1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Add a fuse

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by glk21c, Oct 14, 2022.

  1. Oct 14, 2022 at 5:16 PM
    #1
    glk21c

    glk21c [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
    This is a really basic question. Can someone tell me if the link below for an add a fuse will work in 2nd gen Tacomas, please? I know our fuses in the driver's side kick panel and under the hood are the mini-fuse, like this,
    https://www.amazon.com/MCIGICM-ATM-...gid=pla-885616462542&ref=&adgrpid=95673152084

    this looks correct, right?
    https://www.amazon.com/Recoil-Circu...ofile+mini+blade+fuse+tap,aps,86&sr=8-1-spons

    Getting prepared to wire up my seat heaters.
    thanks
     
    pinktaco808 likes this.
  2. Oct 14, 2022 at 5:26 PM
    #2
    TnShooter

    TnShooter The TacomaWorld Stray

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    16,679
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Deogee
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
  3. Oct 14, 2022 at 9:28 PM
    #3
    soundman98

    soundman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2021
    Member:
    #367288
    Messages:
    3,331
    Gender:
    Male
    NW Indiana
    Vehicle:
    '18 Taco Sport, '14 Ranger
    personally, i'd highly recommend intentionally installing any add-a-fuse in the method that he denotes as the 'wrong' way.

    the issue with the add-a-fuse is that it's double-loading the original fuseblock slot. so if you have a 10A original fuse, and add a 10A accessory, that fuse slot now carries the potential for a 20A load.

    most fuse blocks use wires to connect to the back side of each slot. there is a definite potential to create a load larger than the original wire can support, which would pose a fire risk.

    there's the argument that "if it's installed 'backwards' that the original fuse will blow". that's actually a really good indicator that the circuit is being overloaded beyond it's design limits, and poses a fire risk.

    and finally, there could be the argument that "fuses are just there to protect the wiring and vehicle from burning down in the event of a short circuit fault in either the wiring or the new aftermarket powered device". it's a fair assessment, but then there's the question of "what's protecting the wiring that was originally sized for a 10A load ahead of the add-a-fuse?"
     
    GBourne likes this.
  4. Oct 14, 2022 at 9:36 PM
    #4
    Cudgel

    Cudgel “Tonka”

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Member:
    #214640
    Messages:
    4,296
    Gender:
    Male
    Live in: An Ocean of Plastic Trash
    Vehicle:
    2017 OR DCLB
    ICON8 Lift -285s. upTOPoverland rack.
    Bus is single load rated. Load is off each wire. Don’t overload the bus, nor the load and you’re good.
     
  5. Oct 14, 2022 at 9:38 PM
    #5
    TnShooter

    TnShooter The TacomaWorld Stray

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    16,679
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Deogee
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    I personally don’t like using Add-A-Fuses.
    I’d much prefer a single independent wire with its own fuse.
    Relays are my preferred method, you can use the Add-A-Fuse to command the relay.
    I guess comes down to how much work you want to put into it?
     
    soundman98[QUOTED] likes this.
  6. Oct 15, 2022 at 4:58 AM
    #6
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,599
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Don’t use an add-a-fuse with seat heaters. You can use one to trigger a relay, but don’t actually power the heaters from it
     
    soundman98 likes this.
  7. Oct 15, 2022 at 7:45 AM
    #7
    glk21c

    glk21c [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
    Thank you for all the replies. My thoughts were to use add a fuse for the 12v switched and illumination connection. I have a dedicated 60 amp fused homerun from the battery to behind the rear seats to power my two amps(4way for doors and 2way as mono for sub) with each split/protected by a 30 amp fuse. It was a dual amp install kit. Anyway. Figured I could tap into each 30 amp fused connection for each 12v battery connection I need for the seat heaters (drivers and passenger seat). Each 12v battery connection requires min. 20 amp fused circuit, plus has its own fuse inline that wire as well.
    Hope I explained that all correctly
     
  8. Oct 15, 2022 at 8:23 AM
    #8
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,599
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Well if each amp needs a 30 amp fuse, and each seat heater needs a 20 amp fuse, you’re now potentially putting 100 amps of draw on a 60 amp circuit.
     
    soundman98 likes this.
  9. Oct 15, 2022 at 8:26 AM
    #9
    glk21c

    glk21c [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
    Yes, I’ve been thinking of that too. The 30 amp fuses are what came in the dual amp wiring kit.
    It’s why I’m baby stepping all this
     
  10. Oct 15, 2022 at 8:38 AM
    #10
    glk21c

    glk21c [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
  11. Oct 15, 2022 at 3:03 PM
    #11
    soundman98

    soundman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2021
    Member:
    #367288
    Messages:
    3,331
    Gender:
    Male
    NW Indiana
    Vehicle:
    '18 Taco Sport, '14 Ranger
    the amp kit doesn't know what amps you installed on it. what fuses are on the amps themselves?
     
  12. Oct 15, 2022 at 4:40 PM
    #12
    glk21c

    glk21c [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
    The kicker 2-way that I’m using in mono to feed the sub only requires a 25 amp fuse and the USA amp that is feeding the door speakers has two built in 20 amp fuses. Stupid me, never realized the discrepancy
     
    soundman98 likes this.
  13. Oct 15, 2022 at 11:18 PM
    #13
    soundman98

    soundman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2021
    Member:
    #367288
    Messages:
    3,331
    Gender:
    Male
    NW Indiana
    Vehicle:
    '18 Taco Sport, '14 Ranger
    ok, that makes more sense. what size wire is coming from the battery before the distribution block, and what size main fuse by the battery is installed?
     
  14. Oct 16, 2022 at 3:00 AM
    #14
    glk21c

    glk21c [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
    Main fuse is 60 amp, I don’t know the wire gauge but it is large. I’ll have to see if the gauge is written on the sheathing come Monday-Tuesday
     
  15. Oct 17, 2022 at 5:42 PM
    #15
    glk21c

    glk21c [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
    4 gauge
     
  16. Oct 18, 2022 at 7:00 PM
    #16
    soundman98

    soundman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2021
    Member:
    #367288
    Messages:
    3,331
    Gender:
    Male
    NW Indiana
    Vehicle:
    '18 Taco Sport, '14 Ranger
    i see. looks like your amp wiring is properly sized for the amps you have.

    i would definitely run a new power wire for the seats. while i can understand you're likely not running the amps at full tilt all the time, so they're not using the full 20-30A each, they are likely closer to representing 40-70% of the power wires capacity at different times. generally, we always want wire to be not used past 85% capacity. i think you could safely run 1 seat heater off the amp kit as long as the amps aren't going full tilt, but not 2. and once you've got to run 1 wire for 1 seat heater, adding 2 seat heaters to that wire isn't that much more of a stretch.

    the other concern here is going to be the resistive load of the seat heaters. resistive loads can sometimes cause audible distortion in the form of hums or pops when sharing power with audio devices. so again, for that reason, i'd suggest running a new power wire. this would allow the battery to filter some of the audio issues, and leave you with clean power for your amps, and a warm butt!
     
  17. Oct 29, 2022 at 5:03 PM
    #17
    glk21c

    glk21c [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
    Is 16 gauge wire good for the constant hot 12v connection from the battery? I’m not in front of the seat heater kit but I recall those wires being some crazy large gauge wires.
     
  18. Oct 29, 2022 at 8:45 PM
    #18
    soundman98

    soundman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2021
    Member:
    #367288
    Messages:
    3,331
    Gender:
    Male
    NW Indiana
    Vehicle:
    '18 Taco Sport, '14 Ranger
    20 amps should be 12gauge wire minimum, 10 gauge wouldn't hurt.

    16ga is not large enough.
     
    dolbytone likes this.
  19. Oct 30, 2022 at 2:54 AM
    #19
    glk21c

    glk21c [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Member:
    #6007
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4
    Thanks for that
     
To Top