1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

After TPMS change need dealer to reset

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by hyunbina, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. Jun 18, 2012 at 10:19 AM
    #1
    hyunbina

    hyunbina [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Member:
    #80852
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey guys have 2010 Tacoma been running great till one day

    this guy hit my passenger wheel with his car and ran away on campus four way stop sign.

    Now I have broken TPMS tip some local tire shop telling me I need to do this at the dealer, but you guys know how expensive it gets. So I was wondering is it possible if I could buy the TPMS and take it to the local shop and just reset it normally? or is it really require dealer to do some hard reset or some sort?

    thanks guys in advance
     
  2. Jun 18, 2012 at 10:23 AM
    #2
    Me Likey TRD

    Me Likey TRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Member:
    #77220
    Messages:
    298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stan
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport DCSB
    Toytec Ultimate w/Dakar leaf packs, Michilin 265/75/16 LTX AT2, FJ Trail Team replica wheels, Access Ltd bed cover, Katzkin leather, Brute Force rear bumper, Relentless Fab front bumper, Beefed sliders
    A quality tire shop will have the special equipment and should be able to set it properly. Call first though.
     
  3. Jun 18, 2012 at 10:24 AM
    #3
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    you need a new tpms sensor, write down the numbers on it before you replace it or better yet take pictures. Dealer can reprogram it, so can most shops. A buddy of mine has a LAUNCH controller and he did mine, they are pretty simble you just need a programming tool that talks to the ecu
     
  4. Jun 18, 2012 at 10:26 AM
    #4
    theredofshaw

    theredofshaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Member:
    #41484
    Messages:
    6,171
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Reno/Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    not a taco (guess that means I can be a MOD now)
    (totaled) 2011 Tacoma DC
    I believe discount tire sells the TPMS and you should be able to reset it yourself or have Discount do it.
     
  5. Jun 18, 2012 at 10:28 AM
    #5
    hyunbina

    hyunbina [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Member:
    #80852
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Awesome I guess i'll try to buy a TPMS from a web and try to take it to a tire shop for change and see if they could reprogram it or worst case dealer reprogram. Thanks guys
     
  6. Jun 18, 2012 at 10:30 AM
    #6
    hyunbina

    hyunbina [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Member:
    #80852
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male

Products Discussed in

To Top