1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

4x4 for Baja Beaches?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by MitchMan, Apr 13, 2010.

1. Apr 13, 2010 at 12:13 PM
    MitchMan

MitchMan [OP] Member

Member:
    Hello all, I am a newbie to this forum and to Toyota trucks. I have read a bunch on this forum before joining today, and the expertise is unbelievable here. This is a great forum!

I need some help. I need to get a 4x4 to take my boat and trailer (1300 lbs) to La Paz in Baja from Southern California (1100 miles). Once in La Paz, I need to haul the boat and trailer over dirt roads (very muddy in Sept & Oct) and over soft sand to beach launch the boat. My budget is $6,000 and this means I am limited to 1986 to 1998 4x4 used pickups (pre 1996) or used Tacos (1995.5 - 1998) mostly depending on odometer mileage. Because of fuel economy, I would prefer to go with a 4 cyl 4x4, and would prefer an xtra cab if possible.

The questions are: 1) Will a 4x4 sr or sre (2.4L pre 1996) be strong enough? 2) Do I need to go to a 2.7 L or to a 6 cyl? 3) Will I need to go with bigger than stock wheels, which requires lifting the truck? 4) Any recommendation for tires that are best for soft sand?