1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

3 way OEM switch for lightbar

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by medic7556, Mar 10, 2021.

  1. Mar 10, 2021 at 2:38 PM
    #1
    medic7556

    medic7556 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Member:
    #245318
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Blue Ridge, Ga
    Vehicle:
    17 MGM Tacoma SR5 4x4 DCSB
    I am about to install a 20 inch rough country dual row light bar with amber DRL. The lightbar comes with a round 3 way switch but I am wanting to use an OEM style 3 way switch. Any recommendations on a 3 way switch. If I cant find an OEM 3 way switch, can I use 2 OEM switches using one for the lightbar and one for the DRL. Anyone that has the black series rough country lightbar with DRL how did you wire it in? Thanks.
     
  2. Mar 13, 2021 at 11:33 AM
    #2
    swils

    swils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Member:
    #277125
    Messages:
    155
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2018 OR Blazing Blue, MT
    Looking for something similar, would be interested to hear/see what you end up going for
     
  3. Mar 13, 2021 at 4:58 PM
    #3
    ljh824

    ljh824 Regular Guy

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Member:
    #78409
    Messages:
    480
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lou
    Kabul, Afghanistan / Oviedo, Florida
    Vehicle:
    -21 AG Sport 4x4 DC
    Just did mine today, and wondering the same damn thing. Looking online everywhere, so I'm in for responses also.

    rough country led .jpg
    rough counry LED amber.jpg
     
  4. Mar 18, 2021 at 6:34 AM
    #4
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,915
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    https://www.anytimebackupcamera.com/collections/switches/products/a-b-light-switch-toyota
    Puppypunters idea hole
    The light bar instructions do not state any info on having both lamps ON, but the fact that they provide a either/or switch makes it obvious that the switch substituting theirs should be of same type. The switch on the links does not preform in such a way, but may be used as long as the operator is aware.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2021
    ljh824 and medic7556 [OP] like this.
  5. Mar 19, 2021 at 12:38 PM
    #5
    swils

    swils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Member:
    #277125
    Messages:
    155
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2018 OR Blazing Blue, MT
    This has potential. Now that one's got 4 plugs, the 3-way switch I've got only has 3 wires. Presumably one of them's for the backlight? I'm electronically illiterate and don't know how I'd plug the two together
     
  6. Mar 19, 2021 at 1:13 PM
    #6
    squarenone

    squarenone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Member:
    #254094
    Messages:
    247
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR 4x4 6sp-mt
  7. Apr 23, 2021 at 8:48 AM
    #7
    Toolndie7

    Toolndie7 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2021
    Member:
    #360924
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 Sport DCSB Cavalry Blue
    Im waiting on this same light. I was thinking toss the RC harness and use a single pole double throw relay would be the way to go. Tap into the running light circuit to turn on DRL, and use an OEM style switch. When switch is flipped it would automatically switch relay to turn off the DRL and switch on the LED if Im picturing this correctly.
     
  8. Apr 23, 2021 at 8:54 AM
    #8
    ljh824

    ljh824 Regular Guy

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Member:
    #78409
    Messages:
    480
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lou
    Kabul, Afghanistan / Oviedo, Florida
    Vehicle:
    -21 AG Sport 4x4 DC
    If you can figure this out, and actually make it work, adult beverage is on me!!
     
  9. Apr 23, 2021 at 8:58 AM
    #9
    TomTwo

    TomTwo I love God but I cuss a little

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108271
    Messages:
    11,839
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Middle of Nowhere
    Vehicle:
    Totaled 2012 TRD Sport, 2013 TRD Double Cab Sport
    Auxbeam light controller
     
  10. Apr 23, 2021 at 9:01 AM
    #10
    ljh824

    ljh824 Regular Guy

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Member:
    #78409
    Messages:
    480
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lou
    Kabul, Afghanistan / Oviedo, Florida
    Vehicle:
    -21 AG Sport 4x4 DC
    That is absolutely a possible solution. I think the question we're trying to solve on the Rough Country lights, is the integrated DRLs. With the wiring harness they provide, it's either the LEDs, or the DRLs. What we want to do, is tap into the existing DRLs in the headlights, and have the DRLs come on when they come on, and have the capability to turn on the actual LED bar with a separate switch. the Rough Country harness only has 3 wires. DRL, off, LED. you have to actively turn on the DRL. Last time I did that, i left them on all night.
     
    TomTwo likes this.
  11. Apr 23, 2021 at 9:06 AM
    #11
    medic7556

    medic7556 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Member:
    #245318
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Blue Ridge, Ga
    Vehicle:
    17 MGM Tacoma SR5 4x4 DCSB
    I use the below switch. I installed it on the left side of steering wheel below the cubby hole. It has 5 wires and the light bar has 3 if I remember correctly. Spliced them together. Ran the ground to a nut that secures the fuse box under the dash. Left the dash light wire disconnected since the light will remain on if connected directly to the battery. You can connected it to the ignition switch but that above my expertise. The way my buddy and I wired it up there is not back light on the button unless the buttons are switched on. Top button works the lightbar bottom works the DRL.

    Screenshot_20210414-141037_Amazon Shopping.jpg
     
    ljh824 likes this.
  12. Apr 23, 2021 at 10:03 AM
    #12
    Toolndie7

    Toolndie7 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2021
    Member:
    #360924
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 Sport DCSB Cavalry Blue
    Seems pretty straight forward. A regular single pole single throw relay that gets turned on by running lights, then that passes power onto the single pole double throw relay which will default to the lightbars DRL at rest and when energized by an OEM style switch will flip flop and turn on LED while DRL is off. When tail lights are off nothing works.
     
  13. Apr 23, 2021 at 10:19 AM
    #13
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,915
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
     
    Toolndie7 likes this.
  14. Apr 23, 2021 at 10:45 AM
    #14
    TomTwo

    TomTwo I love God but I cuss a little

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108271
    Messages:
    11,839
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Middle of Nowhere
    Vehicle:
    Totaled 2012 TRD Sport, 2013 TRD Double Cab Sport
    Take and make an extra ground wire from the ground wire on the light. Then you will have two positive wires and two ground wires and then you can wire them to any kind of switch or DRL etc.
     
  15. Apr 23, 2021 at 11:22 AM
    #15
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,915
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    Extra ground FROM the light bar...WTF4?
     
    TomTwo likes this.
  16. Apr 23, 2021 at 12:18 PM
    #16
    TomTwo

    TomTwo I love God but I cuss a little

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108271
    Messages:
    11,839
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Middle of Nowhere
    Vehicle:
    Totaled 2012 TRD Sport, 2013 TRD Double Cab Sport
    You need a ground to go to each switch or tap on another light. The light bar has two positive wires and one ground wire you will need to create an additional ground so that the lights in the light bar can act independently from each other
     
  17. Apr 23, 2021 at 12:21 PM
    #17
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,915
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    That's big NFWD. The internal circuit in the light bar shares the ground, splitting the ground after does nada...It does not split the circuit as you stated.
     
    TomTwo likes this.
  18. Apr 23, 2021 at 12:23 PM
    #18
    TomTwo

    TomTwo I love God but I cuss a little

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Member:
    #108271
    Messages:
    11,839
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Middle of Nowhere
    Vehicle:
    Totaled 2012 TRD Sport, 2013 TRD Double Cab Sport
    You have to split the ground if you are using two different switches
     
  19. Apr 23, 2021 at 12:25 PM
    #19
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,915
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    I think you are confusing switch with light bar...
     
  20. Apr 23, 2021 at 1:22 PM
    #20
    ljh824

    ljh824 Regular Guy

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Member:
    #78409
    Messages:
    480
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lou
    Kabul, Afghanistan / Oviedo, Florida
    Vehicle:
    -21 AG Sport 4x4 DC
    The intent would be to wire the Light bar DRLs, with the truck's DRLs. Then wire the LEDs to a switch. If you T-Tap into the DRLs (if that is even possible), would you need the extra ground?
     
    TomTwo likes this.
To Top