1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

$20k and what to do with it

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by nathandex, May 14, 2011.

1. May 14, 2011 at 12:21 PM
    nathandex

nathandex [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    nathan
    illinois
    Vehicle:
    02 sr5
    Ok so I have a long sorta convoluted question.
    I have 20 thousand I am willing to spend on my vehicle situation...

I am a full time student (or will be soon) and a, what you could call, starving artist. My income (aside from savings which I don't want to touch) will only be around 800 dollars a month. After my bills this will leave me with about 300 dollars a month= I don't want to have a car payment.

I currently drive a 2002 Tacoma TRD with 160some thousand miles on it.
    My Options: (and I am looking for longevity and cash savings while still getting a little of what I want)

1. Keep my Tacoma and buy some extra goodies for it. Save what money is left over.(I just worry about my frame-it passed inspection when I was thinking it would not, and the high miles on it worry me as well)

2. Keep my Taco and buy a cheap efficient car or motorcycle. My prob here is keeping up on maintenance on 2 cars instead of one. And if I got a bike and my truck broke down during the winter it would be RLY cold lol.

3. Buy a newer 4 banger Taco (reg cab) with fewer miles and try to sell my 2002, problems and all. My big problem here is losing out on the money I will not make back from my current Taco.

Any opinions? Or options I didn't think of?

2. May 14, 2011 at 12:33 PM
    Bird

Bird Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Jay