1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2019 SR radio upgrade

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by imv02, Mar 8, 2020.

  1. Mar 8, 2020 at 9:43 PM
    #1
    imv02

    imv02 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2020
    Member:
    #321634
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    William
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma SR
    I have a 2019 tacoma SR which comes with a very basic "info-tainment" system while the higher trims have the entune reciever (including nav, apps, weather, apple car play, etc.) I am looking to put the upgraded entune into my tacoma (im aware of the need for a 7in trim piece to compensate for the increase of size of the receiver) ive found them online for upwards of $1400, any suggestions?
     
  2. Mar 8, 2020 at 9:58 PM
    #2
    bigmace

    bigmace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Member:
    #318931
    Messages:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Salem, OR
    Just buy an aftermarket head unit with Android auto / apple car play.
     
    Boghog1, Keegs and imv02 [OP] like this.
  3. Mar 8, 2020 at 10:01 PM
    #3
    imv02

    imv02 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2020
    Member:
    #321634
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    William
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma SR
    I have considered that without a doubt. just liked the idea of OEM look and easy installation (plug+play) however long run it would be cheaper to buy an aftermarket head unit... decisions decisions
     
  4. Mar 8, 2020 at 10:27 PM
    #4
    Apd

    Apd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Member:
    #164449
    Messages:
    198
    707
    mallege likes this.
  5. Mar 8, 2020 at 11:10 PM
    #5
    mjc251

    mjc251 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Member:
    #216040
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Off-Road DCSB
    If you want to retain the OEM look, then OEM is the route to go. However, if you want more functionality and better value, do an aftermarket radio. Just remember you get what you pay for so I would recommend sticking with the big brands (Kenwood, Pioneer Alpine) I am very partial to Kenwood Excelon, (my shop installs probably 90% Kenwood Excelon units, 5% Kenwood, and 5% Alpine).
     
  6. Mar 8, 2020 at 11:15 PM
    #6
    mallege

    mallege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2020
    Member:
    #315415
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    SW Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma SR Gray SB Auto V6
    Extang tonneau cover, variable speed wiper stalk, hood struts, ScangaugeII.
    I am in the same boat. Just curious what kind of price range are we talking about for the Kenwood Excelon or a comparable Alpine and what enhance events do things upgrades bring? Thanks in advance!!
     
  7. Mar 8, 2020 at 11:36 PM
    #7
    mjc251

    mjc251 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Member:
    #216040
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Off-Road DCSB
    You're about $250 in parts (the maestro RR is the bulk of that). That's the goto interface for steering wheel controls, and stuff that the factory head unit displays/controls on the 3rd gens. Whether you buy a $350 Kenwood Excelon or a $1000+ unit, you still need those parts.

    Kenwood Excelon 2-Dins with CarPlay/Android Auto range from $350 to about $1200 I think. More money more features. Personally the two I like in terms of value are the DMX906S (mechless no CD, wireless car play/android auto, BT audio/calls, HD Radio) I think retail on that is $450. Couple of steps up on that would be the DDX9906 (everything the DMX906S has + CDs and an HD screen), that's $700 I think. The next step up from that adds a built in Garmin Nav (it's nice, but debatable as to whether or not its worth it). I will be putting a DDX9906 or the DDX9907 by the time I actually get around to it in my commuter car FYI.

    I'm not too familiar with the Alpine line up, but they are similarly priced. But if you want to go big table style, Alpine is currently the only one that has a decent one (although I still don't like them personally) Check out the ILX-F309TCM the Alpine Halo-9. If this is your style, wait till summer, Kenwood is releasing one this style and I'm kinda hyped about it.

    The short story: $700 (less than half an OEM setup) you will have WIRELESS Apple CarPlay/Android Auto, but no CD.
     
    Hawkeye1864 and mallege like this.
  8. Mar 9, 2020 at 3:44 AM
    #8
    GreyBaldTaco

    GreyBaldTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Member:
    #286065
    Messages:
    4,146
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 F150 5.0
    You can pick up a used entune unit for about 300 bucks plus another 200ish for the trim piece from Toyota. I did this with my sr5.
     
    Tocamo and Dave3359 like this.
  9. Mar 9, 2020 at 6:12 AM
    #9
    Hawkeye1864

    Hawkeye1864 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Member:
    #316910
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Blue Ridge VA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma SR5 V6 DCLB
    If you haven’t already, check out Crutchfield’s website. They’ll show you what will fit in your rig, so you can then filter by make, features, etc. They also offer a range of installation accessory packages depending on the features you want. I’m looking to upgrade too, but not necessarily wedded to Entune.
     
  10. Mar 9, 2020 at 6:21 AM
    #10
    rblalliance

    rblalliance let the wookie win

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Member:
    #217208
    Messages:
    2,382
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    18 TRD OR DCSB 4X4
    Nice write up and thanks for the information
     
  11. Mar 9, 2020 at 7:19 AM
    #11
    drwx

    drwx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Member:
    #147640
    Messages:
    2,421
    Gender:
    Male
    M'boro, TN
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB TRD Offroad 4x4 BBP
    probably a dumb question, but when you replace the factory head unit with an aftermarket, do you lose the lines for the backup camera? I don't know if those are a function of the camera or the headunit.
     
  12. Mar 9, 2020 at 8:24 AM
    #12
    Hawkeye1864

    Hawkeye1864 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Member:
    #316910
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Blue Ridge VA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma SR5 V6 DCLB
    Not a dumb question. With some units yes, others no, as I was surprised to learn. One of the many things I liked about Crutchfield’s site was they identify which units support the backup camera.
     
  13. Mar 9, 2020 at 8:29 AM
    #13
    drwx

    drwx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Member:
    #147640
    Messages:
    2,421
    Gender:
    Male
    M'boro, TN
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB TRD Offroad 4x4 BBP

    so the camera generates the lines itself (or something between the camera and the headunit)? the reason I'm wondering is that i have a line in my garage floor that directly lines up with the middle line on the camera. I know that if I line up perfectly with that, that I won't hit anything in the garage and I'll be in the exact same spot every time.
     
  14. Mar 9, 2020 at 8:53 AM
    #14
    SSMTRDOR

    SSMTRDOR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2019
    Member:
    #311892
    Messages:
    330
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD OR 4X4
    Just FYI, the 2020 OEM head unit doesn't have a CD either. I was surprised my 2017 had one.
     
  15. Mar 9, 2020 at 8:53 AM
    #15
    mjc251

    mjc251 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Member:
    #216040
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Off-Road DCSB
    some vehicles it’s in the camera, some it’s in the radio. Most of the aftermarket ones do have the ability to display lines, and the Kenwood ones have the ability to adjust lines. So you might need to adjust them, but you won’t lose lines if you switch to aftermarket.
     
    Hawkeye1864 likes this.
  16. Mar 9, 2020 at 8:55 AM
    #16
    mjc251

    mjc251 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Member:
    #216040
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Off-Road DCSB
    I too was shocked my 17 had one. It’s about time they started getting phased out for more screen size.
     
    SSMTRDOR likes this.
  17. Mar 9, 2020 at 8:57 AM
    #17
    Hawkeye1864

    Hawkeye1864 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Member:
    #316910
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Blue Ridge VA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma SR5 V6 DCLB
    Sorry, I misread your question, which I can’t answer. I found that some after market units, even more expensive ones, don’t support a backup camera at all. The Sony unit I’m considering has inputs for 3 cameras, which is good because I want to add a front view, to help me with parking. D’oh!
     
  18. Mar 9, 2020 at 10:53 AM
    #18
    drwx

    drwx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Member:
    #147640
    Messages:
    2,421
    Gender:
    Male
    M'boro, TN
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB TRD Offroad 4x4 BBP

    ok cool. so i guess the question is, for someone who has swapped a headunit on a 3rd gen taco, did you maintain the original parking lines or get new ones with the new headunit that you had to adjust.
     
  19. Mar 9, 2020 at 11:20 AM
    #19
    mjc251

    mjc251 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Member:
    #216040
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Off-Road DCSB
    If the camera has the lines, I leave those as opposed to using the aftermarket ones. I forget what the 3rd gens do honestly. It’s been a year or so since I’ve done one. I still roll the factory HU on mine so i can even check.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top