1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

7 speakers on a 5-Channel Amp - makes my head hurt!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by NWAMethodist, Jan 31, 2024.

1. Jan 31, 2024 at 10:11 AM
    NWAMethodist

NWAMethodist [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Dave
    Vehicle:
    2021 Grey SR5 Tacoma 4x4 XL
    I'm a complete noob at this so need some help. I'm looking to do a speaker/system upgrade keeping the head unit and stock wiring for ease of install if possible. I already took the first step and upgraded the speakers and did extensive soundproofing. Here are my speakers:
    • Tweeters are Infinity Kappa at 50 watts RMS
    • Fronts are Infinity Reference 2-way 6x9s at 100 watts RMS
    • Rears are Infinity Reference 2-way 6.5s at 55 watts RMS
    I'm looking to run the Audiocontrol D-5.1300 (100 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms) with the integrated digital signal processor. I'll also be adding a Skar box or Stealthbox for a subwoofer in the large cubby and the amp somehow rigged in the smaller driver side cubby. Reason for that amp location is I also want to upgrade my seats to Katskins with the Heated and Cooled feature and I'm concerned about space for the cooling fans under the front seat if the amp were placed there. I only want to do this once so figured the small cubby is the place to go. I'd love some pointers on rigging the amp in the small cubby.

I also learned that the stock speaker wiring is likely good so long as you don't exceed 75 watts. Which if fine, I'm 54 and looking for clean sound not teenage level neighbor annoying levels and bass.