1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

'91 3.0 EFI v6 motor swap information needed

Discussion in 'Hawaii' started by MokuT87, Jan 14, 2017.

1. Jan 14, 2017 at 2:21 PM
    MokuT87

MokuT87 [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Moku
    Vehicle:
    '91 Toyota pickup 3.0 EFI v6 4x4
    32x11.5 Mickey Thompsons
    Aloha.. I threw a rod out the side of my block yesterday. Sickening Cuz this my first 4x and took me a long time to finally get a truck and to top it off I just baught it a few months ago. I am strongly considering placing the Motor with a 3.4L vze or vz-fe. I am no mechanic by any means. I do not know the difference between Motors and if all possible I would not like to change the transmission. I was told I would need additional parts such as a wire harness and a new computer. I have no idea the price range of doing the motor swap or where to buy a trusted motor. If someone could share information regarding buying the components I need and the average prices will greatly appreciated Mahalo in advance!

2. Feb 6, 2017 at 6:04 PM
    Kala

Kala Well-Known Member

Member:
    BigIsland
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner SR5
    Theres a lot of info out on this already. Even 5+ years ago when I first wanted to do this, there was a ton of info.