1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2nd gen aftermarket and stock head units not powering

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Sansom4.0L, Apr 17, 2021.

  1. Apr 17, 2021 at 4:16 AM
    #1
    Sansom4.0L

    Sansom4.0L [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Member:
    #347130
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brody
    Vehicle:
    4.0l 4x4 14 Tacoma crew cab
    4 inch lift 33 ridge grapplers Rockford fosgate/alpine audio
  2. Apr 17, 2021 at 8:25 AM
    #2
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,425
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    How did you check the fuses?
    If just did a visual inspection then that doesn't show it is good or not. Hard to tell sometimes.

    Get a meter and check the fuses for continuity and the check for voltage at the stereo connector. Should be a Blue (Lavender) wire with a Yellow Strip on the factory harness. The Gray wire is for the ACC Position.

    If you have other things not working you should check that the shorting pin is inserted correctly in the under hood fuse box. It supplies power to the Radio #1 Fuse, Dome Light and the Body ECU.
    It isn't really a fuse but a disconnect used for long term storage to remove power from these always on circuits to prevent the battery from draining.
     
  3. Apr 17, 2021 at 8:35 AM
    #3
    12TRDTacoma

    12TRDTacoma Powered by Ford, GM, VW, and Mercedes

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85133
    Messages:
    14,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Concordia
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4 Supercharged
    Boosted
    That's because there are two radio fuses and one fuse which also powers it allowing you to turn it on. There is radio 1 and radio 2 fuses. Check for cigarette lighter power and if you don't have that replace that fuse as needed, as for some reason that circuit is tied to radio turn on as well. I don't remember what it is labeled, however.

    If you have a power probe, I would suggest checking every fuse. Even the interior ones.
     
  4. Apr 17, 2021 at 8:46 AM
    #4
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,425
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5




     
    12TRDTacoma likes this.
  5. Apr 17, 2021 at 8:49 AM
    #5
    12TRDTacoma

    12TRDTacoma Powered by Ford, GM, VW, and Mercedes

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85133
    Messages:
    14,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Concordia
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4 Supercharged
    Boosted
    That's right. I blew the accessory fuse somehow once. 7.5 amp.

    OP, as the schematic indicates, check Radio 1, Radio 2, and your ACC fuses.
     
  6. Apr 17, 2021 at 9:00 AM
    #6
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,425
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Radio # 2 only applies if you have a separate amplifier or a subwoofer.
     
  7. Apr 19, 2021 at 6:54 PM
    #7
    Sansom4.0L

    Sansom4.0L [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Member:
    #347130
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brody
    Vehicle:
    4.0l 4x4 14 Tacoma crew cab
    4 inch lift 33 ridge grapplers Rockford fosgate/alpine audio
    All set appreciate the help y’all.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top