1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ACA HID install Need help!

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Tulku, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. Tulku

    Tulku [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36847
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joshua
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Gen-1 Debadged Prerunner
    Custom Grill by Racemeshgrills.com Turn signal mod Deck plate mod Bilstein 5100's Dyna-mat / custom stereo
    I've been working on installing these ACA HIDs in my 1st Gen Tacoma for 4 days now and I cant get them to trigger on using the light switch.
    Right now I'm thinking it must be an issue with the stock toyota H4 plug or something like a diode I'm missing.
    I know they work because I can bypass the relays and they fire right up.
    does anyone here have experience installing HIDs in an 01-04 Tacoma?

    1) I know they work
    2) I don't have DRLs
    3) I discovered the ballast plugs were reversed

    Aside from the obvious, is there some well known issue people have when installing these lights in a tacoma?
     
  2. CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere
    grounds...i tore my shit apart and found up i grounded my setup to plastic.....don't judge
     
  3. Tulku

    Tulku [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36847
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joshua
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Gen-1 Debadged Prerunner
    Custom Grill by Racemeshgrills.com Turn signal mod Deck plate mod Bilstein 5100's Dyna-mat / custom stereo
    well after reading up on HIDplanet
    Now I think my wiring harness is set up for a positive switched H4 plug and I have a ground switched H4...
    anyone here know how I should go about fixing this?
     
  4. Tulku

    Tulku [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36847
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joshua
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Gen-1 Debadged Prerunner
    Custom Grill by Racemeshgrills.com Turn signal mod Deck plate mod Bilstein 5100's Dyna-mat / custom stereo
    After messing with the H4 plug today I was able to get the light switch to trigger the lights on,
    but only the low beam, (apparently my H4 low is on the side of the plug instead of the middle)
    if I switch on the brights while the low is still connected it shorts out or something.

    Another thing I discovered today,
    when my lights are on I have no ground continuity at any of the three points of contact on the H4 plug,
    is there some kind of anomaly with my truck?

    Come on, no one has had this problem?!
     
  5. CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere
    did you ever have to tap into a hot wire for power? if so you probably tapped into a wire that is only hot when the low beams are on...just a guess
     
  6. Tulku

    Tulku [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36847
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joshua
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Gen-1 Debadged Prerunner
    Custom Grill by Racemeshgrills.com Turn signal mod Deck plate mod Bilstein 5100's Dyna-mat / custom stereo
    Here is the diagram of the positive switched wiring harness that came with the ACA's

    [​IMG]

    Can someone help me design a Ground switched wiring harness that will work within ACA's parameters based on this schematic?

    I have a larger pic if you PM me

    Thanks! -J
     
To Top