1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

aftermarket gauges

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by firerooster, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. Nov 11, 2009 at 12:13 PM
    #1
    firerooster

    firerooster [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Member:
    #25773
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Phx, AZ
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner, single cab
    New guy here. Actually the truck is my wife's. I am getting her some after market gauges. Water temp, oil pressure and voltmeter. She has the 2007 prerunner with the 4 cylinder engine (2.7l). Just curious if anyone here would know where the sending units for these gauges are put. Sorry, I am a diesel guy and new to the toyota.

    Thanks for the help
     
  2. Nov 11, 2009 at 2:17 PM
    #2
    firerooster

    firerooster [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Member:
    #25773
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Phx, AZ
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner, single cab
    Wow no help????
     
  3. Nov 11, 2009 at 2:47 PM
    #3
    dorkman

    dorkman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Member:
    #19474
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    For the Oil Pressure I used a "sandwich" adapter that goes between the Oil Filter and engine, I use that to monitor Oil Pressure and Oil Temp, I used AutoMeter electrical gauges which came with sending units.

    For the voltmeter, I just tapped into the Radio power circuit to monitor Voltage.

    Not sure on your water temp, I'm sure if you Google it you should find some type of adapter that fits inline with one of the hoses. Was not to concerned with Water temp as I monitor Oil temp.
     
  4. Nov 11, 2009 at 3:12 PM
    #4
    firerooster

    firerooster [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Member:
    #25773
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Phx, AZ
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner, single cab
    sweet thanks
     
  5. Nov 11, 2009 at 6:46 PM
    #5
    shawnd2

    shawnd2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Member:
    #8497
    Messages:
    526
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma Access Cab 4x4 TRD Offroad
    I'd look at a Scan Gauge.
    I have one, it super easy to hook up (just plugs into the OBD II) port and displays all kinds of things. MPG, Distance to Empty, Volts, Coolant Temperature, Horsepower etc. etc.
    It doesn't however display oil pressure (on Toyota's, that I know of).

    Shawn
     
  6. Nov 11, 2009 at 6:50 PM
    #6
    carmellocafe

    carmellocafe Begin With The End In Mind.

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Member:
    #17267
    Messages:
    2,260
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    KEVIN
    N. California
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRD OR Access cab longbed
    X2 on the scangauge. I love mine! Just wish they would've made oil pressure and tranny temp. options. :)
     
To Top