that to the dealer when I take it in. We spent an extra $2K to get a good sound system and that's what I want. (I see that Kenwood is partnered with Garmin......wonder if they plan on making a kit to adapt THAT one for the JBL system?)
     
  12. May 29, 2013 at 6:40 PM
    #12
    mwc273

    mwc273 NRA Endowment - Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Member:
    #103900
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    Blacked out '13 DCLB 4X4
    TRD Exhaust, TRD Air Filter, 2nd (charcoal) Air Filter Mod, BFG AT/TAs, Black TRD Offroad Wheels, Debadged, Deflapped, Foglight mod, Map light mod, In Track Vent Visors, Leer Cap, 1/2TB Flash Drive, Kenwood TS50 Transciever with MARS mod and antenna tuner.
    I has issues with IPOD playback as well. But have had no problems at all with my USB stick.
     
  13. Jun 5, 2013 at 12:32 AM
    #13
    shad951

    shad951 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Member:
    #91110
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    My 2012 JBL/Entune has had issues from day one. My iPod skips horribly. I had this same iPod in 3 prior BMW's and never skipped 1 time. I had to fight with the dealership to get them to replace the radio. New radio installed 3 days ago. iPod still skipping UGH!!! This radio is a POS
     
  14. Jun 5, 2013 at 1:02 AM
    #14
    MGMTacolover55

    MGMTacolover55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Member:
    #96545
    Messages:
    3,883
    Gender:
    Male
    Orygun
    Vehicle:
    2013 MGM Taco TRD Off Road
    floor Mats
    Weird mine does not have any of these issues
     
  15. Jun 5, 2013 at 2:19 PM
    #15
    casahac

    casahac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Member:
    #102612
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Tollhouse, CA
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD PreRunner Double Cab w/JBL
    I have meticulously documented the issues with my Tacoma and the iPod.

    Every time it malfunctioned, I documented the miles on the vehicle and noted in detail the problem and what I had to do to correct the problem. Toyota's first corrective action was to reformat and reinstall the latest software. That changed nothing. The last time, they installed a new USB port. So far, the defect has not re-occurred, but I only have about 40 miles on it since it came out of the shop and it was sometimes going over 100 miles between events, so I'm a long way from determining that the issue is resolved.

    If need be, I'll put a camcorder in the back and video the display on the unit until it malfunctions. I paid big bucks for a good sound system and I expect it to function properly.

    Will post another update if it fails again or after I've put a decent number of miles on it.

    Cheers.
     
  16. Jun 17, 2013 at 5:21 AM
    #16
    VoyageTacoma

    VoyageTacoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Member:
    #94173
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4x4 TRS Sport
    The battle for this issue was about how the dealer claimed they had to witness the problem occur themselves.

    I proceeded to argue with them a long time over this and asked if they plan on driving my car around for a few days until they see it happen.

    I had to argue with a series of managers. Each one put up such a wall that it was unbelievable.

    My argument was solid. I had a defective radio and I wanted the same radio BUT working. They went on FOREVER about how they would have to witness the problem. I kept repeating that they would have to drive around in my car for days, so how were they ever going to find out?

    In the end, they replaced my radio, but not without my having to battle with three different people who sounded like broken record employees.

    I also kept referring to how apple in contrast would bend over backwards for me to fix something that's not right. I'm not kissing apple's butt, I'm saying rather that Toyota is a quality product and they need to stand behind it.

    I kept telling them they need to stand behind their product and they said that they do, but I said to them if you're not replacing my radio, you're not standing behind the product.

    I pointed out how this car costs $35,000 and there's a clear problem they tried extremely hard to get me just to go away about.

    I was borderline yelling because they're whole position was to deny that they could do anything since they didn't witness the problem.

    I have a habit of pushing people hard over such things and it paid off. However, it was waaaaay to hard to get them to relent to fix this obvious problem.

    Over a month with the new radio and I have no issues thus far.

    My truck is seemingly perfect now. I love it but the Toyota customer service leaves something major to be desired.

    I don't believe customers should be the end testers for the products they're paying for.

    The ineptitude I've had to go through just to get the problem acknowledged and addressed is way beyond reasonable.
     
  17. Jun 17, 2013 at 5:38 AM
    #17
    totmacher

    totmacher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Member:
    #22430
    Messages:
    720
    Gender:
    Male
    TN (memphis mostly)
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner Access Cab TRD Sport
    BHLM, Flowmaster 50 series, TRD CAI, Hoen all weather fog bulbs, window tint, LED interior lights (cupholder & floor), exterior LED courtesy lights. OME/Dakar lift. 50W reverse lights. Painted wheels.
    Not a new issue.
    I have 2005 with basic cd player. Since 2007 it sometimes starts scanning up and down on fm radio before stopping on static. Only once or twice per month. Dealer would never acknowledge a problem. I just ignore it since I just dial it back to a station. Still works except this random thing.
     
  18. Aug 22, 2013 at 1:43 PM
    #18
    VoyageTacoma

    VoyageTacoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Member:
    #94173
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4x4 TRS Sport
    After a couple months with my new radio, it is experiencing the same error with resetting as before.

    I'm not so happy because they're not going to be able to fix it.

    Not sure what to do. I'm gonna have to tell them that the exact same problem is the exact same problem. I've had to literally argue with them to get them to do their job.

    Bummer.
     
  19. Aug 23, 2013 at 5:44 PM
    #19
    casahac

    casahac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Member:
    #102612
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Tollhouse, CA
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD PreRunner Double Cab w/JBL
    After a lot of research, I bought a 32 GB memory stick and loaded it up with music and have been using that instead of the iPod. I've not had any recurrence of the issues, but don't have enough miles on it to know for sure if it's fixed. In any case, it's working better with the stick than it did with the iPod so at the very least there's an interface issue with the iPod. I've run the same iPod for years in my F-150 with NO interface issues. When using the stick it sometimes shows an "unknown" for song titles that are shown in iTunes but I think I can fix that through iTunes or with TuneUp.

    In any case, it's a lot cheaper to have the memory stick at risk in the vehicle than the iPod.

    Cheers.
     
  20. Aug 24, 2013 at 7:35 AM
    #20
    Nicely1

    Nicely1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Member:
    #111059
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Just got my 2013 double cab with JBL radio two weeks ago. well, This radio has been a huge PITA.... Random reboots, ipod function screen became unresponsive twice and it takes a series of actions sometimes to get the radio to recognize the iPhone for internet connection. Have to cut the truck off and back on, and restart the entune app on the phone. No particular series of actions works the same every time. We were going out of town, and spent twenty minutes waiting for the phone and radio to connect. My first tacoma, and i love it, but this radio is awful.... Just started the process with the dealership this morning after finding this thread. Glad you guys are posting about these things;)
     
To Top