1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Add-A-Fuse question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by kingston73, Mar 17, 2017.

  1. Mar 17, 2017 at 7:31 AM
    #1
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,946
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    I recently installed an underseat sub and used an add-a-circuit in the fuse box to plug into power and switched power. I bought these before looking:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015GYN38A/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s02?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    and when installing realized the fuses are more like this:

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00K17A2E6/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3TOPXSF99I2AT

    Everything seems to be working well but I'm wondering if I should replace the first set with the second ones? If they plug in and work is everything fine or could there be any potential problems later on?
     
  2. Mar 17, 2017 at 7:34 AM
    #2
    sjwhitaker

    sjwhitaker Today Was A Good Day.

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Member:
    #84777
    Messages:
    1,236
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Berea, KY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCSB TRD Offroad 6MT - Icon Stage 2 - 285/75/16 Falken AT3W
    You can never have to many fuses. Fuses are way better than burnt down trucks.
     
  3. Mar 17, 2017 at 7:36 AM
    #3
    sjwhitaker

    sjwhitaker Today Was A Good Day.

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Member:
    #84777
    Messages:
    1,236
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Berea, KY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCSB TRD Offroad 6MT - Icon Stage 2 - 285/75/16 Falken AT3W
    Actually upon looking at both of those they look like pretty much the same thing. As long as you have the appropriate fuse and everything is working fine I wouldn't worry.
     
  4. Mar 17, 2017 at 10:49 AM
    #4
    twhalm

    twhalm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Member:
    #194983
    Messages:
    216
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD/OR Manual, OME , Dual battery
    Fuses are fuses. As long as you have good contact they will do their job. The only difference between mini fuses and the low profile mini fuses is that the low profile ones are just that.

    The low-profile ones, however, will not fit in a standard mini fuse slot.
     
  5. Mar 17, 2017 at 11:26 AM
    #5
    Ross09

    Ross09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Member:
    #193684
    Messages:
    326
    Gender:
    Male
    Greeneville,TN
    Vehicle:
    2009 DCLB base 4x4
    I did the same thing when I was doing an add a circuit for my light bar. Realized it takes the mini fuses. As long as you don't jam a wire underneath an already existing fuse to tap power from it.
     
  6. Mar 17, 2017 at 1:15 PM
    #6
    orezona

    orezona title unspecified

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Member:
    #201811
    Messages:
    5,241
    satan's skillet
    Vehicle:
    2006 TRD OR DCSB OMGWTFBBQ TL;DR
    WARRANTY VOIDED
    I have a question that's on-topic for this thread I suppose...

    I just got a couple add-a-fuses and I was wondering about the amp rating for dual USB set up? What is the consensus on the max fuse rating for one of these?

    I'm mainly going to use mine (for now) to power/charge accessories like my dash cam, phone and external TPMS.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. Mar 17, 2017 at 1:22 PM
    #7
    twhalm

    twhalm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Member:
    #194983
    Messages:
    216
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD/OR Manual, OME , Dual battery

    Depending on the type of USB port max amperage rating varies. The newest type-C supports up to 3 amps, but I doubt you are putting those in. USB 2.0 and 3.0 are rated for .5 and .9 amps respectively.

    So mostly likely the most current you will draw is <2 amps. The smallest size most mini fuses come in is 5 amps so I'd just put one of those in.

    Also, make sure you aren't connecting USB ports directly to the cars 12V source. It should have some sort of little box that converts it to the 5V that USB runs on.

    Does that answer your question?
     
    orezona likes this.
  8. Mar 17, 2017 at 2:25 PM
    #8
    orezona

    orezona title unspecified

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Member:
    #201811
    Messages:
    5,241
    satan's skillet
    Vehicle:
    2006 TRD OR DCSB OMGWTFBBQ TL;DR
    WARRANTY VOIDED
    YES! Thank you very much... :D

    I'm pretty much putting one of these in.

    [​IMG]

    Going to hide it instead of getting something to take the place of one of the switch blanks.

    My work has about 50 of them unused and my boss said he didn't care if I "borrowed" one.

    Much obliged.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top