1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

5- speed double cab (4x4 light flashing) Help

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Brandonjrsdad, Mar 24, 2020.

  1. Mar 24, 2020 at 10:05 PM
    #1
    Brandonjrsdad

    Brandonjrsdad [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Member:
    #215740
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma
    3" lift on Toyo Tires
    Finally got around to getting my 01 Tacoma double cab started today after turning this into a 5 speed. Upon starting the truck the 4x4 indicator is flashin .

    Used to be a auto with push button 4x4
    Now it's a 5 speed with j shifter transfercase.

    Any clear info on how to fix this would be great. Screenshot_20200324-220430_Photos.jpg
     
  2. Mar 25, 2020 at 12:20 AM
    #2
    04Pre_Runner

    04Pre_Runner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Member:
    #210143
    Messages:
    1,074
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andrew
    San Angelo, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2004 DC Tacoma SR5 4WD V6
    4WD Conversion, ARB Bumper, OME Suspension
    @SafetyDang isn't on TW much but has one of the more well-known DC manual conversions.
     
  3. Mar 25, 2020 at 2:27 PM
    #3
    Brandonjrsdad

    Brandonjrsdad [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Member:
    #215740
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma
    3" lift on Toyo Tires
    Think there's a plug what I'm supposed to ground?
     
  4. Mar 26, 2020 at 7:14 AM
    #4
    pairodice

    pairodice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19456
    Messages:
    1,325
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    SF NM
    Vehicle:
    02 DCSB prerunner 4x4 manual
    I did a similar swap (prerunner auto to 4x4 5mt) . I believe you need an ecm from a truck same yr, same engine, same trans. That’s the only way to get rid of cel also. It is throwing codes for auto trans also. I would also depin the unused wires from the ecm as well
     
  5. Mar 26, 2020 at 3:35 PM
    #5
    SafetyDang

    SafetyDang get your facts straight

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Member:
    #15759
    Messages:
    577
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dang
    Anaheim, CA
    Vehicle:
    DC with 4x4 & MT Conversion
    Swapped to Manual Trans & 4x4
    Did you check your 4x4 indicator sensor located on the side of the T-case by the shifters? It looks like a big plug with a wire coming out of it. If you installed the sensor into the wrong port it will think its in 4x4 when it's in 2wd. That would be the first thing I would check.

    Thanks!
     
    04Pre_Runner likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top