1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2015 audio upgrade

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Heshman85, Jun 8, 2017.

  1. Jun 8, 2017 at 7:03 AM
    #1
    Heshman85

    Heshman85 [OP] Yota

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159032
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2015 Blue Tacoma TRD Sport DCLB
    I blew 2 of my speakers on my tacoma and am looking to do an audio upgrade.

    Anybody know if i shouls swap the headunit as well our can i just install an amplifier instead. I haven't taken the dash apart tho take a look if there is anything from the factory headunit preventing me from doing upgrades.

    I know my old 4Runner needed a new unit but the stock one in the Tacoma is pretty nice.

    TIA
     
  2. Jun 8, 2017 at 7:05 AM
    #2
    Chase8059

    Chase8059 Kinda Well-Known

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Member:
    #156733
    Messages:
    2,972
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chase
    ESVA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB TRD Sport | Super White
    OME 887, JBA UCAs, 1.5 AAL, Fox 2.0 RR w CD adj., SCS SR8s Gunmetal, Falken AT3/W 265/70r17
    Subd for answers.

    Do you have the factory Entune Touch Screen w/o JBL?
     
  3. Jun 8, 2017 at 7:16 AM
    #3
    Heshman85

    Heshman85 [OP] Yota

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159032
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2015 Blue Tacoma TRD Sport DCLB
    I believe so. It was an audio upgrade (entune sounds very familiar) when i first bought it but no jbl

    20170608_101450.jpg
     
  4. Jun 8, 2017 at 7:18 AM
    #4
    Chase8059

    Chase8059 Kinda Well-Known

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Member:
    #156733
    Messages:
    2,972
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chase
    ESVA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB TRD Sport | Super White
    OME 887, JBA UCAs, 1.5 AAL, Fox 2.0 RR w CD adj., SCS SR8s Gunmetal, Falken AT3/W 265/70r17
    Gotcha, I have the same but with Nav. The factory stereo definitely lacks power especially when your on the highway with the windows down. You need the extra power to overcome the cyclone that occurs in the cab lol
     
  5. Jun 8, 2017 at 7:26 AM
    #5
    Heshman85

    Heshman85 [OP] Yota

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159032
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2015 Blue Tacoma TRD Sport DCLB
    Yeah. I'm looking at Pioneer because that's what I'm used to. They were good quality. Now i just need to fond a good headunit. Do you know if i can connect an amp to the stock headunit?
     
  6. Jun 8, 2017 at 7:28 AM
    #6
    bvbull200

    bvbull200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Member:
    #187193
    Messages:
    3,814
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    DFW, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB SR5 Prerunner Texas Edition
    Fresh wiper fluid
    I'm sorting through some other issues right now (mostly an ill-fitting sub enclosure), so I don't have the equipment in at the moment, but before I took it back apart, I was running upgraded front door speakers off an amp and a 10" sub off of its own amp. Both had their signal provided by the factory head unit via an AudioControl LCi2.

    It sounded great, I thought. Can't wait to get it back together.
     
  7. Jun 8, 2017 at 7:33 AM
    #7
    Chase8059

    Chase8059 Kinda Well-Known

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Member:
    #156733
    Messages:
    2,972
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chase
    ESVA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB TRD Sport | Super White
    OME 887, JBA UCAs, 1.5 AAL, Fox 2.0 RR w CD adj., SCS SR8s Gunmetal, Falken AT3/W 265/70r17
    In previous trucks I've used JVC and Sony HU's with good luck. I would want to keep my factory HU on my Taco though. I also need to find a way to fit my old 12in sub somewhere :D

    I'm sure you could use a lineout adapter (I think that's what they are called). They tap into your rear speaker wires and give you RCA jack's to hook an amp to.


    I'm going to look into what was mentioned above
     
  8. Jun 8, 2017 at 9:26 AM
    #8
    bvbull200

    bvbull200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Member:
    #187193
    Messages:
    3,814
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    DFW, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB SR5 Prerunner Texas Edition
    Fresh wiper fluid
    The AudioControl LC2i and LC7i seem to be the most recommended line-out converters. I went with the former as I just wanted a 2-channel and a monoblock amp to get signal. If going with a 4 or 5 channel amp with or without an additional monoblock for a sub, you'll want to go with the LC7i. The Accubass feature will help, some, with the bass rolloff from the factory headunit at higher volumes.

    The signal from the headunit still isn't the greatest, but it'll suffice. I'm sure there are worthwhile gains to be had in sound quality by going with an aftermarket headunit. Just have to decide how important the factory look/function is to you (high priority for me).
     
    Chase8059 likes this.
  9. Jun 8, 2017 at 11:03 AM
    #9
    81shark

    81shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10567
    Messages:
    3,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Base Access CP1
    yes you can connect an amp to a factory head unit. you'll need an adapter to connect the speaker wire outs to the rca cables for the amp. imo, just replace the head unit with after market.
     
  10. Jun 8, 2017 at 2:37 PM
    #10
    TA 4

    TA 4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Member:
    #160810
    Messages:
    141
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2015 SSM Taco access 4x4 2.7
    Cruisin offroad bumper, RCI front skid, Bakflip Tonneau Cover, Westin Running Boards, door molding, Blazer Led lights, Bed Lights, DIY Bed/rear cab mats, 3M Clear Bra (Hood and Fenders), Husky front floor mats, re diff relocated, Coverking seat covers
    I have the stock entune that comes with the SR5. I myself was looking at upgrading the HU, but here in Canada to upgrade to something decent in a touch screen will run you 600-800$ (You'll need expensive adapters lol)

    So myself with a small budget, I upgraded the speakers which did provide a bit better sound stage, then I added an amp for the new speakers and wow. This stereo sounds pretty decent now, maybe down the road I'll replace the HU, if I do the lines are already run for the amp so 1/2 the work is done

    Best of all it looks all stock, so less chance is being ripped off vs having a new shiny HU hahaha
     
    bvbull200 likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top