1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2nd Gen Head Unit ?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Ken14, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. Nov 7, 2010 at 6:54 AM
    #1
    Ken14

    Ken14 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Member:
    #45331
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Speedway Blue
    Just finished installing a Kenwood KDC HD545U head unit in my 10 DC..with a Metra install kit...It appears that ithe unit is recessed some in the dash, and after viewing numerous ones on this site, it looks like that its about half are sunk in some and the rest are a bit more flush. Any suggestions? Unit appears secure in the dash.

    Thanks in advance.[​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2016
  2. Nov 7, 2010 at 7:14 AM
    #2
    Blackshirts

    Blackshirts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Member:
    #32057
    Messages:
    3,957
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner
    Headlight mod, sound system. MB Motor Sport Rims. Black Tails. 5100's, 885, grill craft, Fogs, N-Fab Step Sides. BFG TKO Tires, Wet Oks, LED map lights and dome, LED gauge mod
  3. Nov 7, 2010 at 8:09 AM
    #3
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    Be glad your Metra kit actually fit haha.
     
  4. Nov 7, 2010 at 9:58 AM
    #4
    jr114

    jr114 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Member:
    #26147
    Messages:
    1,176
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    Truck
    Icon Ext travel CO, Icon tubular uniball UCAs, Maxtrac Spindles, Icon RR rear w 2"aal.
    post some pics
     
  5. Nov 7, 2010 at 10:04 AM
    #5
    Ken14

    Ken14 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Member:
    #45331
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Speedway Blue
    Having trouble doing so....will keep trying [​IMG]
     
  6. Nov 7, 2010 at 1:30 PM
    #6
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    Looks good to me.
     
  7. Nov 7, 2010 at 3:20 PM
    #7
    Blackshirts

    Blackshirts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Member:
    #32057
    Messages:
    3,957
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner
    Headlight mod, sound system. MB Motor Sport Rims. Black Tails. 5100's, 885, grill craft, Fogs, N-Fab Step Sides. BFG TKO Tires, Wet Oks, LED map lights and dome, LED gauge mod
    I have the same deck.

    On the side of the unit there should be holes with screws set the head unit where you want it and screw it down to the console.. That is how mine was.
     
  8. Nov 7, 2010 at 4:04 PM
    #8
    Ken14

    Ken14 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Member:
    #45331
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Speedway Blue
    I installed the cage in the mounting bracket..the head unit snapped in place. Maybe I should pull it and check it out..
     
To Top