1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Adding Amp and Sub to Factory Deck

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by theycallme_poot, Apr 5, 2017.

  1. Apr 5, 2017 at 2:18 PM
    #1
    theycallme_poot

    theycallme_poot [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Member:
    #215446
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    KIM
    Vehicle:
    2013 PreRunner TRD Tacoma
    3 1/2 in lift, XD series rims, Nitto Grappler tires
    Ok, so I need a little help. I have a 2013 TRD prerunner Tacoma. I recently bought a Kenwood 400w max KAC-5206 amp with a Kicker. It didnt come with any wires or adaptors and I want to keep the factory deck for now so was wondering if anyone knew exactly what wires/adaptors I would need to install them. I'm clueless when it comes to these things. 17457338_10209076618652022_951607451270600891_n.jpg17577954_10212356967622574_645406245_n.jpg 17499464_10209076618572020_3781198267826447088_n.jpg
     
  2. Apr 5, 2017 at 3:13 PM
    #2
    GSPdog7

    GSPdog7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Member:
    #206868
    Messages:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Allen
    Central VA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Silver Sky Metallic TRD Off-road
    Every head unit has a remote wire which is blue (If i can remember correctly). Run a wire from the remote on the amp and then run the wire to the remote to the head unit (blue remote wire). The blue wire should be taped on the end, it has on every vehicle I've had. Looks like you got power to the amp and have run the RC wires to the sub. Have not hooked mine up in my yota yet, this is going to give me motivation to install mine.

    Just reread your post. You probably should buy a amp kit from walmart or best buy or radioshack. It will have all your inline fuses, RC cables, connections and other wires like the wire to run the remote wire. For interference reasons you should keep your power wires and RC and remote wires away from each other for the best sound quality.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017
  3. Apr 5, 2017 at 3:38 PM
    #3
    TegoTaco

    TegoTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Member:
    #198555
    Messages:
    2,985
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2013 Super White Tacoma DCLB TRD SPORT
    You'll need a line out converter in order for you to use the amp on your factor headunit as well.
     
    Norton likes this.
  4. Apr 6, 2017 at 6:17 AM
    #4
    TA 4

    TA 4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Member:
    #160810
    Messages:
    138
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2015 SSM Taco access 4x4 2.7
    Cruisin offroad bumper, RCI front skid, Bakflip Tonneau Cover, Westin Running Boards, door molding, Blazer Led lights, Bed Lights, DIY Bed/rear cab mats, 3M Clear Bra (Hood and Fenders), Husky front floor mats, re diff relocated, Coverking seat covers
    Does the amp have a "speaker level" input? If so then you dont need a LOC as there's one already built into the amp.

    You can cut and splice into the factory speaker wires that come out of the HU. If you wanted to amp just the sub, you'd only need to solder or crimp in one set of lines to the amp, however if you wanted to amp the whole system, then you need lines on which to return the signal to the stock wiring for the speakers. All easily done, on my truck the blue and green wires were the right side and pink and purple were the left side

    IMG_1553.jpg
     
  5. Apr 6, 2017 at 1:08 PM
    #5
    theycallme_poot

    theycallme_poot [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Member:
    #215446
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    KIM
    Vehicle:
    2013 PreRunner TRD Tacoma
    3 1/2 in lift, XD series rims, Nitto Grappler tires
    thanks guys :] still on the hunt to find the wires for it
     
  6. May 13, 2017 at 11:33 AM
    #6
    MikeHaskins

    MikeHaskins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Member:
    #151121
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Hagerstown MD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Pyrite Mica 4x4 DC
    OP Check this out: http://www.ebay.com/itm/361326435262?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX

    I used this on my 2012 DC (no JBL) as a jumper so I didn't have to cut factory wires. I didn't use the RCA out, because I have a 5 channel amp that has speaker level inputs. However, it sounds like you could without cutting any wires, just run RCA cables from it to the amp.

    Disclaimer: This worked for a 2012... just remove the plugs on the back of the radio and plug it into this jumper, then plug the jumper into the back of the radio. I do not know if the plugs/wiring harness changed for 2013. Maybe someone more experienced with these radios knows?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top