1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2nd Gen Alpine Power Pack Amp Install Question.

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by MolonLabeTaco, May 21, 2018.

  1. May 21, 2018 at 1:10 PM
    #1
    MolonLabeTaco

    MolonLabeTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Member:
    #242953
    Messages:
    2,753
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dude
    N. Texas
    Vehicle:
    '12 DC 4x4 OR
    I'm using stock head unit (non-JBL, non-touchscreen) & will be adding:
    Polk DB6502 front components
    Polk 652 Rear 2-ways
    Alpine Power Pack Amp pushing the above speakers
    Kicker Hideaway Powered Sub
    I'm going to install in segments to see what makes the biggest difference, just for my own knowledge. I'll be installing the front components this week just running off the stock headunit.
    Since this amp is installed by cutting the stock speaker wires, running them to the input wires on the amp, then re-tapping the stock speaker wires on the output of the amp, my question on this amp is:
    will it fit in the dash near this stock headunit?
    I think that would be the cleanest way to tap into ALL the speaker wires @ one location.
    Or is there another location ALL front/rear speakers wires are ran besides right behind the headunit?
    Thanks!
     
  2. May 21, 2018 at 10:39 PM
    #2
    hemitruk

    hemitruk Old man , young boi truk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Member:
    #24461
    Messages:
    1,695
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2010 Dbl Cab Sport,
    A few
    Seen most people run them above glove box . Believe that's the closes to stereo you can mount .
    I got mine inside console besides shifter .
     
    MolonLabeTaco [OP] likes this.
  3. May 22, 2018 at 10:19 AM
    #3
    outxider

    outxider Never stop exploring.

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36858
    Messages:
    1,563
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sang
    East Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB 4x4
    A few mods here and there and counting....
    I ran the alpine power pack years ago and it was mounted above the glove box on a removable plastic panel with 3m double sided tape. Fits perfectly up there and out of sight within range of the headunit.
     
    MolonLabeTaco [OP] likes this.
  4. May 22, 2018 at 2:48 PM
    #4
    MolonLabeTaco

    MolonLabeTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Member:
    #242953
    Messages:
    2,753
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dude
    N. Texas
    Vehicle:
    '12 DC 4x4 OR
    To mount it there, do I still have to remove the headunit to get to left and right front/rear speaker wires? Thanks!
     
  5. May 22, 2018 at 3:03 PM
    #5
    outxider

    outxider Never stop exploring.

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36858
    Messages:
    1,563
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sang
    East Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB 4x4
    A few mods here and there and counting....
    You will have to remove the headunit regardless to access the wires and to run the power pack wires over. Its really easy to be honest.

     
    MolonLabeTaco [OP] likes this.
  6. May 22, 2018 at 3:09 PM
    #6
    MolonLabeTaco

    MolonLabeTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Member:
    #242953
    Messages:
    2,753
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dude
    N. Texas
    Vehicle:
    '12 DC 4x4 OR
    Thanks. Looks easy, just time consuming. The write-up I read on it says I have to start with the center console/arm rest and work forward removing everything. Seems a bit ridiculous to have to start back there. Is there not a way to just pop off the stereo surround and remove the radio?

    ***ETA***
    Found a much easier way to get headunit out. Now I need to research which wires to power the amp and how to hook up remote wire goes. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2018
  7. May 22, 2018 at 6:39 PM
    #7
    outxider

    outxider Never stop exploring.

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36858
    Messages:
    1,563
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sang
    East Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB 4x4
    A few mods here and there and counting....
    Yeah, you don't need to remove the center console to access the headunit. Just the hvac(held in by clips) and four 10mm bolts holding the headunit down. If anything, i would find a reverse harness so you can tap the wires off that instead of cutting/splicing into the oem set.
    For this you would use this: https://www.amazon.com/SCOSCHE-TA02...sr=8-1&keywords=tacoma+reverse+stereo+harness
    and this:
    https://www.amazon.com/Scosche-TA02...7039528&sr=1-1&keywords=tacoma+stereo+harness

    Connect those two together and you have a harness that you can do as you wish with.

     
    MolonLabeTaco [OP] likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top