1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ABS, Traction control and Brake warning lights

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by ponts, Jan 26, 2021.

  1. Jan 26, 2021 at 8:28 AM
    #1
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi all, hoping somebody can help. I continue to get brake, abs and traction control warning lights when my wheels lose traction. I have a 2016 sport with an icon lift. Below is a screenshot of my Carista scan. Can anyone help diagnose. Would like to fix it myself if I can. Thanks in advance!!!
     
  2. Jan 26, 2021 at 8:46 AM
    #2
    ShimStack

    ShimStack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74701
    Messages:
    761
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '98 Ext Cab V6 5speed, '16 DC OR M/T V6 Locked F/R
    KM2's, shocks
    You have one issue triggering another. The easiest thing to trouble shoot first is that RF wheel speed sensor. Make sure it's not broken and the wires/connector aren't damaged. Check all the wheel speeds. Then watching the data live and make sure it's truly working properly.

    If that's good you have a ABS actuator malfunction (You have a sport so it lives on the pass side front wheel well). First check wiring, connectors, plumbing etc. here. If that's not it then your issue may lie in a malfunctioning master solenoid, individual solenoid, pump, seal, etc. Something is not responding properly when your ABS, traction control, VSC fires. It may be a bad feedback signal, control signal, or malfunctioning hardware.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2021
  3. Jan 26, 2021 at 9:04 AM
    #3
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks that's where I will start. How do I check individual wheel speed? Carista ODB? Or?
     
  4. Jan 26, 2021 at 9:08 AM
    #4
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    I spray a lot of fluid film underneath and around the area by the sensor maybe the film affected the sensors not sure?
     
  5. Jan 26, 2021 at 11:56 AM
    #5
    ShimStack

    ShimStack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74701
    Messages:
    761
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '98 Ext Cab V6 5speed, '16 DC OR M/T V6 Locked F/R
    KM2's, shocks
    Start with a visual inspection. To validate the signal it's generating live, Techstream is best. You may be able to gauge it with the right obd tool I'm not totally sure who has those pid's. Compare it to the other 3.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2021
    BigWhiteTRD and ponts [OP] like this.
  6. Jan 26, 2021 at 12:10 PM
    #6
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    I forgot I purchased the app Torque. I will see this afternoon if I can get any live data.
     
  7. Jan 26, 2021 at 12:24 PM
    #7
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    @ShimStack if it's the sensor is there any calibration involved or is just a simple swap. Trying to find info online about replacing the wheel speed sensor not having much luck so far.
     
  8. Jan 26, 2021 at 12:38 PM
    #8
    ShimStack

    ShimStack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74701
    Messages:
    761
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '98 Ext Cab V6 5speed, '16 DC OR M/T V6 Locked F/R
    KM2's, shocks
    No calibration. It's a digital signal. By the time you see it with Techstream it's already processed into wheel speed in mph.

    However, if it isn't seated or oriented properly it won't pick up the encoder ring.
     
    ponts [OP] likes this.
  9. Jan 26, 2021 at 3:16 PM
    #9
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    Well what do you know. Crawled under to pull the sensor to clean and it wasn't even on finger tight. I removed the bolt with my fingers. Not sure how that happened as I never touched it. Cleared codes with Carista and had a fun test drive spinning out on some snow and ice. No more codes!!
     
    G8R_Taco, tonered and ShimStack like this.
  10. Feb 8, 2021 at 10:31 AM
    #10
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    More codes today, grrrr. What now? Maybe abs sensor?

     
  11. Feb 8, 2021 at 6:40 PM
    #11
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    @ShimStack I'm going to pull off the slee offroad compressor tray and arb ckma12 compressor. Although it does fit I noticed a bit of pressure on the Actuator and one of the steel lines comes out. Very minimal though. No leaks. I'm wondering if this may be a cause the code? Once off I will check actuator connectors and harness. I bought a new speed sensor harness to see if that fixes it. I sure hope I don't have to replace an actuator after 34k km.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2021
  12. Feb 8, 2021 at 6:58 PM
    #12
    mutely

    mutely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Member:
    #210640
    Messages:
    1,576
    Vehicle:
    TRD Pro in metallic primer
    C1225 is brake solenoid circuit, and the codes that are consistent with both posts are all brake solenoid. Also makes sense as when TC or ABS kicks in, it uses the brake solenoids to control the wheel speed. Since all 4 are erroring, I’d check the circuit / wiring at the brake master and whatever ECU controls this. I very doubt a new speed sensor will fix this.
    BTW, clear codes, force ABS to kick in (rather than TC), and you’ll probably get the same errors.

    edit, read this
    http://www.ttguide.net/sm_solenoid_circuit_c1225_c1468_c1469_c146a_c146b_-665.html
     
    shakerhood and ponts [OP] like this.
  13. Feb 8, 2021 at 7:28 PM
    #13
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    After securing the speed sensor, I haven't been able to get any errors when abs comes on. The error came on when I started my truck this morning. Turned it off then back on and gone. My abs works great now (tested it about 20 times today on ice).
     
  14. Feb 8, 2021 at 7:37 PM
    #14
    mutely

    mutely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Member:
    #210640
    Messages:
    1,576
    Vehicle:
    TRD Pro in metallic primer
    Glad you fixed it. I misunderstood you post (a few above), I thought they had come back after you secured the speed sensor.
     
  15. Feb 8, 2021 at 8:12 PM
    #15
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    Errors came back after fixing wheel sensor codes as pictured in second screenshot.
     
  16. Feb 8, 2021 at 8:13 PM
    #16
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    ABS works fine now but threw errors when I started my truck this morning (cleared them after I secured wheel sensor) Wheel sensor error is gone though
     
  17. Feb 8, 2021 at 9:53 PM
    #17
    ShimStack

    ShimStack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74701
    Messages:
    761
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '98 Ext Cab V6 5speed, '16 DC OR M/T V6 Locked F/R
    KM2's, shocks
    Check your wiring closely around where you did the install. Something failed a diagnostic check on startup.
     
    ponts [OP] and BigWhiteTRD like this.
  18. Feb 9, 2021 at 8:03 AM
    #18
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    I have done a visual and nothing looks damaged. I was thinking I would jiggle the connector wires to the actuator and the master cylinder while running to see if I can get the codes to trigger?
     
  19. Feb 9, 2021 at 8:42 AM
    #19
    ShimStack

    ShimStack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74701
    Messages:
    761
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '98 Ext Cab V6 5speed, '16 DC OR M/T V6 Locked F/R
    KM2's, shocks
    Yep, I would start jiggling too.

    After that get your hands on techstream. There's full diagnostic active test modes that let you actuate and test each braking system solenoid to identify problems.
     
    ponts [OP] likes this.
  20. Feb 9, 2021 at 8:56 AM
    #20
    ponts

    ponts [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Member:
    #161157
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    Techstream cable on it's way! Thanks so much for all your help
     

Products Discussed in

To Top