1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ABS disable mod for 05+ Tacomas w/o VSC & locking diff write up *pics*

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by rodstone, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. May 27, 2010 at 9:55 AM
    #21
    NicP

    NicP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Member:
    #35351
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nic
    colorado
    Vehicle:
    05 DC LB
    3" Icon CO Icon Rez and AAL ProComp 7089 BFG 285 AT KO
    tHANKS bRYAN AND tRAVIS. jUST DID FINAL WIRING WITH OIL CHANGE AND TOOK 30 MINUTES.
    Wired up switch and placed it on the blank yesterday, took 15 minutes.

    Some tips if you do it:

    Do it like Bryan and wire close to the grmmet(drivers side) Blue wire with silver bands that go around circumference(check back at the harness to check if correct wire like Travis' write up and pics). You have less primary to zip tie and closer to switch.

    I try to push through the grommet with the brake cable line and use some extra thin and long needle nose pliers to push it through beginning on engine bay side, then look under the drivers side with flashlight and just grab it with same long nose pliers and pull it through. Use Bright colored primary (I use red) to distinguish it from other wires (most are black in the area).

    I missed last Colorado MOD and trail run weekend, but now ready for the next with the new ABS disable MOD..
     
  2. May 28, 2010 at 8:49 AM
    #22
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,888
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    FL
    Vehicle:
    SOLD - 2016 TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB
    I'll have to throw some pictures up when I get some time. Did the mod though and everything was a success. Obviously the install is a breeze and very straight forward. Works as intended and now I can stop thing beast with confidence off road.

    FWIW I spliced in at the firewall in order to run less primary to the switch. Didn't feel a need to running wire all the way over from the controller back inside to the switch.
     
  3. Jun 20, 2010 at 3:15 AM
    #23
    YeahYeah

    YeahYeah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36062
    Messages:
    303
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    (My Home - Murrieta, CA) Now, Alexandria, VA
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Pre-Runner
    mud flaps gone, second air-filter gone, DTRL, fog light whenever and work with hi-beams, cut exhaust (was wicked flow), flat black stock rims, ABS switch, cup holder led's (with switch), turning signal mod #45, Bilstien 5100's, grill mesh
    Just did this tonight. I couldn't wait so I started at about 1am. finished two hrs laters bc of that dang rubber mount on the firewall. thanks again man!!!! will def. help out alot!
     
  4. Dec 15, 2010 at 1:17 AM
    #24
    toyoda

    toyoda Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Member:
    #45717
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 SR5
    To clarify, this kills the ABS, and thus all of the traction/VSC stuff for the ones that have it? I have a 2010 with VSC/ALSD and when I flip the ABS I actually DO want all of the traction/vsc crap gone as well, 100%, none of this having to be in park and holding buttons for 5 seconds, then only being able to do it under 30mph, etc etc etc.

    Also curious if it will cause any other electrical issues, either immediately or further down the road. I don't want to fry any black boxes by disabling systems that need to be on, but I suppose it's the same concept as pulling the fuse from the fuse box (as people have already said), and with a blown fuse nothing would really fry - but then again, most people who see the ABS light on are immediately going to have the issue fixed instead of be pleased.

    So, if anyone with a 2010 has done this and has anything to input please let me know ^_^
     
  5. Dec 21, 2010 at 10:24 PM
    #25
    Nukewater

    Nukewater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Member:
    #23050
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Saskatchewan
    so if we have VSC, we follow the same instructions, we just lose all traction control (similar to holding button for 5 seconds?)
     
  6. Dec 23, 2010 at 2:00 PM
    #26
    Sandman614

    Sandman614 Snarky TWSS elf, Travis #hotsavannahdotcom, LRGRNR

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45273
    Messages:
    34,606
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Garner, NC/Boone, NC
    Vehicle:
    '06 SR5 Off Road
    ARB Front Bumper, Projector Headlights w/Slimcubby 4300K HID's, Oznium LED's, LED taillights, DIY Washable Cabin Moose Filter, Sockmonkey SR5 Off Road, Aux Audio plug, OME 886x, OME Nitrochargers, Wheelers 3 Leaf Progressive AAL, ImMrYo Rear-View Mirror Lift Bracket, Dodge D-Rings
    A similar method to pulling the fuse would be to wire a switch to the contacts of the ABS fuse holder via spade connectors. I'm not sure if the light would come on or what other systems would be disabled, someone who pulls the fuse could answer that.
     
  7. Dec 24, 2010 at 4:23 PM
    #27
    SuthrnTaco07

    SuthrnTaco07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Member:
    #20053
    Messages:
    2,725
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Huntsville, AL
    Vehicle:
    2003 T4R SR5 V8 4wd
    None
  8. Jan 3, 2011 at 1:22 PM
    #28
    NicP

    NicP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Member:
    #35351
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nic
    colorado
    Vehicle:
    05 DC LB
    3" Icon CO Icon Rez and AAL ProComp 7089 BFG 285 AT KO
    Used in snow 1 st time today on snow packed streets. Awsome being able to stop. Must have cut breaking distance in half.
     
  9. Mar 1, 2011 at 9:47 PM
    #29
    c0ry5

    c0ry5 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Member:
    #45475
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cory
    Santa Barbara
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner
    Bilstein 5100's, 1.5" AAL, ScangaugeII
    this is listed for only tacomas w/o diff locker, is there any way to get it to work with a 2WD TRD with a diff locker?
     
  10. Mar 1, 2011 at 11:31 PM
    #30
    island808

    island808 Me l've got brains.

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Member:
    #44414
    Messages:
    1,887
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jedediah
    hawaii
    Vehicle:
    '10 6speed 4x4 access cab
    I'm also interested in anyone that's done it on their 09+ I suspect it would also disable TRAC? which would be a negative for off road right?
     
  11. Mar 2, 2011 at 6:37 AM
    #31
    Bryan07sport

    Bryan07sport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Member:
    #23363
    Messages:
    360
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Newark, Delaware
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport Access 6spd
    Hardwire GPS, 110v power outlet in cab, foglights anytime, mudflaps removed, pa-15 ipod interface, rear leaf tsb, URD short shift, integrated third brake/cargo light, ABS disable switch, BHLM, Dynomax super turbo muffler, Nitto Terra Grapplers 265/70/17, Front Bilstein 5100's at 1.75, Weathertech floormats, sockmonkey bedsides, bestop supertop, spidertrax
    the reason it says without locker on here is the people without the locker needed an alternative to the blue/yellow wire mod where you ground it and put a switch on it to disable abs to "trick" the truck into thinking ur locked so the abs doesn't work. i tried it and almost caught my truck on fire. anyway this will definetely temporarily disable abs on anything, w or w/o VSC/ATRAC. just cuts out the switch wire from the abs to the pedal. i have no idea whether or not it will disable VSC and/or TRAC though. anyone chime in?
     
  12. Mar 2, 2011 at 6:40 AM
    #32
    Bryan07sport

    Bryan07sport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Member:
    #23363
    Messages:
    360
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Newark, Delaware
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport Access 6spd
    Hardwire GPS, 110v power outlet in cab, foglights anytime, mudflaps removed, pa-15 ipod interface, rear leaf tsb, URD short shift, integrated third brake/cargo light, ABS disable switch, BHLM, Dynomax super turbo muffler, Nitto Terra Grapplers 265/70/17, Front Bilstein 5100's at 1.75, Weathertech floormats, sockmonkey bedsides, bestop supertop, spidertrax
    and am i the only one that doesn't want any kind of traction control if i'm off road? i dont even care if it does work better. ha. i like being in control of whats going on where the rubber meets the road.
     
  13. Mar 2, 2011 at 8:16 AM
    #33
    island808

    island808 Me l've got brains.

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Member:
    #44414
    Messages:
    1,887
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jedediah
    hawaii
    Vehicle:
    '10 6speed 4x4 access cab
    well, on bad roads I'd agree, but since I don't have a locker in TRUE off road situations, you can get stuck. Why would I take my truck off road? Maybe I dozed off and drove off road without hitting anything?
     
  14. Mar 24, 2011 at 3:59 PM
    #34
    Erik

    Erik That smells like pure gasoline

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Member:
    #51865
    Messages:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Nashua, NH
    Vehicle:
    10'TRD off-road
    Shrockworks bumper+ IFS skid, 4xInnovations rock sliders, Toytec Bilstein/Eibach 5100 @ 2.5", 3" All-pro leaf pack w/Bilstein 5100, PIAA 510SMR, PIAA 1500, Python LC3 2-way Auto-start, Fog lights on w/Parking lights, ATRAC Hack, Diff breather mod
    I did the tacogrande ABS/VSC/TRAC ground modification and blew a fuse when I was in 4Lo and I hit the rear locker switch. Can the rear differential be locked when the TRAC switch is turned on? or is the switch just for turning the TRAC on when in 4Lo unlocked?

    When I am in 4Lo and have my TRAC switch on, the rear locker light comes on. I can't tell if its engaging or if its just the light. I've only tested it a couple times. Can the TRAC be turned on with the differential locked with this modfication or will I just keep blowing fuses?
     
  15. Mar 24, 2011 at 4:43 PM
    #35
    BRYLONATOR

    BRYLONATOR Building 06 Suburban K2500 with LBZ D-max and ZF6!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Member:
    #52680
    Messages:
    1,309
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    Chillin in a 120!
  16. Mar 24, 2011 at 4:46 PM
    #36
    Erik

    Erik That smells like pure gasoline

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Member:
    #51865
    Messages:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Nashua, NH
    Vehicle:
    10'TRD off-road
    Shrockworks bumper+ IFS skid, 4xInnovations rock sliders, Toytec Bilstein/Eibach 5100 @ 2.5", 3" All-pro leaf pack w/Bilstein 5100, PIAA 510SMR, PIAA 1500, Python LC3 2-way Auto-start, Fog lights on w/Parking lights, ATRAC Hack, Diff breather mod
    The switch shuts off ABS, VSC and TRAC when the blue/yellow wire is grounded. It turns the TRAC on when the power is sent to the blue/yellow wire.

    Except I blow a fuse everytime I try to engage the rear locker when the wire is powered. I should be able to use the locker with the switch.

    Anyone know how to fix?
     
  17. Mar 24, 2011 at 5:10 PM
    #37
    Erik

    Erik That smells like pure gasoline

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Member:
    #51865
    Messages:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Nashua, NH
    Vehicle:
    10'TRD off-road
    Shrockworks bumper+ IFS skid, 4xInnovations rock sliders, Toytec Bilstein/Eibach 5100 @ 2.5", 3" All-pro leaf pack w/Bilstein 5100, PIAA 510SMR, PIAA 1500, Python LC3 2-way Auto-start, Fog lights on w/Parking lights, ATRAC Hack, Diff breather mod
  18. Apr 29, 2011 at 5:09 PM
    #38
    07TaCo07

    07TaCo07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34167
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    oregon
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab 6" lift
    6" fab tech lift, 35" toyo m/t, 17" teflon wheels
    Just did this mod today and went pretty good. Only question is that I have a switch with a led on it and it only works when I hit the brakes with the abs on. Is there any reason that it doesn't stay on when I have it on. My brake lights work when the switch is on or off so not worried about that. Thanks
     
  19. Apr 30, 2011 at 10:38 AM
    #39
    07TaCo07

    07TaCo07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34167
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    oregon
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab 6" lift
    6" fab tech lift, 35" toyo m/t, 17" teflon wheels
    Anyone have a pic on which wires they hooked up to each terminal on the switch? Also do I need to ground the switch?
     
  20. May 1, 2011 at 8:42 AM
    #40
    Bryan07sport

    Bryan07sport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Member:
    #23363
    Messages:
    360
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Newark, Delaware
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport Access 6spd
    Hardwire GPS, 110v power outlet in cab, foglights anytime, mudflaps removed, pa-15 ipod interface, rear leaf tsb, URD short shift, integrated third brake/cargo light, ABS disable switch, BHLM, Dynomax super turbo muffler, Nitto Terra Grapplers 265/70/17, Front Bilstein 5100's at 1.75, Weathertech floormats, sockmonkey bedsides, bestop supertop, spidertrax
    Yes. the wire you tapped into is from the pedal to the abs. its only hot when you hit the pedal. makes sense.

    No you do not need to ground anything. unless you want a light to come on to let you know everytime you're hitting the pedal like ^^^^ that guy, but you probably know that. Otherwise you should have two wires. put one to the ground terminal and the other to the power out terminal. the positive terminal doesn't need to be hooked up at all.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top