1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Add Steering wheel controls to a 2013 base model

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by smgcon, Mar 27, 2014.

  1. Mar 27, 2014 at 10:29 PM
    #1
    smgcon

    smgcon [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Member:
    #110836
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Geoff
    Vernon, BC
    Vehicle:
    2013 DBC
    Does anyone know if the 2013 base model truck is prewired to accept the steering wheel controls? Does the clock spring cable have the appropriate number of pins for the basic steering wheel controls ( no voice control) and is plug S8 connected to the radio harness?

    Thank you,

    Geoff
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2014
  2. Mar 29, 2014 at 8:03 PM
    #2
    2224

    2224 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Member:
    #117192
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Montreal, Canada
    Vehicle:
    base 4x4
    I would really love to know the answer for this as well
     
  3. Mar 30, 2014 at 6:15 PM
    #3
    tacotacoburrito

    tacotacoburrito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Member:
    #104694
    Messages:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    There are 2 different parts specified in the OEM catalog diagrams. It specifically calls out with steering wheel controls and W/O steering wheel controls. I'm guessing no. It's not showing me actual PNs though.
     
  4. Mar 31, 2014 at 3:57 AM
    #4
    2224

    2224 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Member:
    #117192
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Montreal, Canada
    Vehicle:
    base 4x4
    I will be trying this later today.
    I ordered a set of used steering controls from a member of TW.
    I had to order a new clock spring (China one ebay) the oem one was missing the plug for the steering controls.
    Ill post results tonight
     
  5. Mar 31, 2014 at 7:50 PM
    #5
    2224

    2224 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Member:
    #117192
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Montreal, Canada
    Vehicle:
    base 4x4
    so its not plug and play. I've installed everything and it seems to fit perfectly in place. But here is what its doing.
    The phone switch seems to work fine the rest do not seem to work. BUT when I turn my headlights or parking lights on the radio beeps and starts seeking and wont stop, unless I turn the headlights off and on again at which point it finds the next available radio channel.
    Any help out there? Can it be the Chinese clock spring? Any chance of getting this to work properly?
     
  6. Mar 31, 2014 at 8:11 PM
    #6
    qdude79

    qdude79 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Member:
    #103664
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Cal
    Vehicle:
    '15 PreRunner DoubleCab V6
    Debadged, Maxtracs, F5's on 285s and Ride Rites
    Does anyone know the part number for the proper clockspring for this swap?
     
  7. Mar 31, 2014 at 8:52 PM
    #7
    2224

    2224 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Member:
    #117192
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Montreal, Canada
    Vehicle:
    base 4x4
  8. Apr 7, 2014 at 8:04 PM
    #8
    qdude79

    qdude79 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Member:
    #103664
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Cal
    Vehicle:
    '15 PreRunner DoubleCab V6
    Debadged, Maxtracs, F5's on 285s and Ride Rites
    To follow up, my 2013 base model WITH the touch screen is NOT prewired (at least at the clockspring). The clockspring in the ebay auction has two ports for plugs to the right of where the yellow wire connects, mine only has one (cruise control).
     

Products Discussed in

To Top