1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

4-Hi & Pavement - Why No Turning?

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Renoster, Oct 7, 2016.

1. Oct 7, 2016 at 9:13 AM
    Renoster

Renoster [OP] New Member

Member:
    I have googled, searched & read - and still don't understand....why does the truck resist when you turn on pavement in 4 hi? (This came up when reading about driving in 4hi for 10 miles a month to lubricate).

I am somewhat new to 4x4 - but I understand what a locker is, and that the front & rear have lockers, the rear locker being optional and to be used ONLY when one wheel is slipping in 4-Lo.

Why does the front locker not have a button?

Thanks

2. Oct 7, 2016 at 9:14 AM
    crabslayer

crabslayer Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Bend, Or
    Vehicle:
    2015 Black Tacoma SR5 DCLB
    :crapstorm:

TacoJova likes this.
  3. Oct 7, 2016 at 9:20 AM
    scottclarkinco

scottclarkinco Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Scott
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM TRD Off Road
    A lot. Check out my build page.
  4. Oct 7, 2016 at 9:20 AM
    rockguitar316

rockguitar316 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Adam
    Dayton Ohio Area
    Vehicle:
    Now: 2016 WRX stage 2 377hp/350tq. Then: 2016 TRD Sport DCSB 6MT (don't kick me!)
    Dude... The wheels all want to turn at the same speed in 4x4. When you're turning the outside wheel has to travel further than the others and at the same speed causes the wheels to chirp and resist. That's all I've got for you.

Nickel and eon_blue like this.
  5. Oct 7, 2016 at 9:22 AM
    gmr102