1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

AC didn't work after CAI install

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by oldsman71442, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. Jul 18, 2010 at 7:12 PM
    #1
    oldsman71442

    oldsman71442 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Member:
    #31853
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    oahu HI/ Redding CA
    Vehicle:
    10 DC 4x4 TRD Sport
    Okay guys I got a 2010 DC and I installed a AFE CAI on my truck. Disconnected the battery so the computer could reset and the first time I drove my truck the AC wouldn't blow cold. I tried Everything. I tried different configurations and everything. Shut the truck off and turned it back on and now it works. I didn't change a thing. Anyone else experience this problem. I gave the truck atleast 15 min before i made the assumption the AC wasnt getting cold. Normally it gets cold in a matter of minutes.

    Thanks
    Jeff
     
  2. Jul 18, 2010 at 7:14 PM
    #2
    rex99

    rex99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Member:
    #27492
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    TArdCOMAWORLD
    Vehicle:
    Proton Cruiser
    Rocket Boosters, Flux Capacitor, Escape Pod, Throttle Body Spacer, Homeroshi, ATRAC disable
    with a CAI, youre engine steals all the cold air so the AC wont work









    :D:D:D just kidding, sorry i cant help....BUMP
     
  3. Jul 18, 2010 at 7:17 PM
    #3
    oldsman71442

    oldsman71442 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Member:
    #31853
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    oahu HI/ Redding CA
    Vehicle:
    10 DC 4x4 TRD Sport
    I know how the AC works and totally understand that nothing I did affects the AC system really. That is why i threw out there that I disconnected the battery hoping that may be why it didn't work.
     
  4. Jul 18, 2010 at 7:21 PM
    #4
    rex99

    rex99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Member:
    #27492
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    TArdCOMAWORLD
    Vehicle:
    Proton Cruiser
    Rocket Boosters, Flux Capacitor, Escape Pod, Throttle Body Spacer, Homeroshi, ATRAC disable
    im sure the AC compressor has a fuse-- have you checked that?? does it sound like a compressor is turning on??
     
  5. Jul 18, 2010 at 7:35 PM
    #5
    oldsman71442

    oldsman71442 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Member:
    #31853
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    oahu HI/ Redding CA
    Vehicle:
    10 DC 4x4 TRD Sport
    All i had to do was turn the truck off and the next time I started it and every other time I started it today it was completely fine. I did nothing to fix the problem. It just sucked cause the drive it wasn't working was the longest drive i took today... LOL as luck would have it
     
  6. Jul 19, 2010 at 5:41 AM
    #6
    skytower

    skytower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Member:
    #38505
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4
    Hitch and wiring, aux back-up light, rear strobe lights, radio and underseat sub.
    +1 on checking fuses and connections. There are no coincidinces. 95% of the time, if it quits while you're working on it, you're the cause.
     
  7. Jul 19, 2010 at 5:47 AM
    #7
    tegdog

    tegdog Taco Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Member:
    #15262
    Messages:
    772
    Gender:
    Male
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Dbl TRD Sport
    ventvisors,seatcovers, bug shield,TRD CAI,TRD CAT BACK,blacked out emblems,bed extender, TSB leaf pack,Pro Dry filter, Grill craft upper, lower, & triangles, Hella 500 Black magics
    cant be a fuse its working now w/o changing fuses.
     
  8. Jul 19, 2010 at 5:50 AM
    #8
    wiscdave

    wiscdave Lets Do It!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Member:
    #5392
    Messages:
    2,543
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Rock Warrior
    Past ride - 3" OME 885s&Shocks/ TSB 1.5AAL/ AX184 Rims 285 Firestone destination ATs/ 2 Shallow mount P310s in Supercrew Box - Punch 601s, Beefed up Hunter Brush guard, Tint, Fog light mod, AFE Drop in, AC and Fog light mods, scangauge
    It probably just needed to reset the 15 mins or so after the computer rebooted. If all is good going forward I wouldn't worry about it, if not back to the dealer for a warranty issue.
     
To Top